We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Shula's 347 Grill

Shula's 347 Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Shula's 347 Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 147 Restaurants in Lake Mary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: HE Thomas Jr. Parkway
DeLand, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a long time Dolphin fan I have always wanted to try Shula's. They are known for their steaks, so my wife ordered the Cowboy Steak - a 16oz. ribeye. It was perfectly cooked. I know they have Shula's Steak Sauce, but you don't need it, the steak is one of the best she's had anywhere. It came with garlic smashed potatoes and a large helping of mushrooms which complimented the steak perfectly. Being a seafood person I ordered one of the specials; grouper with a macaroni, bacon and cheese croquet. The croquet itself was huge - for a croquet, that's not a complaint, just an observation. The grouper was awesome. The croquet was doubly awesome. We also ordered the crab mac and cheese which could have been a meal in itself. That was amazing also. I ordered two sea scallops (because that was the entree I was going to order off the menu) just to try. I'm glad I didn't order the sea scallops because there were way too salty.
The restaurant is classy and does not have the sports bar look that I kind of expected - which is OK by me because I was there for the food. They still had a few football things and some celebrity signed photos though. The waitress was attentive, maybe too much so, she was a bit irritating because we felt like we were getting interrupted from eating needlessly. Anyway, this restaurant is part of a chain and judging by this one in Lake Mary I would highly recommend it - just be prepared on spending some cash because it ain't cheap. But you do get what you pay for!
Docked a point for the way-too-salty scallops and the over enthusiastic waitress.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    98
    40
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Happy Hour Spots in Lake Mary”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I often go to Shula's for happy hour and they offer some really great specials. They have beer, wine and martini flights as well as $3.47 appetizers. I have had everything on the menu and the beef tips are the best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't Fault it (but nothing really stands out)”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Shula's since it opened a couple of years ago. It's a good restaurant but somehow it's never seems to quite make it as a great restaurant.

I had the 8 oz Filet with mash and asparagus. It was a nice steak. I have to say, considering Shula's positions itself as a steakhouse the range of steaks is somewhat limited. The 8 oz is the largest filet on offer! On the plus side, I did like the draught IPA beer. It's good to see restaurants like Shula's providing high quality draught beers. My wife was also delighted with her corvina fish over polenta which she described as "fantastic".

Other, relatively minor points, I always find the restaurant cold and the valet parking didn't have an umbrella.

I'm sure we'll be back, if only for the beer and the hope it may tip over to great-ville!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good food, adequate service”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

When we want a nice meal near home, we toss a coin between Fishbones and Shula's. A recent visit to Shula's was as good as ever. The server was a little off, but the food was very good, and that's why we go. Although they have a very attractive dining room, we took advantage of the nice weather to sit outside. They never reach excellent in any category, but they never dip to average, either. I'll take a consistent "very good" any day of the week.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LPinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Located in the Westin Resort. Service was fast and professional. Just what you would expect at a finer restaurant, yet not as stuffy. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. Our waiter was extremely attentive. Food was delicious, everything was prepared to our preference. Great place for dates, business, or family. Moderate prices for finer dining. Loved it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank family021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's 347 Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shula's 347 Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing