We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont bother ordering the hash” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Egg House

The Egg House
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Lake Wales
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dont bother ordering the hash”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ask before ordering if the corn beef hash was homemade or from a can; was told it was home made & it came out of a can...disappointed. Told the server I was not going to eat that and there was no offer to bring me something else and yet still charged me for the hash...bad call. Biscuits were good

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BakerCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    55
    8
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What this town needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Busy little restaurant, good service, good food, and plenty. Everything was cooked the way country cooking should be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodus, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eggstra Special!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wow - we are staying at a local hotel that offers breakfast but like to try new places on vacation. We found this on trip advisor - no one seemed to know about it at our hotel?!? Well they know now! Egg House is fantastic. It's a small hometown place that everyone seems to love. Large portion, great prices and great service. We went on a Saturday morning and it was busy. There are 5 of us with the kids and we fit in a booth perfect.So much food we had left overs! Extravagant breakfastwas $6.99 and it included the following: 2 eggs anyway, home style potatoes, slice of ham, 2 large sausage links, 3 slices of bacon, and sausage gravy over a biscut. (are you full) we were!! Kids had the usual, pancakes, sausage patties( great flavor) and toast with juice all 5 of us had breakfast and walked out under $35.Thats $7 each including drinks!! For us that is great! Plus got some local gossip and had a few laughs! Try it I think you find a little diamond in the rough!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationFam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

4 egg omelette grits toast a little too much but was good will be back. great service had a short wait but worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalcrest, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“back in lake wales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

we've returned for the winter & saw that the egg house has opened in a closed
restaurant. we ate here on a sunday, we had a short wait. the food is very good.
the place was jumping. we will be back. for a town so small there are many good
places to eat...this is a must stop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egg House also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 

Been to The Egg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing