We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and best Sonny's in area”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

There are some that are franchised and I think this one is, I know they are very different from the Gainesville and Alachua Sonny's - in a good way.
Good customer service from management and servers - I am one of those who creates their own menu at times and they figure out a way to do it - and not add exceptionally to the cost. Food is usually very consistent and good. Salad bar is kept clean and pretty well stocked, although some of it is 'canned' and commercialized, they have added an all u can eat soup salad and breadsticks to compete with Olive Garden across the street.

Thank Christy32024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Christy32024, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Sonny’s BBQ
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 209 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stopped in for supper last Monday evening. Service was slow to start. We waited approximately 15 minutes after we sat down for our server to come for drink orders. After she finally arrived it went better. I had hot wings and my wife ordered the turkey "Big Deal" with slaw. It arrived with fries instead. The server said she would be right back with the slaw. My wife was halfway through her sandwich when the slaw finally arrived. Over all the food tasted good, service was hit or miss. Like I said, nothing special. Will we go back, probably not.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TRKJKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

TRKJKY, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear that your wife's order was not correct upon arrival. Allow us to help. Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details about your visit, including the location, so that we can address these issues. We would greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We ate here on our way to our vacation destination and boy did it hit the spot! They had some great barbecue and very friendly staff. Prices were a little steep in my opinion, but you are on vacation so splurge a little.

Thank CruiseTraveler1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

CruiseTraveler1021, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again when you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Food was great, service was great tea was great! What more is there to say? Had more than I could eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martha_K2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Martha_K2229, thank you for the great review! We're happy to hear that you have become a fan of our BBQ! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Sonny's is a large chain restaurant in Florida that originated in the town of Gainesville, Florida (GO GATORS) and has grown into a large successful BBQ venture and boy is it great. They specialize in chicken, pork, and beef and also have some wonderful ribs that I know that you'll just fall in love with. The salad bar is well stocked and very fresh (a meal in itself). One of the specials that my wife and I always get is the dieters plate which is a AUCE salad-bar and your choice of one of the meat entrees (meat only). I don't believe that this is on their menu anymore but if you ask for it, you will get it. The price for that is, or was, $10.00. And by all means, ORDER THE SOUTHERN STYLE SWEET ICED TEA...O YEAH...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

John A, thank your for your great review! We're glad to hear that you and your wife enjoy dining with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing