We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, ex motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Lake City
Reviewed April 14, 2013

WE had no luck finding this with our GPS because when we finally did find it we were informed it used to be a Motel 6. This was apparent by the room. It was very small even with 1 king bed, barebones and drab. Our tv cable didn't work and got no satisfaction for that . He would move us to an even more cramped room with 2 double beds, where the cable was only marginally better. They serve no breakfast here, just coffee in the office in the morning. Its okay if you are desperate, but another hotel would probably be better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are sorry to hear of your GPS malfunction. This property was bought and has not been a Motel 6 since the fall of 2010. All map information with Google, etc. was updated at that time and has not been a problem.

We are sorry to hear of your unhappiness with this property. Yes, this was formerly a Motel 6.
Clearly, this is not an intent to "fool" anyone as it is very clearly written....(AT THE TOP OF THE TRIP ADVISOR LISTING, ABOVE); this was formerly a Motel 6. We were able to change everything about that particular business except the size of the room. That goes beyond our control. It is true. The rooms are not large.

We are unhappy to know that moving you did not resolve your cable issue. We had the cable repairman come out to look at it and we still don't know what the problem might have been.

No, we do not serve donuts, breakfast, etc. However, we don't advertise or promise those things either. We do have the coffee pots with FREE coffee in each room so no one has to actually come to the office for their morning coffee. We also keep iron/boards and blow dryers in the office and almost every room is equipped with a micro/fridge.

We truly wish you would've called the office and the manager would've immediately refunded your money. There are many hotels at this exit that are not cheap and they can be had for double or triple our price.

We have built a repeat business as an efficient and clean ECONOMY property, which is a long way from cheap and we are not desperate for customers. We certainly don't want anyone staying here at an economy hotel when they are actually looking for an upscale hotel. There are far too many customers that are appreciative of economy rooms and we don't like turning them away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 170 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was apparently a former Motel 6. Our non-smoking room was really non-smoking, clean, good bed, and friendly front desk staff. Great value for the money when you're on the road and need a good place to sleep. We had travelled all day and were glad for a place to land. Big shower. Cable TV. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave us a great review. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was traveling cross country with my kitties. I actually found some pet friendly hotels would accept dogs but not cats! At America's Best my kitties were welcome guests. The staff was EXTREMELY courteous and accommodating. The room was IMMACULATE and stocked with coffee pot. Taking my kitty cross country was very stressful for both of us but America's Best made it a breeze! Highly recommend if you need good price, pet friendly and or nice staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St_Alia_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We thank you for the glowing review and are glad we had a pet room available at that time... to accommodate you. We are especially happy to know you were pleased with the room itself. Thank you again.

NOTE TO TRAVELERS:
We know many places do not accept cats and we too, have a VERY LIMITED area in only one building wing of the hotel designated for their stay. In fact, there is a limit of TWO PER ROOM and we prefer them to be CRATED. Please CALL AHEAD to insure that a room will be available. When making reservations, please inform us then. PETS MUST BE CLAIMED. If we cannot adhere to these policies, cleaning deposits will go into effect and/or we will have to eliminate cat stays altogether.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to this motel. It's not bad. Comfy bed, clean room. Friendly staff. Easy on, easy off access to the expressway. Has to be the best value at this exit. No complaints for an over night stay. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MittenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you again for leaving a kind review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Small room. Had good-sized fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. Older tv, maybe 17". Shower, no tub, with good shower head (full stream). Shampoo in packet instead of bottle. Towels small, rough, not very absorbent (take 2). Desk, table, 2 chairs. Pool. Well-lit outside but drapes do not block out light. No blow dryer, clock radio/alarm, notepaper, pen, or tissues so bring your own. Quiet. Decent area. Near interstate surrounded by other hotels where you could spend twice as much. Lots of food options nearby. Felt safe. Satisfactory place for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: I had a poolside room, may be quieter than those facing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themeparkjunkie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking this time to leave a review. We are happy that your stay was pleasant. Please note upon your return that we have blow dryers, clock radio/alarms , ironing boards, etc. . Just call the front desk. We look forward to seeing you again.



**NOTE TO TRAVELERS**
Blow dryers, clock radio/alarms , ironing boards, etc. are available at the front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here overnight to break up a long road trip, and thought it was a great value. This appears to be an older motel, but has been renovated and is very clean. My room (220) was spotless, even the corners were clean. It's a very basic room with few frills, but the a/c was cold and the bed was firm and comfortable. There was a 4-cup coffee machine, which I appreciated. Bathroom was fine. No bathtub, but instead a circular-shaped shower that I liked for its simple design. Only flaw I noticed was a lightbulb missing from one of the light fixtures, but it wasn't a problem. For an extended stay, I would likely look for a hotel with more amenities, but I can definitely recommend staying here for a night or two.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate your time and value your input. (That light bulb has now been changed). We look forward to seeing you again.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family stayed here for one night on our way to Disney. Compared to the price of other hotels it was a great deal. The room smelled clean and the bath room was clean. The only problem we had was we had to wear shoes due to the bottoms of our feet and my children's turning black from walking barefoot. Carpet needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myboyzroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the input and correct what is possible. ( I do wish I knew a name/ town or the room you occupied as I have no way of knowing and checking logs to single in on the room. The carpet is new so it is not a property wide problem.) We hope to see you again!

**The carpet is new so it is not a property wide problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#10 of 24 in Lake City
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Lake City
Super 8 Lake City
#7 of 24 in Lake City
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Lake City
Rodeway Inn Lake City
#12 of 24 in Lake City
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City

Address: 3835 W US Highway 90, I-75 at US 90, Exit #427, Lake City, FL 32055-4873 (Formerly Motel 6 - Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake City
Price Range: $65 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Lake City Florida. Lake City is the first major stopping point for travelers as they come into Florida. Also known as the “Gateway to Florida” the town is at a cross roads between two major interstates; I-10 going east toward Jacksonville/ Atlantic coast or west toward Tallahassee / Florida panhandle. Many continue south on I-75 toward central or south Florida. Points of interest near are historic downtown Lake City and lake DeSoto, Osceola National Forest, Stephen Foster State Folk Culture Center and Suwanee River, Itchetucknee State Park, and Olustee Battlefield. The Inn has free WI-FI throughout, a large outdoor pool, 24-hour front desk staff, a morning coffee and tea station in lobby, and ample parking. All guestrooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, free local calls, and 32” flat screen TV with satellite service including HBO, ESPN, and Univision. The Inn offers Non-smoking and a limited number of smoking rooms. Smoking is Not Permitted on walkways, in front of guest room doors, or in front of A/C vents, however designated outdoor smoking areas exist for guests. No local guests allowed within a 50 mile radius. Sorry no pets allowed. Our mission is simple, to provide a very clean room at an affordable rate, in a safe family friendly environment, in which everything is in good working order. Americas Best Value Inn Lake City is ideal for budget minded guest stopping overnight, visiting local family or area, or on a longer term corporate assignment or business trip. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until you head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Lake City
Motel Six Lake City
Lake City Motel Six
Lake City Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing