We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undercooked fish for mother”

Cherry Pocket Steak & Seafood Shak
Ranked #9 of 80 Restaurants in Lake Wales
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Undercooked fish for mother”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I dinned with my mother there and she was served undercooked shrimp. First and last time there as we like our fish cooked all the way through.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    185
    79
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Not a fancy place but good food. Fries are excellent and portions are very generous. This place is in a old fish camp and the atmosphere is unlike any other. It's with a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckd1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food - good fun!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first visit, we went with friends who had been before. It was well worth the drive. It's quite rustic, but so different from anywhere else I have been. The staff were great, and the service was swift: the atmosphere was really welcoming and friendly. The menu is great too, lots of stuff that doesn't appear on other restaurant menus. Food portions are very generous - to say the least! My husband ordered fried mushrooms as a starter, they were really good, but the portion was main course sized!! I had a Louisianna crab cake to start, it was amazing, really light and tasty: luckily there was just one, but even that was large! I also had the fried oysters and shrimp, they were delicious. Another thing that I liked was, our servers took our drinks and starter order, and only once we had finished the starters did she ask what we wanted for our main course. I thought that this was a great idea, given the portion sizes!
It's a very fun experience and I would definitely go back next time we are in Florida.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jg2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Restaurant on the water”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Driving into this restaurant location you may have second thoughts. The name fits...Cool location, somewhat of a limited menu but very good. Very, very casual. A little off the beaten path but worth it. This was our second visit, will return. Grilled Grooper sandwich was good, sampled the fried Grooper, better, fries could have been a little more crisp.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another fun visit to Cherry Pocket.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our party of 4 arrived around 5:00PM, it was busy however we were seated right away. Waitress was very personable and prompt. Beverages were received in minutes. Shrimp were large and fried just right, slaw was very good. Hush puppy was overdone. Friends had the grouper and cajun platter. They both enjoyed their selections. This is still a great place to just kick back and relax with good friends and food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Pocket Steak & Seafood Shak also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 

Been to Cherry Pocket Steak & Seafood Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing