We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam - Bait and Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Lake City
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scam - Bait and Switch”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Scam. Dishonest. False advertising. Bait and switch. Comfort Suites in Lake City advertised a rate of $79. We arrived and handed them the $79 coupon. The desk clerk pointed out the small print that said "based on availability" and declared it "unavailable". I asked who determined "availabiltiy". The desk clerk said "The Manager". Bait and Switch: we were told that the new rate is $129. We left and went elsewhere. I think Comfort Suites honor their coupon occassionally just to keep out of jail. A comfortable jail cell would probably do the Comfort Suite manager some good.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake City, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Comfort Suites Lake City . I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you could not stay with lake city's highly rated premier hotel. We have no intentions to scam or fool any of our guest. The coupon as advertised clearly mentions that the rates are not available during holiday and special events. Unfortunately this was our Christmas holiday season were we could not accept the coupon. In future if you would like to use the coupon, please call the toll free 1-800 number on the coupon to check for availability. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your concerns and sorry that you could not enjoy our all suites hotel with a complimentary hot buffet breakfast. I hope this incident will not stop you with staying with comfort suites in future . J.B. Patel GM & entire comfort suite staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    106
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
215
194
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was in town for 1 night on my way back "home" and stopped here for the night. The staff was very nice and the room was clean(seemed fairly new). I was given a complimentary bottle of water and don't know if it was just because or if it was my diamond status with choice hotels. Either way front desk staff was very nice to me. I did not sample the breakfast in the morning because I was in a rush to get back on the road. I would stay here again if I happen to be in the area. It was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 247HardWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake City, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Comfort Suits in Lake City, FL! We always appreciate the positive feedback from our guests regarding our clean, comfortable rooms and our awesome staff. We appreciate you being a Diamond elite member of choice hotels. We hope to see you again in the near future! Sincerely, J.B.Patel Stacey and Comfort Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here over Thanksgiving for 2 nights. The staff was very friendly. I must
give kudos to Robie (I think that is how he spells his name). He worked Thanksgiving night. Very kind.Thank you. The breakfast was excellent. You did not want for anything.Very clean. The room was big enough for the 5 of us.It's a great place to stay while traveling through Florida.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey d, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Lake City, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your pleasant review! We love hearing reviews regarding our wonderful staff! It is such an encouragement to us all! Robie has been recognized as the Employee of the Year by the Suwannee River Valley Tourism Industry for 2013, and we are very proud to have him as part of our team! Our spacious Studio Suites are perfect for large families and we are happy to hear you were comfortable during your stay. Our delicious hot breakfast is a great way to start your day, with approximately 25 different items! Please make sure to come back to see us again the next time you are in the area! Happy Holidays! Stacey and Comfort Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way to Disney World. We were welcomed at the front desk by Matthew. He was very professional and very helpful. The room was very nice and the beds were comfortable. We were welcomed by Lori the next morning when we went down for breakfast. She was very pleasant and helpful in Assisting us in our breakfast choices. You will not find a nicer hotel for the money and again the staff is fantastic. We will now be a Comfort Suites customer when we travel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalindaK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey d, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Lake City, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your way to Disney World! Thank you also for your encouraging words regarding our staff here including Matthew and Lori, we will make sure to pass the review on to everyone! Our goal is for 100% guest satisfaction and your positive review on your stay is just what we love to hear! We hope to see you again in the near future, have a wonderful Holiday Season! Sincerely, Stacey and Comfort Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lovely new hotel ideal for stopover on long trip north, however we were dismayed st the amount of noise from families cramming into rooms to Dave money, letting kids run riot in corridors screaming banging doors all night, disgraceful! After long flights for. Australia we wanted a good sleep but ended up awake all night. Breakfast was s free for all with children running riot. Not a good esoterica overall, such a shame as hotel is beautiful new and modern. We suggested to reception they should put families with children one one floor away from other guests, and doors should have had soft closes on them to avoid disturbing guests.

Room Tip: Don't get next to families with children, you'll hear everything all night long!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomads59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey d, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Lake City, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your trip to post a comment for us on Trip Advisor. Your opinions are very important!! We are sorry to hear that is was noisy on the night you were here, we do try our very best to keep noise levels down to a minimum. We are staffed 24 hours a day with security here most of the night as well and can always respond if you need anything at all, including asking other guests to keep noise levels down. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our modern decor as we are the newest hotel in Lake City, FL. Our No-Smoking policy really preserves the newness qualities that our guests enjoy so much. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Stacey and Comfort Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

On the way to Tampa we stopped in for the night. At first we almost left because the man at the front desk had no customer service skills and was not at all friendly and let the woman behind us cut in front of us and start her reservation when I couldn't find my credit card. So after looking for it for maybe 30 seconds and finding it I had to wait 15 minutes for the woman who had been behind me to reserve her room.
Once that fiasco was over and we got into the room it was spacious and clean. Two queen beds and a pull out couch was plenty of room for the four of us. The beds were average, not the "luxury comfort" the other reviews make you think. Overall the hotel was fine for a quick overnight stop. Next time we travel to Tampa and need to stop we will keep this hotel in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey d, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Lake City, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about your check-in experience and will use this information as we work on training procedures that give excellent customer service skills in all situations that arise. We are pleased that you did enjoy our spacious and clean rooms. As you mentioned, we do have many positive reviews regarding our Serta Matress made specifically for Comfort Suites, but also appriciate each guest's opinions and comments as we continue to strive for 100% guest satisfaction! We really hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in our area. Sincerely, Stacey and Comfort Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice staff. Rooms are huge and CLEAN. I am very picky about hotels and this was definitely a good one! Newer hotel. Easy access from highway. Right next door to a restaurant for a quick evening meal. I will be staying here again on my travels through Lake City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey d, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Lake City, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for posting a great review for us, your feedback is very important to us as well as to other travelers needing to stay at a nice, clean place in the area! We are located right next to Bob Evans Restaurant so it is very convenient for those not wanting to get back into their vehicles and drive to another location to dine out. Also we are only 1/4 mile west of I-75 so we are very easy to locate! We look forward to seeing you again, and hope you have a great Holiday Season! Stacey and Comfort Suitess Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#11 of 24 in Lake City
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Lake City

Property: Comfort Suites Lake City
Address: 3690 W US Highway 90, Lake City, FL 32055-4895
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Lake City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This immaculate contemporary all suites hotel is located in Lake City off of I-75, exit 427. Experience everything you expect from an upscale hotel: luxury bedding, complimentary Savory Starts breakfast, WiFi, plenty of large truck parking, state of the art 24 hour fitness, fridge/micro in every room,and much more! Spend the evening in our outdoor pool/spa area or relax by the waterfall in our beautiful lobby. 24 hour business center available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choice Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing