We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food”

Tapatio's Restaurant Mexicano
Ranked #17 of 446 Restaurants in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Totally not Americanized Mexican. I had beef, shrimp and fish grill that was very tasty and well done. The corn tortillas tasted like flour tortillas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josiebherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    67
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really good mexican food and always great service. Meals are served quickly especially at lunchtime. I go back often for the Mole.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdsullivan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The original Tapitio's Memorial Boulevard has efficient and friendly service, with pretty tasty food. Avoid anything with ground beef, which is sometimes off. The beer is served in pitchers with a built-in ice core, so it's always frosty and cold.

I find the prices for most food and drink menu items to be reasonable.

The Tapitio's in South Lakeland is a newer place but has snobby and difficult to deal with servers and managers. Since Tapitio's has always had tasty, but not excellent food anyway, I don't see any reason to put up with the attitudes found at the South location, and only give my money to the memorial location,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LakelandFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Best food in town”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Either location will provide you with what I think is the highest quality food in town regardless of food style. Very good every time I go. Well worth the money and you leave stuffed.
It is really funny watching the people heading to Champs Wing place in the same mall. I laugh every time as they could be having good food instead of that frozen crap!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheldon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Owner”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Mexican food prepared by people who know how it should be prepared and with real taste. Great hot sause if that's your thing. Have eaten here for years and it is always a great experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfMac863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapatio's Restaurant Mexicano also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Tapatio's Restaurant Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing