We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here! You won't be disappointed!”
Review of That Deli! - CLOSED

That Deli!
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Description: Great fresh local food. Big Sandwiches and home made soups. You wont leave here hungry.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go here! You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You cannot go wrong at That Deli! We each had the Bird-on-the-Bayou sandwich on gluten free bread, and it was the best sandwich we can remember eating in a very long time! Most gluten free breads are awful, but theirs is a delicious French bread which was great! We even bought a loaf to bring home with us. The sandwich was very generously filled and the sides were also quite large. Our friend had the New Yorker and the three of us ate every bite! We just wish we lived very close by, because we would be regulars, and there were many regulars today at lunch. The service was friendly and courteous. Great deli!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Deli in Central FL.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This family-owned and run joint makes their own soups daily, serves up new sandwich creations on a regular basis and tends to give you more sides than you know what to do with. You won't leave here hungry. You will want to come back. After taking my ma there for the first time (she ordered a shredded pork soup), she admitted that it was likely the best soup she'd ever had. True story.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8dane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like that they make homemade soups”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I got the pumpkin soup and the portabella mushroom sandwich. The soup was good. The sandwich would have probably been good but they microwaved the portabellas making them tough and chewy. I basically had to pick them out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjmmff625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great deli food and Huge Servings”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Awesome jerk chicken sandwich. Great food and great value! The salads are fantastic and they have a great sandwich selection. The mac and cheese was good, but I have had better. Still the food, service, and price are value are excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So tasty!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This little restaurant has a lively atmosphere for a deli and really tasty food. I usually get a kid's sandwich-but it's huge. The turkey is not the thin-sliced turkey that most places serve, it's thick and moist-plus I get it with avocado on it. Yummy.

It almost has a bar-like atmosphere. There's a counter and the employees interact with the customers and know many by name. Seems there are a lot of regulars there. It always has a lot of customers for lunch.

My turkey is so good I fear that it's soaked in fat or something to make it tasty. I hope not!
It's nice to find a good local, non-chain restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank buddysmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Deli! also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing