We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 South International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Lake Mary
Certificate of Excellence
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had decently high expectations for this stay with my family, however the hotel didn't meet them. A new Hyatt hotel should work and function perfectly.

Pros:
1 -It was a new hotel and in very good shape
2 - It was clean
3 - Great breakfast

Cons:
1 -The bed was cheap and uncomfortable. You could feel the springs in the mattress
2 - No Weather Channel - How can a hotel not carry The Weather Channel - that's what I watch when I travel! I won't stay at a hotel that doesn't carry a basic channel necessary for travelers.
3 - WiFi was unreliable. It disconnected each night (overnight) while I was sleeping. Looks like you have to log in everyday. Just a pain.
4 - The lighting in the bathroom was too dim
5 - I called down to the front desk 3 times to get some extra towels for the room, but nobody answered. When I walked down to the front desk the staff was standing around chatting with each other. A bit lame.

Room Tip: It appears I now need to start calling hotels and making sure they don't use DirecTV for their T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceLakeMary, General Manager at Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
The best way to start your day is with a well-balanced breakfast, and we’re glad you enjoyed our complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet. Sustainability is important to our hotel, which is why we make a conscious effort to conserve energy and help out the environment. We apologize if this put a damper on your stay and that our staff let you down. Your comments will be shared with our desk employees in order to make improvements. We hope that you will give our hotel a second chance to provide you with a much improved stay. Thank you for sharing your perspective with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
245 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was my first stay in a Hyatt Place property in at least three years, and the first stay at a Hyatt Place for more than one night. I enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The free internet was reasonably fast, there was a very large HDTV, and breakfast was a step above Holiday Inn Express or Best Western, etc. The a/c kept the room cool, and parking was convenient. I did not like the lack of stairs and no exit at the north end of the property - it would have been much quicker to exit my room to my car. The small bathroom and odd open shower have already been commented on, and I agree with the general poor function of the space. Overall a good stay, and I will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceLakeMary, General Manager at Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Welcome back to the Hyatt Place! We’re glad that your first time back with us was very pleasant. It’s great that you experienced comfort and that our complimentary A.M. Kitchen was a satisfying start to your morning. Your input is greatly appreciated and we’re looking forward to seeing you again at the Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

One of the staff members, Jonathan, greeted everyone in my business group by name each evening when we returned from work. He was very helpful in recommending places to eat and sightsee, etc. I felt very welcomed and wish this kind of experience for everyone who visits this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceLakeMary, General Manager at Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Your kind words for the Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North are truly appreciated! Each and every guest that walks through our doors is incredibly important to us and it’s great that you felt that. We’re thrilled that the staff member you specifically mentioned had such a positive impact on your stay and provided you with suggestions on some our favorite local establishments to check out. It would be a pleasure to serve your business again on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Just completed my stay at the Hyatt Place Lake Mary, FL. Very comfortable hotel with in a short drive of Sanford Airport.
Very friendly staff, felt safe as a woman traveling alone on this trip. Room very comfortable and would have been a great place to stay more than the one night I had booked. Has a refrigerator and coffee maker in room. Nice work area and a sofa. Separate shower/toilet area from sink so more than one person could get ready.
Breakfast very good to get you started for the day. Santa Fe omelette/bagel very yummy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meh7976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceLakeMary, General Manager at Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
What great compliments to receive! Traveling alone can often be hard and the fact that you were able to get comfortable and feel at ease is so wonderful for us to hear. We’re glad that you enjoyed our complimentary Kitchen Skillet breakfast as well! Hopefully you’ll have an opportunity to spend some more time with us on a future visit. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of ATL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here New Years Eve for 2 nights while we attended the Capital One Bowl. Staff was great, easy check in, room was clean & breakfast was good. As it was New Years Eve, I was expecting it to be noisier but that was not the case. Only issue was the batteries in the remote died but they quickly swapped the remote out an all was good. Hotel does have showers instead of tubs, not an issue for us but could be for others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotoCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceLakeMary, General Manager at Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Starting the new year off with one of the biggest collegiate football games of the season must have been exciting! We’re happy to learn that our tranquil accommodations allowed you to get the rest you needed and our free A.M. Kitchen Skillet helped you start the game day off right. Your review of the Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North is greatly appreciated and we hope you’ll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff was super friendly, helpful and quick as I checked in. The rooms are clean, with a large flat screen, nice couch and lounge area. A fridge and desk area completes the living room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a glass shower door. Not much to look at out the windows but a very nice hotel if you need to stay in the area. Free parking and a complimentary breakfast round out the hotel amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GunsandHosesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceLakeMary, General Manager at Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It’s great to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us! Getting a good night’s sleep is important when you’re traveling, and we’re happy that our Hyatt Grand Beds provided you with quality rest and relaxation. Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North. Come visit us again the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Found this hotel through Amtrak.com; wish I had taken reviews to heart because we found the reviews about bed, bathroom, and noise realistic. The bed was super soft which left both of us with stiff backs. The shower did leave water on the floor which was a big nuisance since the floor was never dry while we occupied room. The shower room with toilet was extremely small. The noise from flushing toilets throughout the night woke me up several times. The breakfast offerings were good but staff couldn't keep the hot dishes available due to number of people wanting breakfast. Coffee - the best thing about the stay; they serve Torrefazione which is hard to find since Starbucks acquired it. The good - staff extremely helpful; Shannon F. in particular.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceLakeMary, General Manager at Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Your feedback on your recent stay is truly appreciated. We’re glad that our staff was kind and accommodating during your time with us, and we’re always willing to do anything we can to improve your stay. Don’t hesitate to reach out to us for anything on a future visit. We apologize that that your guest room did not meet your expectations and we will inform our maintenance staff of the issues you’ve mentioned. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Mary
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Orlando North/Lake Mary
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Mary at Colonial TownPark
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lake Mary
The Westin Lake Mary
#7 of 12 in Lake Mary
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Orlando Lake Mary
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lake Mary
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lake Mary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North

Address: 1255 South International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Mary
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Mary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified as a Green hotel, Hyatt Place Lake Mary understands the importance of environmental responsibility. We take pride in going above and beyond expectations to create a rewarding guest experience. From the moment you enter the welcoming gallery, you will find outstanding facilities and services. Comfortable leather couches and a welcoming sitting area greet Florida business and vacation travelers in style.Our convenient hotel is located along one of the fastest-growing high tech business centers in the Sanford area, making us perfect for small corporate and executive events. Located halfway between Daytona Beach and Orlando’s world-famous area attractions, this newly-built Lake Mary hotel is perfectly situated for those looking to experience all that Central Florida has to offer. Sports fans will appreciate the fact that our Lake Mary hotel is right around the corner from the Timacuan Golf & Country Club, RDV Sportsplex and the Seminole Soccer Club Complex. Download our Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North Fact Sheet and view the Hyatt Destinations Orlando city guide for insider information on local Florida culture, restaurants, shopping, events and more.128 spacious guestrooms each with the Hyatt Grand Bed™ and a 42" flat panel HDTVExciting on-site and local area activitiesComplimentary Wi-Fi with 10mbps connection speed available throughout the hotelComplimentary hot breakfast dailyOutdoor heated swimming pool and JacuzziComplimentary guest passes to the Lake Mary Lifestyle Family Fitness CenterLocal shuttle within five mile radius 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves made-to-order snacks and entreesIntimate Bakery Café serves Starbucks® specialty coffees, premium liquor, beers and winesGrab 'n Go case offers muffins, salads, sandwiches and bottled beveragesE-room with complimentary computers and a printerComplimentary on-site parkingOn-site coin laundrySmoke-free facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Orlando Lake Mary Hotel Lake Mary
Hyatt Place Lake Mary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing