We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here often.”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Lake Butler
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eat here often.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

For great BBQ, this place is hard to beat. Since we only live 18 miles away from Lake City, this is another one of our favorite places. Food & service is always great. They also have several other places throughout Florida & have eaten at some of them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    65
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We saw billboards for miles and were excited when we saw one down the street from our hotel. We tried the brisket sandwiches and ribs. The brisket had so much fat, we had to take it off the sandwich and cut it all off, mostly fat, not much left on the sandwich. The ribs, weren't much better. The fries were soggy, it did take forever to receive our food, maybe the fries were made first! I've had better Bar B Q frozen from the grocery store!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank planomom8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good BAR B QUE, fast service”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good BBQ and really tasty sides. Never much of a wait if at all. In and out for the travelers in a hurry but wanting a sit down meal.
Servers are great as is the whole staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbspencer190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Chicken not thoroughly cooked”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Unfortunately, dining here resulted in some unpleasant illness. The chicken had appeared not completely cooked through, but we ate anyway as the wait staff insisted the color was due to the smoking/cooking process. Last time for a Sonny's.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

the people are very nice and make you feel it home I will go back again I even took a to go order with me

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smiley3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing