We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Sonny's can all be a little different but this was delivered!!”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #4 of 126 Restaurants in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Sonny's can all be a little different but this was delivered!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stopped in for a quick bite, ordered the salad bar with meat portion, my husband had the sliced brisket platter. All big portions, delicious. My order came with a choice of soups or chili. I chose the chili and it was awesome. Friendly server, very clean restaurant. Fast service, we were back on the road in no time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zonicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    65
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Always Great Food and Very Friendly!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Always Great Food and Very Friendly! and Fast, I would Highly Recommend Eating here superstars inmybook

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Sean B, thank you for taking the time to visit Sonny's BBQ and we're glad to hear that the food and service was excellent. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Sonny's”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice location. Friendly service. Food is always right as ordered. Clean with a nice salad bar. Staff helpfull and pleasent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Julius, glad to hear you had a great experience and our staff was pleasant. Thank you for taking the time to visit us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Their service is great, and the food is the usual wonderful Sonny's quality.
Love the Bar-B-Que chicken the best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good catering”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Had Sonny's cater a large party at a local hotel. Arranged for the food to be delivered and set up at 6:00 P.M. The server arrived, set up all items and had everything prepared 5 minutes ahead of time. With two meat selections (pulled pork and chicken), corn, baked beans, potato salad, desert, and two drinks, everything was set up in a smart order. The food was hot/cold as appropriate. The portions were large (enough that everyone in the group had lunch the next day from the left overs). The meats were tender and flavorful. Cost was approximately $12.00 per person which seemed reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GNPHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
GNPHiker, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you decided to have us cater your event and was pleased at our prompt service and BBQ. We appreciate your business and hope to be your choice for future events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing