We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Bay Street Bistro

Bay Street Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bay Street Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 450 Restaurants in Lakeland
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Bay Street Bistro is your destination for 5 star quality dining in a relaxed atmosphere, located conveniently in downtown Lakeland, FL.
Lakeland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had company Christmas dinner there . A mixed review. The poached pear salad was great, reallly good. My wifes salmon and crab cakes were extreemly good, the boss's Chilian bass looked delicious and he confirmed it.The lady across from me was not pleased that they had butterflyed her fillet after she had instructed them not to. My own chicken cordon blu lookalike with blackberry sauce was mixed. The sauce was fantastic, perfectly balanced and delish. The chicken on the other hand was almost black and so dry that no amount of sauce would have helped. The cheese was of good quality but was a semi solid mass ( apiece of cheese) and there was absolutely no taste of the prosciutto which might have helped, I left a good deal of it on the plate. My wife shared the chocolate cake which was magnificent, moist , creamy frosting a little crunch from nuts and absolutely good

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This is a great place to spend an evening.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Unique, out of the way place, with great food. The staff was excellent. We prefer the smaller, privately owned and run places. This was our first time, we will become regulars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little Known Gem”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is an absolutely charming locally owned restaurant in Lakeland, Fl. The food is delicious, the restaurant is small and pretty, the service is excellent, and the chef is flexible! You cannot go wrong.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeachMWeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Has to be the best place in town”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This place is a true gem in lakeland, the wine list is fabulous. The food A+, would recommend this place too everyone I know

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank studebakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Very nice and quaint.”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Located in the old Antiquarian venue on Bay Street. Run by people in the business for some time. Same level of class as Antiquarian. Same type of food (continental) and same jazz guitarist as before. Good wine selection. Don't get the duck.

The first time we went (party of 4), we had some issue with the service. Don't need to expand. The second time (party of 2) was the way we wanted it. Service was attentive and informed. The sea bass was great both times, the pear salad just delicious. Don't get the duck.

It's table linen service with nice stemware and utensils. The jazz guitar is live on Thursday, Friday and Saturday currently. Tip them/him well. Don't get the duck.

Deserts were large. Espresso is available. All in all a really nice place. In fact, it is probably the nicest place to have dinner in Lakeland. The Terrace Grille will be a very, very close second as it too is "upper strata dinning". Chef T's would also be a very, very close contender as we like it too for high end dinning. But that's it.

We recommend this place. It's what you need when you need nice.

But, DO NOT GET THE DUCK! (Go to Spice Thai and Sushi in the Merchant's Walk plaza for the Duck Panang - it's the best).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelswell4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Street Bistro also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Bay Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing