We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Accomodations”
Review of Motel 6 Lakeland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Lakeland
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Affordable Accomodations”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We came to Lakeland needing temporary affordable housing, and we found it with Motel 6. The room is small but appropriate for my son and I. They are also pet friendly, as they allow our small dog without an extra fee. The only downside is that WiFi internet access is not free, and they charge $3.20 a day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashcromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    8
    9
    18
See reviews for
15
9
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We got stuck in the Lakeland without a place to stay and this was the only place with rooms less than $150. This was $51 (including tax, after a $5 AARP discount) but even at this price we didn't get what we paid for.

The rooms were actually reasonably clean. Check-in was a bit slow but friendly. Check-out was even more friendly and quick. The real problem was our neighbors. They were up all night long. Making noise moving In and out of rooms. Not really too loud, but with the paper-thin walls the music they played kept us from sleeping. And we didn't feel too safe.

Room Tip: They do have an unadvertised AARP discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_the_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakeland hotels

Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I was in Lakeland visiting a friend a couple years back and was looking for something on the cheap end to stay for a couple nights. Soon after arriving, the questionable behavior lurking the complex was just a bit unnerving. Gangs of kids spotted all over - they were hanging outside rooms, they were littered throughout the parking lot in their suped up cars.. I spent a couple hours that night in my room watching some television to distract myself, but the loud music blaring from car stereos and the loud voices, even a couple arguments going on, the fear that it could only bring about something worse. I thought to myself, I just don't feel comfortable going to sleep here. I had decided I was going to stay elsewhere and had told the manager I had a change of heart and wished to "check out". To be perfectly honest, he was rather rude to me, but honored my request all the same as long as I agreed to his consent of never staying at this hotel again, which I certainly found laughable as I don't know of anyone who possibly would want to stay there. As far as the room goes, I never even had the time to take notice as I was bothered by the shady atmosphere of the place, but I'll always remain skeptical.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idreamofeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2008

This motel is on the main drag right off of I-4 in Lakeland. The road noise alone was enough to keep me up all night, but it got steadily worse after I checked in.

The entire facade of the building, all of the sidewalks and portions of the tiny parking lot are dug up and roped off. Crews of migrant workers begin at 8 a.m. (the hotel claims not until 10, but a I stood complaining about the noise of radial saws and pounding, it was 9 a.m. the desk clerk stood slack faced claiming NO it doesn't REALLY start until 10!).

The evening we checked in to the "queen room", the workers that Motel 6 had hired were all filing into the free rooms that Motel 6 provides for them onsite. Not a bad deal, but when you work and live in the same place, you tend to believe that the place is yours and you act accordingly. Yelling, partying, banging on doors....drunken stupid party games running up and down stairs, loud boistrous women yelling to each other from one level to another (ever hear of walking up to someone to talk quietly?)

That went on until 3 a.m. I called the front desk and was greeted by a recording saying that front desk services stop at 7 p.m. (how convenient) and unless it was a dire emergency, you have to wait or call 911.

The rooms. About the size of a broom closet and the "queen room" was a full bed that basically seemed to be something akin to a large wooden box covered with the ugliest, dirtiest (my dog even had a hard time lying on the bed without sneezing!) linen. They provided one washcloth and one towel, no niceties.

The rooms in all Motel 6 properties seem to be built this dim, depressing fluorescent lighting, and this small, smelling of mold room was just cramped and stifling. There was a minifridge and microwave and the minifridge kept making a loud gurgling sound (call me crazy, but I never heard this loud sound from a minifridge).

The room was so small, that my two suitcases had to be put into the bathroom, which seemed almost bigger than the room with the bed! And the outdoor turf floor covering hadn't seemed to had a cleaning in this decade.

It was the worst experience I've had, and I am a healthcare traveler, used to seeing some strange things. I have never been as fearful as I was in this hotel, nor as angry and confrontational with hotel personnel.

When I complained to the desk clerk, she actually had a little attitude, that she couldn't understand quite why I would be upset by the noise, the possibility of having my vehicle broken into, street noise or the quality of a room that I just paid $79.99 per night for! I demanded a refund and the clerk seemed completely shocked and offended that after I told her of everything, I would ask for my money back!

Stay away. Honestly....in Florida, as with many of the southern and southwestern "affordable" hotels I've stayed at in my travel career....the hotels don't care how they sell the rooms, they just care that they DO. To whom and what they are willing to tolerate is very questionable. I have been told that some of the rooms are "subsidized" by areas for the trade of cheap/free migrant labor in exchange for the rooms. If I wanted to spend that kind of money on vacation to live in Section 8 housing, I would do that.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Disliked — Room, bed, filthy carpet, dim lighting, unsafe conditions with the
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2005

Picture this, after driving 7 hours we became lost trying to find this hotel, we call the front desk to ask for directions, we were told "I can't give you directions". We continue to try to find the hotel for another hour, desperate we called the hotel again the same front desk clerk said and I quote: "Listen Lady, it is not my job to give you directions" after another hour of searching @ 11pm in the evening we finally find the hotel. Tired and upset we asked to speak to the manager because of the rude front desk clerk. The same rude front desk clerk Quincy S. told me, my 60 year old mother, my half asleep niece (7yrs old), and nephew (2 yrs old) that HE was the manager and because of our attitude he would not give us our RESERVED room. We could not believe it; he was rude to us and now refused to give us our room. We called the Corporate office for help and they would do nothing! He went as far as to call the Police on us to have us removed from the premises; we could not find any other rooms and had to sleep in our rental car. Motel 6 will never get business from our family and friends, and we hope they will not get anyone’s business either. We have NEVER been treated this rudely in our lives and hope no one will ever have to go though what this motel has put us though.

Helpful?
29 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2003

it was a good clean room,good price,and i could take my dog,the people were very nice too.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
1.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
#19 of 33 in Lakeland
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#21 of 33 in Lakeland
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lakeland South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Lakeland

Property: Motel 6 Lakeland
Address: 3120 US Highway 98 N, Lakeland, FL 33805-2104
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Lakeland 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Motel 6
Lakeland Motel Six
Motel Six Lakeland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing