We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip in the State Park”

Lake Kissimmee State Park
Ranked #6 of 34 things to do in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip in the State Park”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We went when it was a little chilly, however it is a great place for bike riders to explore.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    9
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Short hike to Lake Kissimmee”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This state park is some distance from Lake Wales, but worth going to if you like hiking. Parking was convenient to the trailhead and the short loop trail to the lake was well marked. There are picnic tables nearby for that after hike snack, too. We saw ducks on the lake, lots of deer prints and possibly wildcat prints on the trail. We plan to come back for their Cow Camp Reenactments.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank momron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent State Park”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We made a trip down from Orlando to the park - which was a little more of a drive than we expected. The gate ranger was helpful and the bathrooms clean. Plenty of room for day trip exploring and my young boys enjoyed climbing the trees.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FHBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central FL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old Florida”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Old Florida says it all - a step back in time, whether walking or driving or biking, the trails go through a land remembered. And then there's a cow camp, to show you how it was. A beautiful spot.

Helpful?
1 Thank RRson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, FL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Located in a remote area away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We camped here for four days and three nights. Lost count of the number of deer and turkeys that we saw. Rented a pontoon boat and had Thanksgiving dinner on the water. "Beautiful" Large camp sites with everything needed. Place to launch your boat, fish and rent boats, canoes and kayaks. When visiting this state park, you must visit the cow camp. Open on weekends and holidays. Could not ask for a better Thanksgiving.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Kissimmee State Park also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 

Been to Lake Kissimmee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing