We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Hollis Gardens Area”
Review of Garden Bistro

Garden Bistro
Ranked #24 of 446 Restaurants in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Close to park, overlooks lake, gardens nearby. Homemade soups, cakes and pies.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In Hollis Gardens Area”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stroll through Hollis Gardens and end up at the Garden Bistro with a hunger for very good selections of lunch fare. Soup and sandwich does it for me, along with an occasional desert. The deserts are good enough to have at every lunch, however, for my clothing budget I must take care, lol.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfMac863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
POINCIANA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lakeland's little secret”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thirty of our Green Thumbs Club from Solivita went to visit Hollis Gardens and ate at the Garden Bistro. What a delight; great food, great service and the best view in town. Fresh desserts and soups and a selection of sandwiches and salads that can not be beat. Everything was fresh with a nice selection of wine and beer. Go seek it out for an afternoon taste on Mirror Lake.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are going to Hollis Garden or any of the parks around Lake Mirror, it is the only place to get something to eat on property.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank creekfreak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Small Out-of-the-Way Location, Big Value”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I frequented this restaurant before it changed hands in the last couple of years. It was good originally and is even better under the newer owners. It is a few blocks east of downtown Lakeland on Lake Mirror. Outside seating in cooler weather gives you a great view. On this visit, we shared the daily special - a bacon topped hamburger with coleslaw and Russian dressing - one of the best burgers we've eaten. The side we chose was well made potato salad. To finish, we had their chocolate, double mint cake - delicious. Dessert prices are cut to $2.50 per serving on Tuesdays. Menu is mostly soup, salads and sandwiches - the usual suspects, but all with one or more nice flavor additions. The bread they use for the sandwiches ups the ante. Prices are maybe a dollar or two higher than the chain casual food fare, but the payback is in the quality and creativity of the food. Service is friendly and efficient. Open only for lunch, I think, 11 am to 3 pm. This is a unique and well thought out small independent restaurant - give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
365 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stopped in Lakeland to check out the area. We visited the Chamber of Commerce, where the Garden Bistro was highly recommended for lunch. We had our little dog with us so needed an outdoor dining spot. I had a turkey sandwich, which was served on a fresh ciabatte-type bread, with apple slices - very good. My husband had a club sandwich which was excellent, too. Both were service with our choice of potato salad, which tasted home-made and was very tasty. Cakes are made by the owner, so we just had to try German Chocolate and Carrot Cake - both were excellent. It was a hot day, but this lovely outdoor patio overlooking Lake Mirror was shaded and had a pleasant breeze - a beautiful spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaS484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Bistro also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Garden Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing