We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real Florida is beautiful and free !!”

Circle B Bar Reserve
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The real Florida is beautiful and free !!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Forget Disney and Universal (don't get me wrong, I love them), but this is one of the best days you could have in Florida. The reserve is beautifully kept and the scenery is stunning. Within minutes we'd experienced armadillos, birds and squirrels. Over the next few hours this increased to raccoons, wild hogs, numerous alligators and turtles all in their natural habitats but very close up and personal. A most fantastic place and all for free! You must go there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    89
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice walking paths”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

You have to keep an eye out when you go down Hwy 540 (winterlake rd) to make sure you do not drive past it. Once there there is a nice facility where you can go to the bathroom and get a lot of information. I do believe they even have kids tours, activities. The paths are cleared so you can walk them very easily. If you go in the fall or springtime it is a very nice walk, summer time a little too hot for me, even though there are many many trees.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank straw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wild life, up close and personal”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having found an article in our local newspaper back in Michigan, we had some time in between Detroit Tiger spring training games so we thought we would check this place out. From the moment you drive through the front gate, the path winds through a stand of Spanish moss covered Hammock Oaks. You get the feeling that you have stepped back in time. 13 trails encompass the 1267 acres of what is mostly a banana creek marsh. We hiked what was the shady oak path which connects with alligator alley. We witnessed a variety of alligators, herons, egrets, ibis, flamingos, turkey vultures and wild hogs. Very peaceful although alligator alley was a little disconcerting at first. Would highly recommend a visit if you love wildlife. Trails very easy to navigate, no crowds. Bring your indoor voices and field glasses or camera and enjoy what untouched Florida nature is all about.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland, fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great spot for birding and for seeing alligators”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This spot is a lovely place to do a great nature walk. It has paths that make several loops around the property. The reserve is owned and managed by the county.

You will walk thru a oak hammock that has enormous, beautiful oak trees. Keep a look out here. I have seen owls, hawks, and woodpeckers in this area. There is also a huge lake that has a path running along side of it on the other side is marsh. Walk slowly and keep an eagle eye out on both sides of the path. There are alligators, turtles, and birds along this path. Stop and walk out on the platform going out over the lake. Very pretty. Again keep you eyes peeled.

At the end of this section is the section where the paths make circles (or rather large squares) around marsh areas. Meander thru these. As always keep your eyes peeled for wildlife.

Time of year is important. In the winter months you will see more birds bc of migration. This past visit there was an overwhelming amount of birds with a lot of diversity. In the summer months, there are a lot less birds. But it is always a nice walk and a very pleasant environment.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank texasfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I go to a lot of "nature" places every winter when I'm in Florida. Circle B Bar Reserve is in the top few for me. Great trails, lots of waterfowl. I happened to be there when the chicks were just days-to-weeks old and it was fantastic for photos. Sandhill Cranes, Limpkins, Moorhens, Herons, etc., were all tending to their chicks. I also saw coots, egrets, ibis, bitterns, osprey and cormorants, not to mention many species of butterflies. I will definitely be visiting Circle B Bar Reserve on my future trips. The best thing after all the wildlife ------ IT'S FREE!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circle B Bar Reserve also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Circle B Bar Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing