We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke Gets In Your Eyes”
Review of Havana Hideout - CLOSED

Havana Hideout
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mexican, Tex-Mex, Family Friendly, Outdoor Seating
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smoke Gets In Your Eyes”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly:

GOOD
The servers were attentive and honest.
There was a certain charm about being outside in nice weather.

BAD
Food was mediocre at best.
Cuban sandwich was cold.
Tacos are uninspired supermarket stuff.
Food service -- order until delivery time was over 45 minutes.
Waitress informed us the beer selection changes so often she can't keep up and customers complain about a lack of consistency.

UGLY
Smokers are everywhere, both in the outside dining area and inside bar.
Food prepared out of a standalone, in the parking lot, "Roach Coach" to get around health codes and smoking regulations.

If you're going to south Florida for vacation you'll find a better choice anywhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    28
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We love to visit restaurants where Guy Fieri took his Diners, Drive-ins & Dives show so we were sure to stop here. The atmosphere was funky, the smell of cigarette smoke and beer heavy and the food was just OK. Even ordering "What Guy Had" we were not impressed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 455luannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'll be Back!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My son has been wanting to eat here for months, so two days before he goes back college we did it. We each ordered an item and split a Cuban sandwich. We both decided no sharing it next time!
I won't be waiting for my son's next visit home to return!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Dont expect fancy - but great lunch spot if you are a 'foodie'”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

When I say don't expect fancy - it's served outdoors in a plastic basket with plastic silverware.

But soooooooo worth it. I'm a Diners, Dives and Drive In's fan so I try to hit up as many of the local flavors when I am traveling and easily this food choice was one of the best I've had in the NUMEROUS places I have tried.

I went with the recommend special of 3 items that was featured on the show. Flavorful and something I would have never tried all by myself. It was way too much food for lunch but I tried all 3 and left with a full belly. I had to go back to work, but if you are vacationing - great selection of beers and specials.

I would clearly go back when I am in Lake Worth again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice tucked away spot”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

unique place with great brews and best quacamole in town! Went on a sunday and they were setting up for life music. Had DDD sampler and loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 33Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Hideout also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing