We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Lake City
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

For $38 a night I didn't have high hopes for this motel but the reviews were pretty good so I booked for three nights. Both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the rooms are very small but they are also very clean. The bathroom was recently renovated and had a nice shower with a great showerhead. The towels are horrible (you can see through them) and tiny, so bring your own if you can. The housekeeper was very nice and accommodating (we asked her to skip our room one day and clean it the next and she was OK with that). The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not, again, bring your own if you can. The pool was right outside our room but no one uses it after 9:00 p.m. so the noise wasn’t too bad. Our final morning we had no hot water but it turns out the boiler had blown a fuse so I won’t hold that against them. I found every employee helpful and willing to help in any way they could. I will stay here again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTClarity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your well placed constructive criticism just as much as your compliments. We want you to know that we are paying attention and we agree....better linen is in order. We hope you return to see the ongoing changes.

If we did not see you to tell you in person; we are extremely sorry for the boiler mishap. We had just installed it new, less than 30 days ago.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    72
    27
    16
    6
See reviews for
44
51
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stopped here on our way out of Florida and every hotel between Orlando & Lake City was full. It was very, very small, 2 people could not walk between beds at same time, bath had the bare minimum, with a torn shower curtain torn on both ends. Towels were very thin and the blankets were old and worn out. Had an old smell and definitely needed an update. The biggest problem, the people arguing outside our room while eating chicken in the parking lot near our car at 6:45 AM! (which they then left all of bones and meat they didn't eat on the ground,next to our car, disgusting!!!!!) Never again, will sleep in our car before staying here again.

Room Tip: We later found out there were more hotels, including another Americas Best across the highway tucked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory stay. Yes, we are a minimalist property. We strive for clean simplicity at an economy rate. We are sorry that you are unhappy with our room size as well. The double room holds two full beds with a standard night table in between. We are especially troubled by the linen and shower curtain complaint. That, we can control and we are unhappy to know that your room was not up to our standard. We do wish you would have called the desk and we could have corrected it immediately so you would not have been uncomfortable. We assure you this is a quality control issue that has already been addressed upon receiving your complaint.

Regarding, the update..We have in a short time completely painted, all new ac's, carpet is less than 6 mos old, we have added all new Simmons and Serta King mattresses, mirrors, boiler,shower heads, water heaters and pool refinishing.. Contractors are now 1/3 the way through with our new sinks and granite countertops. We have also installed coffeemakers in each room.

In reference to your biggest concern: We do not control what people eat, what time they eat it, and unfortunately....not where they eat it. After all, we have to clean it. We simply have no way of predetermining if someone will make noise until it happens and then, we address the issue. To suppose otherwise would be discrimination.

*NOTE TO ALL TRAVELERS REGARDING ROOM TIP AT BOTTOM OF THIS REVIEW: The suggested property is not affiliated, nor a part of this hotel chain. They merely have a similar name. Please DO check reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake City hotels

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

another satisfyed stay at Americas Best Value Inn.I have been Staying at these establishments when traveling thru the south.this one is in good shape and clean.Just another one night stay but completely satisfyed.Ceap rates and clean and friendly

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryC51224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Firstly, we apologize for the long delay in replying to your kind words. We appreciate it greatly that you've taken time to leave us a review. We are especially pleased that your stay was nice. We certainly hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stopped here on our way to the Tampa area, coming from Michigan. I found it online in the car and the price sounded fantastic for the one night stay we needed. There was a young man at the desk and when hubby went in the young man beat the online price! There was nothing to complain about. Clean, simple room with a comfy bed and great shower! What more do you need?

On the clerk's recommendation the next morning, we ate at Shirley's Restaurant which is on Hwy. 90 a few miles. Wonderful, ample, southern breakfast.

Room Tip: Try Shirley's Restaurant for a great breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MittenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Firstly, we apologize for the long delay in replying to your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are thankful for your time in leaving a review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We needed a quick overnight en route home from the keys. Although the property was dated, some recent upgrades were evident. We had a non-smoking room that did not smell like someone had been smoking in it. The bath towels were thin but we've seen worse. Free wi-fi worked as well as the TV. For what we needed it was fine. We Hate to spend $100 when our stay is so brief, so this overnight for under $50 was fine. We would stay again-

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicKetchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Firstly, we apologize for the long delay in replying to your kind words. Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that your stay was nice and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Nothing spectacular about this place, but it is clean and perfect for an overnight stay. We were traveling from Gainsville after a ball game, and just wanted a nights stay, so this was perfect. Good value and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedod3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and soon hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Mike the manager had the A/C turned on prior to my arrival. When I called to make reservations Mike asked the right questions (Smoking? Prefer room upstairs or down? etc.) This is a former Motel 6, so the shower is small, but the room was clearn, quiet and it's in a safe area. I'll look forward to staying with Mike again. There's a Waffle House one block away on the same side of the street, and a great buffet in the mall, about one mile away. The buffet is not a separate building, the entrance is on the south side of the mall. One of the best buffets I've ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6GMLC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you taking the time to leave a review for us. The kind words are greatly appreciated. We are pleased that all was well and look forward to seeing you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Lake City
Super 8 Lake City
#9 of 24 in Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake City
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#11 of 24 in Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
11.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn White Springs/ Live Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City
Address: 3835 US Hwy 90 W, I-75 at US 90, Exit #427, Lake City, FL 32055 (Formerly Motel 6 - Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable rates. Large outdoor swimming pool. Free WI-FI. Cable TV with 3 HBOs, 2 ESPN, & Univision. Free 24-hour coffee in lobby and in-room coffee. Microwave & fridge available in select rooms. Indoor 24-hour vending & snack area. Ample parking for RVs and Trucks. SMOKING OUTSIDE IS PERMITTED IN A VERY LIMITED area. SMOKING IS NOT ALLOWED OUTSIDE IN FRONT OF NON-SMOKING ROOMS OR POOL AREA. Smoking rooms are available, but limited in a section of only one building wing of the hotel designated for their stay. If you have special request, please CALL AHEAD to insure that a room will be available to meet your needs. When making reservations, please inform us then. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Lake City
Motel Six Lake City
Lake City Motel 6
Lake City Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing