We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bok Tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bok Tower Gardens

Bok Tower Gardens
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the landscaped gardens of Frederick Law Olmsted Jr. and one of Florida’s natural habitats on the Pine Ridge Trail. You can also discover the history of Edward W. Bok and the building of his 205 foot Singing Tower and tour the historic Pinewood Estate mansion to catch a glimpse of the luxurious lifestyle of the 1930s. Enjoy the all new Children's Garden, Edible Garden and Outdoor Kitchen and Wild Garden. Visitor Center includes exhibits on the life of Edward Bok and the Carillon. Enjoy a healthy meal at the Blue Palmetto Cafe and take home a memento from the Tower shop.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bok Tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

A walk through nature and the history. Carillon is very nice

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank PeachMWeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    398
    74
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We enjoyed walking through the gardens and enjoying the view from the high point. The tower exterior is also beautiful.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A GLANCE AT OLD FLORIDA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Bok Tower Gardens is a nice day trip. A slow walk of the 50 acres along numerous pathways takes about three hours. That time includes stopping to smell the flowers. Native Florida plants and trees are abundant. In the afternoon they usually have musicans scheduled to perform. Check their website for times. There is a nice gift shop and cafe on the premises. They have picnic tables along side the parking area but none in the gardens. Plenty of benches to stop and rest if need be in the gardens.

After stopping at the gate to pay you then drive 1 1/2 miles back through orange groves to the parking area and gardens. All paved roads and parking area.

The City of Lake Wales, where BOK Tower Gardens is located was a big, big, disappointment. We had hoped to explore the city and historic district and were expecting more than what we found which were numerous empty buildings, closed businesses, and what appeared to be a repressed area.

Since we were from the east coast of Florida we did manage to salvage the day by stopping at the outlet Mall at Hwy 60 and I-95 near Vero Beach some 90 miles east of Lake Wales.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marci477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to wander and explore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We spent several hours at Bok Garden. It's a great sensory experience -- enjoy the music; smell the flowers; walk barefoot in the grass. There was a wedding taking place near the tower on the day we visited which added a little excitement. My children appreciated the backpacks available from the visitor center to borrow which included a compass, magnifying glass, and several nature books. And, bubbles which were useful for keeping the kids busy while the adults enjoyed the carillon tower concert. In addition, there are three geocaches on an adjacent nature trail. We found two out of three. Great day out!
http://boktowergardens.org/

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A moment of solace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were married here in 1982 and it is still a well maintained sanctuary of botanical splendor. If we need to run away, it is here. Their outdoor concerts are excellent and their horticultural expertise is top notch

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bok Tower Gardens also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 

Been to Bok Tower Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing