We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always in Spring Time!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollis Garden

Hollis Garden
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botanical garden
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always in Spring Time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a beautiful gardens. When my husband and I decided to check it out we though it would be just another garden and a quick walk through. Boy, were we WRONG! We became so engaged by the place that 3 hours went by before we even knew it. We were there in October. So I can't wait to see it again in Spring!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    102
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for a stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really well done small strolling garden. Great place to get photos of kids, girlfriends and weddings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdsullivan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hidden Landscaped Sculpture Garden on Lake Mirror”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

After reading the other reviews I could not wait to see this beauty and lt did not disappoint. The architectural landscaped garden rivals the beauty of what you would see at Disney but very small Developed by the city in 2000, the gardens are arranged in trapezoid shapes designed with boxwood walls to separate the gardens. It is 1.2 acres of beauty with over 10,000 flowers, ornamental shrubs and shade trees at its seasonal peak.
Many weddings take place there because of the beauty. There is no entrance fee as it is a city park. I have never seen such a manicured park developed by a city.
There is plenty of seating with greats views of the lake or one can walk around the lake. However Hollis Park is open from 10:00 to dusk daily.

Helpful?
2 Thank Blacksoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hollis Garden is a small garden off Lake Mirror in downtown Lakeland. It is very relaxing and slow paced to just relax and enjoy. There are fish and a small grotto area. After enjoying the garden you can walk around the lake also! Many good restaurants in walking distance.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaTyson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

So much beauty packed into a smaller park! I can see why many chose to be married here! Also very interesting are the vegetable garden areas....loved that! Pretty koi pond, lots to see in a smaller area.....nice little sandwich/bistro on the grounds with gourmet coffee, light lunch menu items and wine/beer.....I recommend a stop there, as well!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kleenerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollis Garden also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Hollis Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing