We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Family Favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bok Tower Gardens

Bok Tower Gardens
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the landscaped gardens of Frederick Law Olmsted Jr. and one of Florida’s natural habitats on the Pine Ridge Trail. You can also discover the history of Edward W. Bok and the building of his 205 foot Singing Tower and tour the historic Pinewood Estate mansion to catch a glimpse of the luxurious lifestyle of the 1930s. Enjoy the all new Children's Garden, Edible Garden and Outdoor Kitchen and Wild Garden. Visitor Center includes exhibits on the life of Edward Bok and the Carillon. Enjoy a healthy meal at the Blue Palmetto Cafe and take home a memento from the Tower shop.
Lake Wales,FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Family Favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Probaly the most peaceful place you can visit in Florida. I first visited Bok Towers in 1978 with my parents. Now that I have grandchildren I take them there at least once a month; they never get tired of feeding the fish. My youngest grandson can hardly wait until he is 6 years old so I can tour inside the Tower. My husband and I have attended many musical events under the stars; always delightful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woodstock51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,157
    398
    75
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Box Tower Gardens a good place to reflect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a beautiful place to just visit and just walk around. It is so peaceful and so very calming. It is nature at its very best. Just to sit at natures window and see the animals, the flowers and reflect on who you are. The singing tower is a work of art. Just think this was built in the 1920 time frame. Mr. Bok was true visionary. The staff and volunteers are all so helpful, they will answer questions and give helpful advice about the gardens. It is truly a place of beauty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gram11fer210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy a relaxing day with nature at Bok Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Easy to reach in the less congested beautiful area near Lake Wales, Florida. You will discover a treasure of a well kept natural area with a rare carillon atop a bell tower which is played by a human being. Located at the highest point in the state it is surrounded by old oak trees covered with moss. There is transportation but walking is necessary to enjoy the natural beauty of the area. Lunch at the Cafe is a treat, good food well presented and reasonably priced. A great gift shop is on the grounds. I would go back just to enjoy lunch. The summer home of a US Steel past President is located on the property and is well worth the visit. You will be glad you took the time to explore the Bok Tower area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautiful views from the highest point. Children will enjoy feeding the large fish in the pool by the tower. Not a garden for flowers, but beautiful trees and shrubs. Excellent visitors center with shop and cafe. A short introductory film gives you the history of the garden. Well worth going out of your way for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noeljan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fascinating experience for the entire family outside Orlando”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family and I were spending two and a half weeks in Orlando. We didn't want to only do theme parks so we searched out other area attractions and came across the Bok Tower Gardens. How lucky we were! After a short drive out we were greeted and given a short intro to the history and location. We had bought tickets to see the adjoining mansion which is where we started. This was a gorgeous piece of history for anyone interested in architecture and design. We then explored the Bok Tower Gardens and with our 12 year old, 3 year old, and 19 month old (in the free big wheel stroller!) we wandered this amazing place. The combination of what I can only describe as Spanish Gothic and the native lush flora and fauna made for a magical combination. To see this tower rise out of what is essentially jungle is amazing. The carillion too really added to the experience and various treks and geocaching opportunities really fleshed out the entire experience. On top of all this, lunch at the cafe is great, ice cream better, and all the people working here are wonderful. Skip the crowds at the parks and spend a day at Bok Tower Gardens.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank GreekMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bok Tower Gardens also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 

Been to Bok Tower Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing