We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love Sundays.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amura Japanese Restaurant

Amura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 145 Restaurants in Lake Mary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: THIS MOTHER'S DAY TEPPAN SPECIAL!!! 50% OFF FOR MOTHER'S!! Amura is best known for their fun and vibrant sushi. Rated as one of the best by critics as well as people"s choice for the past 11 years, Amura provides freshness and creativity in their presentation and not only tends to please the eye, but provides a taste that is quite delicious to the lips. Come experience our warm atmosphere and the best sushi in the Lake Mary area that will have you coming back for more.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love Sundays.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a Sunday lunch. You have the option for a table, bar seating or a place at a Hibachi table. The docorum was attractive, modern and trendy. We chose the Hibachi experience. The server performed the theatrical utensil show including a flaming table. The food was prepared to our liking being flavorful and completed quicker than places like Benihana's and Kobe's. The chef was skilled and entertaining. The manager stopped by to check on us twice. The experience was memorable and delicious. It is a reasonably priced Japanese Steakhouse with class, specials and delicious sushi.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3rdroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    72
    26
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
218 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I enjoyed lunch here recently. The place was very busy, but that did not seem to impact our service and wait times much. I ordered a Bento Box which included Hibachi shrimp, soup, 3 pieces of California roll and a salad. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LYNNIE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
321 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great sushi, a little slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I ate here on a recommendation of a friend. I love sushi and was pleasantly surprised that it was very good. The rice is properly cooked and the right texture and the fish was fresh. Pieces are a good size. one complaint I made to them was on their order sheet they do not have Miso, even though they have it on their menu. So I forgot to ask for it after I had taken some time to filled out the sushi order. I sat right next to their live music though which while not too loud, wasn't ideal. it is right behind the front desk so maybe ask to be seated elsewhere if you want it a little quieter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BDL999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst Service I've experienced in a LONG time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went to the Hibachi section of Amura on Mother's day thinking that was a great dinner idea since we have a large family and knew it would be difficult to find a table large enough for all of us without waiting forever on a busy Holiday. We planned ahead and made reservations for 5:00, hoping that would be early enough to avoid to the dinner rush, which it looked like we did upon entering the restaurant. However, after ordering two rounds of drinks, finishing our appetizers, soup/salads, now approximately an hour later, we still did not have anyone cooking for us..and it didn't appear it was going to happen anytime soon.You would think a Manager would have found it necessary to come over and offer an explanation at this point, but no such luck. After summoning one manager over to tell him we had been waiting an hour, he smirkly replied, "So". Yes, he really did say that. As you can imagine, we are now getting pretty livid especially since two tables that were sat AFTER us, were now finishing their meals and collecting to-go boxes. The second manager came over, who by the way seemed scared to death of us didn't say too much other than it was the person who sat us fault, they should have told us there would be a wait. No solution, apology, discount, free dessert, drink, NOTHING, was offered. Finally, someone in our party said.. So maybe you should try to make us feel a little better for waiting this long with maybe a free appetizer or something. She quickly scurried away and a few minutes later, we did receive calamari on the house, which was delivered by a random server and we never saw the manager again. The funny thing is; 75% of the people in our party came from the hospitality industry and we all are more than fair, probably too fair when it comes to slow service, poor food, etc. because we have all been there. If this situation would have been handled properly, we would have been fine and this review would not be getting written. However, this was simply unacceptable and I doubt any of us will ever go back to Amura and I'm sure we will all share this experience with a few people. Not smart and very disappointing on Amura's part!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food isn't as good as it use to be, but it's okay. Service seems to be improving.

I wish it went back to the way it used to be, with awesome food and great service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing