We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #5 of 133 Restaurants in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Food was great, service was great tea was great! What more is there to say? Had more than I could eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martha_K2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Martha_K2229, thank you for the great review! We're happy to hear that you have become a fan of our BBQ! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Sonny's is a large chain restaurant in Florida that originated in the town of Gainesville, Florida (GO GATORS) and has grown into a large successful BBQ venture and boy is it great. They specialize in chicken, pork, and beef and also have some wonderful ribs that I know that you'll just fall in love with. The salad bar is well stocked and very fresh (a meal in itself). One of the specials that my wife and I always get is the dieters plate which is a AUCE salad-bar and your choice of one of the meat entrees (meat only). I don't believe that this is on their menu anymore but if you ask for it, you will get it. The price for that is, or was, $10.00. And by all means, ORDER THE SOUTHERN STYLE SWEET ICED TEA...O YEAH...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

John A, thank your for your great review! We're glad to hear that you and your wife enjoy dining with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have had some of the best BBQ in the US in Texas, Kansas City, North and South Carolina, etc and tonight's experience was one of the worst I have ever had. I ordered the pulled pork and chicken combo with cornbread and okra. The Chicken was soooo dry it was hard to chew and swallow, the pork was fatty and greasy....no flavor from being a PIT BBQ restaurant...the okra was a frozen product not fresh. The cornbread was ok...not great. I did not eat the pork, and when the server approached he asked if I did not like it...I said no, it was not good. He offered another option but I declined. I was still charged full price though. No apology made....won't be back.

The sign out front advertises Eat where the Jags Eat....not sure why any NFL team would eat this....maybe it was just this location but it was terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phxaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Phxaztraveler, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your pulled pork and chicken combo was not up to your expectations. Let us help! Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details, including the location, so that we can address the issues you've encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The service and ribs were excellent. I called to ask when they closed. 9:30PM The food was fresh unlike most places before they close. The service was over the top. Even though it was closing the ribs fries bread were hot and the cole slaw was fresh and cold. The unsweet tea in the south was fresh and good too. I will be back and I do recommend this place to friends and family. If you love bbq do not miss this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tulmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Tulmyster, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our delicious ribs and fries on your recent visit. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am not sure if BBQ is different in Florida than what I am used to in Texas, but my husband and I both were not impressed with the BBQ. I also ordered a baked potato and they were very skimpy with the toppings only a very small amount of butter and sour cream, no cheese or bacon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for the review, Kim T. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Let us help! Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details about your experience so that we may address the issue. We appreciate the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing