We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manny's was great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manny's Original Chophouse

Manny's Original Chophouse
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sodus, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Manny's was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Staying in town and we were looking for ribs! We found it and more. Our hotel's front desk suggested Manny's and we are so glad she did! We had 7 and we were seated right away. We had a little of everything! The Buffalo shrimp to start was delicious our hand tossed salads tasted great the rolls were hot and fresh! I had the ribs - which were great and love the BBQ they serve with it. The others had chopped steak and way to much to eat as they took it home with them! My husband had a steak and he said it had great flavor and was cooked perfectly. We were very happy and the kids had a good time writing on the paper table cloth. This kept them busy and we were able to talk and enjoy a few drinks. Definitely would go back when we are in town again!

Oh and a little FYI they also own the Egg House - Which is fantastic for breakfast!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationFam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    114
    29
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sodus, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ribs, steak and more.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fun place to go for a great meal. We are traveling through town and wanted to try some BBQ and our hotel front desk mentioned that this is the place to go! She was right!! At first we waited for drinks but realized that our waiter had 3 other tables that were seated at the same time so we understood why it took a minute to get some drinks. It was worth the waite. We ordered drinks then our meal and our table had a little bit of everything. The salads are great, tossed at the table, warm rolls with honey butter (kids loved) Ribs got rave reviews from our table and so did the chopped steak pieces and rib eye. We recognized the owner from earlier. They also own the Egg House down the street which serves breakfast and lunch ( a must try) and we spoke to her and told her how happy we were with breakfast and looked forward to dinner. Fun atmosphere for us and the kids, Always love the paper on the table for the kids to color or draw. Our food came out fast and was hot and the flavor was great. I want to go back to try the lobster bisque - so maybe next time we are in town. Prices are fair and the portions are appropriate! Very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacationFam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
339 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I and my wife have been going here since 2011, they really shine in the areas of quality and service. We've met the owner, Manny, once and he was very kind.
The prices are awesome and the atmosphere is cool. I'm not sure about the bar scene, because I do not drink.
Have been here many times and will continue to go! Thank you Manny!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFloridaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalcrest Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Place Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great Food, Efficient & Friendly Servers. Must go at 4- line gets long but best steaks around. Staff is very friendly and efficient

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Eight of us ate at Manny's last night and all had a great meal. Four students and four parents. Most of us couldn't finish the food and the students went home laden with boxes of leftovers. The house salad is fab! Don't know exactly what's in it, but I could eat it all night! Well done, Mannys. Will recommend this place to everyone! My son is at university close by and I know he and his student mates eat there every Wednesday for Fajita night!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petrina553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manny's Original Chophouse also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 

Been to Manny's Original Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing