We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of The Terrace Grille

The Terrace Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 447 Restaurants in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Riverside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Terrace Grille in the Terrace Hotel in Lakeland, FL is a gem!
Wonderful classic ambience with good service and wonderful food.
A very comfortable environment to enjoy a drink or wine. There isn't a flat screen TV at the bar and that is a good thing!
The rack of lamb was perfectly prepared as were all the dishes served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asteinharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I always enjoy a restaurant that brings your drink right away and then asks if you would like to wait to order. Our waitress did and on this particular night we did want to enjoy our company before ordering.
The portions are small 3 shrimp in the shrimp cocktail (Large in size but nor jumbo).
The food is very good but there is a possibility you will go away hungry.
Service great and food very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoadesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wondrful food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The crab cakes are REALLY CRAB cakes, not a bunch of filler! They were absolutely delicious.... MDPs ordered filet mignon and and they all raved about how wonderful their steaks tasted. Each one was prepared correctly as well. Breakfast is a joy too. The Eggs Benedict is gloreous and MDPs said the sausage was really good. The service is outstanding. We will definitely dine here again when we visit Lakeland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank impalacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed at Christmas”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been to the Terrace many times and love it. However, this year we went on Christmas day and were very disappointed. The room was soooo cold that we were shaking and finally asked to be moved. They did move us to a warmer room, but we watched them continue to seat others in the very cold room. I chose the Christmas ham and it was cold and not at all tasty. It was sad, as we had brought friends who had never been to the Terrace.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Big city hotel atmosphere in Lakeland”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Terrace is all about the atmosphere, old, luxury hotel dining. And, for that, it is excellent; and, the prices are pretty near what you'd see in a big city (but not Manhattan, of course). The food is not spectacular for the price, which kind of makes me wonder who the chef is. The best value is their lunch, where you can taste some of their best creations at a more reasonable price. I had their lunch quiche and salad greens recently. The quiche was silky smooth with a 5 star crust, but bland. The salads greens were pretty, but the dressing was unremarkable. So, go for the atmosphere or take your parents when they visit--but dine elsewhere for chef inspired food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvNYC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace Grille also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to The Terrace Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing