We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for a family and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great resort for a family and friendly staff!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here about a week ago for 4 nights; the resort is a little off the beaten path (20 minutes from Lake Wales), but for what we wanted it was great!

It appeared almost everything had been recently remodeled, and rooms were refreshed with new paint, floors, light fixtures, tv and bed. Part of the reason we chose the place is that they had a small kitchen area with a fridge, stove, oven and coffee maker...it sure is nice to have coffee in your room each morning with a little breakfast. We stayed from Friday - Tuesday and visited the petting zoo (free), watched the rodeo on Saturday ($15 a person) and walked the grounds which were nicely kept. The staff was really friendly and helpful when we had any requests or questions.

While it's not a four or five star resort, a few of the things in the room we're not updated (bathrooms and kitchen), you're also not paying $300 a night for two people and $25 per person for a "resort fee."

When we're down in Lake Wales visiting family again I know where we're staying.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time. It’s awesome that you were able to experience various activities such as the Rodeo and Petting Zoo. We are also happy that you were able to appreciate our newly remodeled cabin and all its amenities. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    93
    46
    26
    29
See reviews for
192
52
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a very nice resort/dude ranch with lots of things to do...but for the price of the room, more should be included. Luckily I purchased a voucher that made the price of the room about half of the normal price. Unless you're an "owner" the only activity that's free is the petting zoo. For the money, I don't think it was a good value.

That being said, the service was outstanding. All the employees that we came in contact with were friendly and always wished us an enjoyable stay.

We dined at the restaurant twice for dinner, and the food was pretty underwhelming. We did the Saturday night buffet and for the $16.95 price tag, it wasn't worth it to us. The food taste was mediocre, but the service was good. One thing that pleasantly surprised me was that the saloon had a happy hour - $2 domestic beer bottles and $3 well drinks. Most resorts/hotels that I've stayed at don't offer any drink specials, let alone specials that good! The saloon was very fun.

We did a swamp buggy ride and I was expecting something different. I was hoping the driver would tell us a little about the area, the wildlife, etc. but the only thing he mentioned in the 45 minute ride was that the bulls we passed were going to be used in the rodeo later that night. For $25 per person, I was expecting more.

The rodeo was a neat experience, being my first one. However, the show ended early when a rider was thrown off the bull and stomped on. Hopefully the guy is okay, it was a pretty scary sight!

The room itself was okay - we had a Deluxe Lodge Suite. The walkway had trash littered on it that was never picked up during our stay. There was dust in the corners of the room, but other than that the inside of the room was clean. I thought since it was a "Suite" it would have been a bit bigger, but at least the beds were comfortable and the linens were fresh and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimsy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your input on Westgate River Ranch. Our resort offers an array of activities for the entire family to experience. We appreciate your compliment on our outstanding staff members. They take pride in providing the ultimate customer service to our guests. We wanted to thank you for letting us know about what we are excelling in and things we may need to improve upon. We hope you will come back to visit so that we can exceed your expectations.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a family reunion of 25 people for our recent trip to River Ranch. The cabins were extremely comfortable - our family of 4 was well-accommodated in a 1 bedroom with murphy bed and pull out couch. There were a ton of activities for both kids and adults- mini golf, airboat rides, fishing, hayride, rock climbing, petting farm, etc...the only disappointments were that the zipline was broken and the Kids' Club was under renovation during our visit. After the rodeo (a must-do), everyone loved the dance party, from our youngest at age 3 to our oldest at age 83.

Very comfortable, lots of entertainment and accommodating staff. A little pricey, but worth the cost. The kids are already begging to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBC476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We always value and appreciate feedback from our guests and owners. Thank you for choosing our location to have your family reunion. Our newly renovated amenities range from horseback riding, marina, petting farm and Saturday night rodeo. It’s wonderful news to know that you were able to experience most of our amenities. Our zip lining and kid’s club is currently going under renovations. I’m sorry if this caused any inconvenience. It’s always a pleasure to provide a memorable family reunion. We can’t wait to have you back to visit us!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a great getaway. We especially liked staying in Florida (where we live) but feeling so close to nature and being far enough away from home that it truly felt like a real vacation. We went during Christmas week Dec. 2013. We had a cabin that sleeps 8 to 10 people. It was the best cabin ever! We had 3 full bathrooms, an electric fireplace, a full kitchen and a half kitchen in another area, a full wrap around porch with rocking chairs, and a great view of the bison. The only downside was a lot of the activities that are normally available on the weekends were not open to do during the week. I would of thought it being Christmas they would have more things open to do (like the Saloon, mechanical bull riding, and the better mini golf area). Make sure if you go you plan to leave yourself time to go grocery shopping either before arriving or after you check-in. The closest grocery store is a half hour away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Westgate River Ranch. We are honored you chose to spend such a special time of year with us. Your comments and suggestions are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future for more happy memories.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband I went to the River Ranch and were beyond impressed by the number of activities and excellent service. We were worried that we would have some difficulty with dining due to being vegetarian, but they were incredibly accommodating. In addition to the restaurants, deli/convenience shop, and cookout, the rooms also included a kitchenette, which was very convenient. There is also the opting of RVing or camping if you're into that sort of thing. Daytime activities include a petting zoo, horseback riding, archery, skeet shooting, mini golf, swamp buggy, air boating, and various sports. The nighttime activities include the saloon, line dancing, live music, bonfires, hayride/cookout (highly recommend!), and the rodeo. They have a very fun adventure park that includes zip lining and a mechanical bull. They also have a game room and arcade, that was fun. We definitely plan on returning and think this would be an especially fun place to do some sort of group trip. Plus the resort is pet friendly, so I think my pooch may be making the next trip back too. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDBequita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing Westgate River Ranch. We are so thrilled to know that you and your husband had a blast! Our property has different activities for all ages to experience such as our petting zoo, Saturday night rodeo, zip lining and much more. We certainly would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went glamping (glamorous camping) with another couple for NYE and it was amazing!!microwave, mini fridge, AC, and the best air mattress you will ever sleep on! new years day we did the skeet shooting and an airboat ride, it is perfect for couples, friends, family, etc. I work in the travel industry so I am somewhat of a travel snob lol, this was perfect!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you found the glamping experience at Westgate River Ranch to be amazing, especially given that you are in the travel industry. It would be our pleasure to have you back again!

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend at River Ranch and was very much impressed. All the activities were excellent. We danced at the saloon on Friday night, and ride the mechanical bull. Saturday we went skeet shooting and a hay ride and dinner and the rodeo. Sunday morning we were to go on the airboat ride but it was cancel by us because if rain. You can stay in a 2 room suite or camp in a tent or anything in between. Can't wait for an opportunity to return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crunch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We wish you a belated Happy Birthday! We're pleased that you were impressed and found the activities excellent. It would be our pleasure to have you come back and spend some more quality time here!

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Wales
29.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
25.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sebring
24.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Capernaum Lakeside Lodge
Capernaum Lakeside Lodge
#1 of 9 in Lake Wales
19 reviews
28.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Wales
25.3 mi away
Budget Inn Lake Wales
Budget Inn Lake Wales
#4 of 9 in Lake Wales
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo

Property: Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
Address: 3200 River Ranch Blvd, Lake Wales, FL 33867-1201
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 1,700 beautiful acres in Central Florida and just an hour from Orlando, Westgate River Ranch provides fun and adventure for the entire family! The perfect backdrop for your vacation getaway, Westgate River Ranch boasts Western-themed accommodations, an abundance of recreational activities, and unique opportunities for families and friends to spend quality time with each other. The wide range of recreational activities at Westgate River Ranch include horseback riding, nature hikes, fishing, swimming, boating, airboat and swamp buggy rides, trap and skeet shooting, hayrides, cookouts, a petting farm and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate River Ranch Hotel Lake Wales
Westgate River Hotel
Hotel Westgate River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing