We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the brisket”
Review of Fat Maggie's - CLOSED

Fat Maggie's
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fat Maggie's is best described as New American comfort food. A new swing on the classics you could say. Our focus is to create a warm, fun, inviting atmosphere where you can enjoy delicious food!
Lakeland, FL
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the brisket”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

After reading the great reviews on the brisket, I decided to try the brisket sandwich which turned out to be dry and stiff like steel wires. Good flavored steel wires, but hard to swallow. May be an off day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    45
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the search”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It took us a few attempts to find it but once we did, we were thrilled! From the made to order sandwiches to the truffle fries to the beef brisket, we have enjoyed everything we have gotten from there. We also love the beer selections.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“working lunch”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Good food good price for us locals. Hard to find but you'll be surprised once you do. Great sweet tea and good portions of food. Rustic-like atmosphere brings a different feel. Feels like a picnic in park. Relaxation and close to everything. What more could you ask?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank girlwit4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful place!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had lunch here today for the 2nd time today. This place is really really good.. I'm so happy to have another option in Lakeland for great food! It's small inside,, 7 or 8 tables,, but outside seating around the side and the back. Both times that I've eaten here, the wait staff and kitchen cooks greeted me warmly, and the service was over the top! It's obvious that these people love their jobs and believe in their food. I've tried truffle fries appetizer, corn dog pups (you gotta just try these!) Pulled pork sandwich.. Today I had the smokehouse salad, which had pulled pork on top.. and actually I didn't use dressing but used the amazing peach whiskey BBQ sauce they home make,,, amazing salad.. My hubby had build a sammi.... He tried the hamburger on texas toast... it was so fresh and tasty... His side was homemade mac-n-cheese with (get ready for this) CANDIED BACON ON THE TOP! Who does that? This is an amazing place.. I'm almost hesitant to leave a review. It seems like word is getting around town how great this food is!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAfromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely the besy”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We ate here and tried the brisket. We were in heaven. The brisket was the BEST we have ever had. The inside of the restaurant is small and noisey, but the service and food is excellent. The next week we called them the day before, and We ordered 3 lbs of brisket to go. This was the BEST brisket we have ever had. We would HIGHLY recommend Fat Maggies. There is outdoor seating too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric and I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Maggie's also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing