We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not their best day” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woody's Bar-B-Q

Woody's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #22 of 78 Restaurants in Lake Wales
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Smoked meats and grill items in a casual restaurant.
Grafton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not their best day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have dined at and ordered take out from this store many times over the past 25 years. Our experience has always been excellent. Recently we were there on a Sunday evening. They had been really "slammed" with a heavy lunch crowd. Here's what we encountered. The chicken breast was quite dry. I had the pulled pork sandwich, which had a texture of ground pork. The beans were not very exciting. These are three staples for any BBQ joint. We will go back there based on our years of good experience....just this one not so good.
The service was very friendly, as always.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sorry other BBQ places are better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have eaten at Sonny's BBQ for several years but tried this Woody's location because I recently moved to Lake Wales. Last night was my second time trying an early bird special, the first time the I ordered the brisket and baked beans which was served cold and the garlic bread was just white bread with butter smeared in the middle with garlic sprinkled on. However I am a believer in giving second chances but after last night I will drive 15 miles to Sonny's in Bartow for good BBQ. The one problem I see is the food is prepared hours in advance and sits in buffet warmers where it is then put on the plate barely warm. Maybe this is the penalty of ordering off the early bird menu. However I would have ordered regular BBQ plates if the food was good but what they serve is not worth the price. There is a Fat Boy's BBQ down Hwy 27 that is closer to Lake Wales that also might be better. I will note customer service is good, but that does not really matter if food quality is not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been going to this Woody's for over 15 years. We drive almost an hour from Lake Placid, Florida to enjoy a meal here on our winter vacation. Can't beat the early bird specials. Will be going back there in February on our next vacation to Florida.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ndcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Prime rib sandwich Fridays yeah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great daily deals and fast friendly service. This is a regular stop for us, clean and good food. BBQ and more what could be better.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I miss kC BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Not bad food but not up to or even near the quality of what I have come to expect. I admit I am spoiled by having had BBQ from Kansas City. The chicken is a bargain at Woody's.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckd1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Bar-B-Q also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 

Been to Woody's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing