We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden Gem”
Review of Bok Tower Gardens

Bok Tower Gardens
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the landscaped gardens of Frederick Law Olmsted Jr. and one of Florida’s natural habitats on the Pine Ridge Trail. You can also discover the history of Edward W. Bok and the building of his 205 foot Singing Tower and tour the historic Pinewood Estate mansion to catch a glimpse of the luxurious lifestyle of the 1930s. Enjoy the all new Children's Garden, Edible Garden and Outdoor Kitchen and Wild Garden. Visitor Center includes exhibits on the life of Edward Bok and the Carillon. Enjoy a healthy meal at the Blue Palmetto Cafe and take home a memento from the Tower shop.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A true hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Real Muzic Radio toured Bok Tour Gardens not knowing much about it. We learned sooooo much about Bok Tower Gardens. It was absolutely beautiful! The gardens have so many special plants (even endangered ones you can only find there) There was also lots of wildlife. If you are into birds, you will see hundreds of different types of birds on property, You must also tour the Pinewood Estate. I have been in many hold houses, but this one was very special, There is so much detail in each room. Last but definitely not least, the tower.... The Singing Tower carillon concerts are at 1 & 3 p.m. daily. They also host many special events (jazz and bluegrass fests, and Easter services) I cant wait to attend some of these events in the future. It was so nice..... I could spend all day out there. Take lots of photos!!!!

There was a cafe on site, Great food and very fair prices for a tourist attraction. We loved this place!! Must Visit!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank realmuzicradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    409
    76
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bok Tower Gardens”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

In the middle of nowhere, a 7-story high tower made of pink marble stones and coquina stones built almost 100 years ago, is simply amazing. The Guest Services, restaurant, gift shop, and the way the place is being managed is really refreshing. It's a nature preserve. Don't be in a hurry to see and go away. Go prepared to spend a time with yourself surrounded by serene calmness.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Leansville
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Saturday discount hours”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although I searched their website, I couldn't find this information until I arrived at the gate and paid. From 8-9 am on Saturday mornings, you get in for half price! We REALLY enjoyed the quietness and beauty. We loved the new visitor's center & movie (hadn't been for many years). Make sure to take and use bug spray right away so you don't get mosquito bites. Also take quarters so you can buy fish food to feed the koi by the Tower. I would also recommend a GPS if you are in to geocaching, as you can pick up this info at the visitor's center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLibrarylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful work of art in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Bok Tower is about an hour South of Orlando and the Disney parks. It's a great day trip if you are burned out by the busy-ness of the Orlando theme parks. It is a beautiful monument given in thanks to America but a Dutch gentleman. It's the highest point in central Florida and the sunsets are magnificent. Be sure to check their website for special programs and events: http://www.boktower.org/

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zekenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Blue Palmetto Cafe hit a home run ...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Each time I visit Bok Tower Gardens I encounter something new. Most of the time it is the ever changing blooms of the flora and fauna on the grounds.

Saturday August 3 a friend and I ate at The Blue Palmetto Café on the grounds before we started our walk. Chef Cory Reynolds hit a home run with his version of a BLT Salad. You guessed it - hickory smoked bacon, warm grilled chicken, and tomatoes. The tomatoes were the star of the salad which elevated it to another level. Cory chose to substitute traditional tomatoes for fried free tomato nuggets, which were tiny nuggets of heaven. They were delicious juicy bites of green tomato fried in a light breadcrumb.

I am looking forward to returning soon to taste another of Cory's creations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bok Tower Gardens also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 

Been to Bok Tower Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing