We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bok Tower and gardens = peaceful”
Review of Bok Tower Gardens

Bok Tower Gardens
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the landscaped gardens of Frederick Law Olmsted Jr. and one of Florida’s natural habitats on the Pine Ridge Trail. You can also discover the history of Edward W. Bok and the building of his 205 foot Singing Tower and tour the historic Pinewood Estate mansion to catch a glimpse of the luxurious lifestyle of the 1930s. Enjoy the all new Children's Garden, Edible Garden and Outdoor Kitchen and Wild Garden. Visitor Center includes exhibits on the life of Edward Bok and the Carillon. Enjoy a healthy meal at the Blue Palmetto Cafe and take home a memento from the Tower shop.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bok Tower and gardens = peaceful”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful day, beautiful place. Plan to visit again. Be sure to take the guided tour and lunch in the cafe. Excellent fresh salads.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioBrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,191
    405
    76
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Tennessee
Level Contributor
218 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful place! Plan a full day there.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited the Bok tower and gardens in Feb and the weather was perfect for a stroll through the gardens. We went on one of the guided walks with a volunteer which made it more informative. The azaleas were in bloom which added color to the gardens. The tower is absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed listening to music from the carillon. The whole area is so peaceful. This is worth a drive and visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrandma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lots of beautiful flowers and neat tower with carillon”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the gardens very much. Be sure to take the guided tour which goes at 12:00 and 2:00 and ends up by the tour just in time for the half hour carillon concert at 1:00 and 3:00. They have a nice little cafe (we did not eat there), a gift shop and a plant shop as well.
We enjoyed the ride through orange tree country to get there too. It's $12 general admission, or $18 if you include the estate, which we did not.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ca4cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mid-Winter Attraction”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Bok Tower Gardens provide a beautiful location for a mid-winter get-away. The facilities are nice (including a not-too-expensive sandwich shop), and the gardens are lush and colorful--even in February. We found the staff helpful, the music from the carillon beautiful, and the entire gardens well-maintained and attractive. I highly recommend this attraction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike7803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Bok tower gardens is why we went to Lake Wales. Allow a day - worth the trip. The staff are very friendly and the grounds are beautiful. Do the house tour as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Page2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bok Tower Gardens also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 

Been to Bok Tower Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing