We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ranch Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Ranch Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Good:
- Beautiful property with many different accommodation options (camping, glamping, hotel, cabins).
- Fun activities for kids (petting zoo, jumping things, zipline, mechanical bull, rock climb)
- Great Rodeo, we really enjoyed attending to this event, very entertaining
- Good service throughout the property
- General Store offering a big variety of things (considering you are completely in the middle of nowhere, this store comes in handy)
- Great Bar at the saloon, Great music and live entertainment

The not so Good:
- We stayed at the Hotel and from the outside it was not appealing but the room inside was very decent, clean, spacious and comfortable, Bathroom as OK (it could use an upgrade)
- Despite the delicious Burger that the Grillhouse, we were there on a busy night and they seemed to be short staffed and maybe the kitchen was a bit backed up. Servers and hosts were attentive.
- Not too many places to eat and very little options available to order from the menus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We really value your feedback on Westgate River Ranch. Thank you so much for calling us a beautiful property with fun activities and great service. We always strive to provide an array of activities for the entire family to experience. We take all our owners and guests’ comments into consideration because this helps us to improve on anything necessary at the resort. We love that you had a good ranch experience and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    86
    44
    25
    27
See reviews for
178
51
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Overall the Westgate River Ranch is a very nice place. We were very happy with our cabin and the grounds. People at the front desk were very nice. The Smokehouse Grill left a bit to be desired. Not sure why after being seated we were basically ignored and had to ask another waitress to look into it. When food finally arrived (which was good)... the waitress upset a dish of ranch dressing all over.... never bothered to ask if it had gotten on anyone clothes or apologized or bothered to clean up the mess all over the floor and the bench behind us. As for the wedding.... I would NOT recommend this venue for a wedding. The wedding planner didn't seem to care about any plans that had been decided upon. It was as if she was being "bothered" to have to deal with anything related to this wedding. So, unless you don't mind being annoyed.... I would stay away from this place for a wedding. Although the setting/grounds are very nice..... its the little things that matter on wedding day. Our guests finally started to decorate the hall after seeing three half-hearted attempts by the staff to decorate. What part of burlap runners on the table didn't they understand.... so we had guests with scissors cutting and setting tables an hour before the wedding.... Grrrrr!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for your response. We love that you enjoyed the cabin and grounds of River Ranch Resort. It is wonderful that our staff was accommodating during your stay. We are sorry that you feel that way about your experience with the restaurant staff and wedding planner. We certainly will notate this and report it back to the appropriate department. This helps us to make any necessary changes if needed. We hope that you will visit again soon so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We travelled to the ranch from our villa in Clermont just for the evening to see the Saturday night rodeo and when we arrived early we were a little disappointed that there was little to do until it began, the rodeo however was great fun and very American! The resort seemed very quiet but perhaps that was due to the time of year, I expect it is great when everything is open.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank mrswoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is exciting that you and your family were able to enjoy our Saturday night rodeo. Our activities allow families to bond and have fun together. At the resort we offer various activities such as horseback riding, a petting farm and even a trap, skeet & archery range. For certain activities reservations need to be made ahead of time. We hope you had a fantastic time and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at River Ranch many times in our camper but decided to spend the weekend at the hotel this time. The improvements in the resort are very visible but were clearly done in a hurry without much attention to detail. The gate around the bungee jumper attraction would not shut and the fence already had pieces coming off of it. In the renovated room, our mattress had a large dip in the middle, the new curtains hung over the air conditioner and the new towel ring in the bathroom was coming off the wall. There were multiple places on the floor with paint splatters too. Workmanship aside, the alarm clock wasn't plugged in and I had to move the night stand to plug it in and there were cobwebs in the light fixtures between the beds. The new adventure park is a great addition to the facilities but we were shocked to discover that it isn't open at all on Sunday. And there is virtually no signage to direct you to where to buy tickets or sign waivers. The employees were generally disinterested and did not provide anything beyond the minimal amount of information and appeared to work at their own pace even when lines were very long. The quality of food and service in the restaurant has declined as well. Overall, it is a fun place but we won't stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamommy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for being a frequent guest of Westgate River Ranch. We appreciate having you and we appreciate your taking the time to write your review. As you have mentioned, we are in the process of upgrading and making improvements to our resort so you and your family can experience an even more fun-filled vacation. I apologize about any inconvenience you have encountered during this transition. Our goal is mainly to please guests and owners such as yourself. We look forward to having you stay here again so you can experience all the great changes we have made.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Wales
29.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
25.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sebring
25.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sebring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hotel & Conference Center
24.8 mi away
Capernaum Lakeside Lodge
Capernaum Lakeside Lodge
#1 of 9 in Lake Wales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
28.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo

Property: Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
Address: 3200 River Ranch Blvd, Lake Wales, FL 33867-1201
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 1,700 beautiful acres in Central Florida and just an hour from Orlando, Westgate River Ranch provides fun and adventure for the entire family! The perfect backdrop for your vacation getaway, Westgate River Ranch boasts Western-themed accommodations, an abundance of recreational activities, and unique opportunities for families and friends to spend quality time with each other. The wide range of recreational activities at Westgate River Ranch include horseback riding, nature hikes, fishing, swimming, boating, airboat and swamp buggy rides, trap and skeet shooting, hayrides, cookouts, a petting farm and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate River Ranch Hotel Lake Wales
Westgate River Hotel
Hotel Westgate River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing