We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A bare basics Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Lakeland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Lakeland
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“A bare basics Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You have to buy breakfast at the (expensive) cafe downstairs or go to the adjacent Lakeside Village Mall nearby, so by the time you add breakfast onto your hotel bill you may find that this is not quite as good value for money as other options. Nonetheless, it has mostly what I would expect from a Marriott in terms of room quality, internet speed and so forth. Staff are friendly and the mall has a cinema and lots of restaurants, along with a Publix and Target across the road.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
16
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Marriott is a great chain of spots to sleepover. The CYM in Lakeland is a great stop for many reasons. It is tucked near the Polk Expressway with easy access to Orlando or Tampa. The local airport is small but a great business commute by private plane with quick navigation to the CYM. The Lakeside Village Mall is nearby with restaurants, shops and movie theater. The outdoor "main street" appeal of the mall is perfect for sunny FL.

Room Tip: Call several weeks in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinktravelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We needed a room for one night due to a change in plans, so looked for a close hotel and this was the only one in Lakeland. It is located near the Polk Parkway, Hwy 37 and a shopping mall, has restaurants and theater nearby. Room was average Courtyard, but had a refrigerator and microwave. Hotel staff not particularly great, seemed confused by our needs for the room type. Their restaurant was closed when we arrived, so we ordered from Chili's next door. Encountered two problems with the room, the first being that the hot water for the shower was turned up all the way and it was only mildly lukewarm; second, the antiquated heating and cooling system had only dials to regulate the temperature and to turn on and off. Impossible to get temperature right, so finally turned it off; even though it was a very cold night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are very friendly. The issue is with the maintenance and general operating practices. In the room there were a few issues, the coffee mugs were both dirty, obviously rinsed out rather than run through a dishwasher. The alarm clock was not set to the correct time, in fact it was turned around and was not displaying a time. The sheets and duvet were wrinkled as if they were put into the washer/dryer in a ball and the machines were overstuffed. Ask yourself, did they even get clean? Finally at 2am my fire alarm was going off, when I called the front desk I was told "the battery needs to be changed" so at 230am I had the man from the front desk in my room on a ladder changing the battery. He said he would leave a note for maintenance. Why don't they have changing the batteries once per year on a preventative maintenance checklist? I understand this is a franchised Marriott, but usually those type are better than corporate owned. I will not stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardLakelandGM, General Manager at Courtyard Lakeland, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am genuinely disappointed that we were unable to meet neither your expectations nor ours. I can assure you that I have addressed each of the problems that you experienced with our staff and that we have worked to correct them. I hope that you will accept my sincere apology and will consider staying with us again when you return to the area. I am confident that you will notice the improvements that were made as a result of your feedback and that you will have an enjoyable, pleasant stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Lakeland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the night with friends after visiting Lakeland. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the guy on front desk who was part of a little gag my mate had set up - last place you'd expect to find a gooner! (Arsenal FC supporter).
Rooms spacious and clean. Breakfast nice if a bit pricey. A good place for a stop over. Again can't praise the staff enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spudgunprim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott (during the Memorial Day weekend) while visiting family in the Lakeland, FL area. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Polk County Parkway and next to a shopping mall. The room was very nice and quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff was wonderful and courteous at all times. There is a cafe located in the main lobby, however we thought the food was overpriced...so I can't comment on the food quality. There are several restaurants close by, so you will have many choices as to restaurants. Overall, a great stay and we definitely plan to stay there again when we return to Lakeland, FL.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLNavyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardLakelandGM, General Manager at Courtyard Lakeland, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks, which I have shared with the staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the Lakeland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL, GA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

While in Lakeland FL on business, I stayed two days at the Courtyard Marriott on Harden Blvd. The hotel was conveniently located, with a wonderful shopping mall behind the hotel, which was a nice way to spend the evening after a day of meetings. The mall has a lot of great restaurants, so be sure to check them out.
I was greeted immediately on arrival by a friendly front desk clerk. My room was comfortable, impeccably clean and roomy. The toiletries were lackluster, but I always bring my own so no issue there. The bed was very comfortable. With a room at the end of the hall away from the elevators, I was never bothered by noise.
The cafe located in the hotel a convenient place to brag breakfast before starting my day. The service was fast and friendly and the food was tasty.
When returning to Lakeland, I would not hesitate to return to this hotel. It met all of my needs.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSmithATLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lakeland-South Polk Parkway
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Lakeland
Residence Inn Lakeland
#9 of 32 in Lakeland
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Lakeland Center
3.4 mi away
Lakeland Terrace Hotel
Lakeland Terrace Hotel
#8 of 32 in Lakeland
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lakeland North I-4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lakeland

Property: Courtyard Lakeland
Address: 3725 Harden Blvd, Lakeland, FL 33803-5447
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lakeland
#11 Business Hotel in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lakeland 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeland Courtyard by Marriott helps replenish its guests' energy and gives them permission to look up from their laptop. Stimulating public areas, intuitive design with unexpected details, the right mix of services help them maintain balance and thrive during their stays. Free in-room high-speed internet access (HSIA) WiFi in all rooms and large, well-lit work desk and ergonomic chair help guest stay productive. While the Bistro, offers hot and healthy breakfast selections and light evening fare, including soups, sandwiches, salads, snacks, cocktails, wine and beer so guests can relax and unwind. Meeting rooms and catering available for business or leisure functions, including family reunions, showers and rehearsal dinners. The Courtyard is conveniently located to Publix Headquarters, Lake Myrtle Sports Complex, Legoland, Stryker, and Detroit Tigers Spring Training home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Marriott
Lakeland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing