We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super 8 Lake City
Nearby Hotels
$107
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$102
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Garden Inn(Lake City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
175
179
138
99
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
179
138
99
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree ice creamwafflesroom was cleanbiscuits and gravystaff was very friendlyfree breakfastoff the highwaytroyfloridacerealrefrigeratorhurricanepets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 694 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here while driving to Florida. We chose it because it was pet-friendly, but in the past that has often meant noisy, old, musty, and less-than pristine accommodations. I'm happy to report that while no one would mistake this for a luxury hotel, it was perfectly adequate and we had a good night. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Our room and bath were clean and had plenty of towels and other amenities. Breakfast was fine (coffee not bad!) although some fruit would have been nice. All in all a very good bargain, and we'd definitely stop there again.
Two other notes - (i) it is only 30 seconds off the interstate - very easy in/out; and (ii) good for pets - there is plenty of grass and space, and the rooms open out directly onto a grassy area. Nicely landscaped for this kind of motel, too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneMoses, General Manager at Super 8 Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear N:
Thank you for taking time out of your busy travel schedule to review Super 8 Lake City during your December stay and are glad to read you and your “furry family member” had a super good night with us. Yes, our spacious grounds have plenty of space for relaxing and walking pets and we have worked hard to minimize our landscaping the last 3 years in a Florida Friendly green effort which now includes water savings and locations for recycling right on the hotel grounds. Next visit, I hope to meet you in person and we’ll pass on the compliments about our southern coffee to our food distributor. As our staff keeps up with Trip Advisor, they will be delighted to read your description of their friendliness and helpfulness as they try hard to be the best in the area. Travel Safe (Super Safe in 2012) and we look forward to seeing you again. Cordially, SM GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just a one night stay on the way to Florida. After reading the reviews maybe I was expecting too much, the carpet needed cleaning, the room did not have a remote for the tv, there were not enough towels, chair in room needed cleaning(didnt set on it) the light over the mirror in the bathroom didn't work and one bed was ok but the other bed you could feel the springs. Staff was friendly and quick to bring a remote and towels. Breakfast was ok. Limited restaurants at this stop. Stayed at the Days Inn in Lake Park, Georgia last year and feel that that was a better deal for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rheaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneMoses, Manager at Super 8 Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to candidly review Super 8 Lake City during your recent one night stay. Although we try hard to satisfy every guest, my personal apology as Manager that we did meet your expectations. Yes, due to recent weather conditions, we have had challenges keeping our carpets as clean as we would like and I am disappointed that the light in the bathroom did not work. Both of these needs have been identified in the room in which you stayed and have already been corrected. That our staff was friendly and responsive to your needs is a plus. In regards to breakfast, we are waiting for Super 8 to announce and provide some new offerings to our breakfast selection including Super Cinnamon Rolls and fruit yogurt. And next time you visit (and we do hope there will be a next time) please ask for our Restaurant recommendations. There are 4 local restaurants on our exit which serve incredibly delicious local food we would welcome the opportunity to introduce to you. Travel Safe (Super Safe, of course) and it would be our pleasure to be of service to you again. You are welcome to contact me directly before you arrive. We want all our guests to be Super-satisfied every time. Cordially, SM GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

While my pictures may make it seem really bad, it was not great, but not that bad either. Had some mixed issues though - GOOD - Staff friendly and pleasant, and shortly after checking in, called to see how the room was. Shocked us, but nice touch. GOOD - While it was not our first choice of hotel chains, our chosen one in the area was almost double the price, so reasonably priced, good location near I75 & I10. GOOD - Our normal hotel chain has breakfast, but we ignored that issue in choosing this hotel, yet they had breakfast anyway. Odd layout for their breakfast, and they have an actual dining room, which I think would make more sense to set up there, but not just pastries, bagels and coffee, as they had cereal, waffles, and such as well. Would have been nicer to also have eggs and/or sausage/bacon product, but again, overall, nice. GOOD - Room was clean, bed and pillows comfortable. Some cheaper hotels have bad pillows or don't use fitted sheets, but these were not a problem here. Very comfortable bed. As you might be able to see from pics, room layout was very odd having to walk around the wall to get to the bathroom and that wall also was the closet area. Bathroom sink had good running water, and drain was not clogged up as so many lower priced hotels have poor drainage, again, not here. NOT TOO GOOD - This is clearly an older hotel that has been remodeled. Honestly, I have seen worse remodels, but this was certainly not the best either. As you can see from the pics, the bathroom door is rotted at the bottom. Unlike a stay I had at a different hotel recently, at least the door closed properly even with the rot. NOT GOOD - Their waffle maker has no spray (they refuse to use it according to staff) so the finished waffles often stick to the heating elements. Bad decision in my opinion. BAD - Toilet did not flush properly, we had to hold handle down to get it to flush. VERY BAD - While taking a shower, I got several short blasts of very cold, near scolding hot water. The cold jolted me, and the hot as I said, was nearly scalding, which could cause someone to fall and get hurt in the tub. Potentially very serious issue. Not sure I have ever had a shower experience like that at any hotel.

Room Tip: Not really sure, maybe near end of the building closer to parking would be more convenient.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourswflnotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We just spent two nights at this motel. Like some of the other reviews said, its not fancy, but it was quiet, clean, comfortable and convenient. We had a king room and it was very big compared to other motels such as this one. The bed was comfortable. Lots of TV channels. Free Wi-Fi. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sink drain was a little slow and they sent a maintenance guy up on Christmas day to adjust the drain! They also serve breakfast in the lobby.
If you are looking for a good, basic room at a reasonable price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatPhishKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneMoses, Manager at Super 8 Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear KP:

Thank you for your super-review of our Super 8 in Lake City, Florida and your gracious recommendation to other traveler’s. The age of our hotel presents many challenges but on the positive side you will find our rooms much larger than other newer hotels in the area. All members of our team are responsive and it was a pleasure for our maintenance staff to take care of your drain issue on Christmas. That you stayed 2 nights with us over the holidays and had a pleasant stay in a clean room with a comfortable bed at a reasonable price is what we aim for. Travel Safe (Super Safe of course) and we hope to be of service again. Most Cordially, SM GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Another older Hotel/Motel in the Wyndhan Chain. Very clean and quiet. Friendly and cheerful staff. Great place to stop before heading further into Florida and its many attractions. If you want fancey...try something else. Booked through Priceline and was the first time in many years that we did not get a more expensive hotel in this area..as our price was the advertised price. Complained to Priceline but once billed you own it! Not the Hotels fault....hey remember Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneMoses, General Manager at Super 8 Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Dear J: Super thanks for your December review of Super 8 Lake City. We are grateful you took the time to mention our cleanliness and appreciate your description of us being great stop on the way. We are not new nor do we consider ourselves fancy, but a sincere cheerful staff will always be available to do the best we can to give you a super night’s sleep. We still answer our phones live so next reservation, hope you will take the time to call us directly. Travel Safe – Super safe, of course! Most Cordially, SM, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews