We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As seen on Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins”
Review of Havana Hideout - CLOSED

Havana Hideout
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mexican, Tex-Mex, Family Friendly, Outdoor Seating
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As seen on Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice home town place. The habanero sauce on the tacos was really spicy and hot. The Cuban sandwich was very tasty also. The beer was cold. Great place to eat outside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    28
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you like DDD It's a great little place!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Don't think this is some fancy place. It's a fun "little" bar with outside seating, and good Cuban food. The bar tender was very friendly. I had the "Have what Guy Had" combo fish taco, cuban sandwich, and pionono. My wife had the fish tacos. Everything was fresh and good. Prices are reasonable. Give it a try, If you like triple D you'll love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for something a little "different" and decided to checkout Havana Hideout because of the great customer reviews and it's appearance on the television show, Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins (DDD). The actual building is a very small structure that has no kitchen, therefore the food is cooked in a food truck adjacent to the building. As stated in other reviews, Havana Hideout is seemingly frequented by neighborhood locals. As you enter, you step into a sitting area with a few chairs and a couch. Through the next door is the bar with maybe five stools and a couch and chair across from it. The eating area is outside where the palm trees and umbrellas make for a very good atmosphere. My girlfriend and I sat at one of the two wooden picnic tables covered by a palm leaf tiki. It rained significantly on this day and the two tiki hut tables were totally protected and dry, whereas the metal mesh tables and chairs with umbrellas, were not at all protected from the rain, so hence there was only one other couple dinning outside. My girlfriend and I never order the same meal when we go out, but on this occasion we both decided to try the Pionono, fish taco, and cuban sandwich meal that was featured on DDD. Well, we love to eat good food, and we were both disappointed with this meal. I enjoyed the cuban sandwich, however, my girlfriend (who is experienced with international cuisines) though it was only "ok". She also though the pionono was too salty. We both though that the fish tacos were a little too salty, but for me were still eatable. Overall it was a really disappointing meal and to top it off they only serve beer and wine, no liquor. Anyway, the chef did compensate us with free cuban sandwiches and a couple of lemon squares, which I though was a nice gesture. And by the way, the lemon squares were excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“oye como va”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Small place with a very good menu. The parking lot is small also. The drinks excellent. The service average so was the tab. If you like Cuban food you will enjoy this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem right out in the open”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you haven't been to downtown Lake Worth recently you should go, if for no other reason than to visit the Havana Hideout. This is one of those local spots that the locals want to keep it secret because they love it just the way it is. Even though Guy Fieri visited he didn't do it justice. The atmosphere is great and you can't go wrong with any of the food. Try the fish tacos, the best in South Florida and the Sangria will keep you coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Hideout also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing