We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Porch

Back Porch
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Lake Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
342 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Hidden Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wow! If you've never been here...you MUST go. I found this place from internet searching for our upcoming trip. This place is so unique and great! Loved how your ordered and how the lunch came out. What a great deal as well. Food was home made and very tasty and the place was beautifully decorated as well. Loved the garden shop as well as we brought home an outdoor flag to remember our time there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Krr1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great getaway spot to both eat and shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Back Porch is a casual tea room which is part of a shopping complex including a garden shop, several gift shops, and an antique store. It is a fun place to spend an afternoon! The tea room has both indoor and outdoor seating on the back porch--hence it's name. The menu has weekly specials and a nice variety of sandwiches. I always order the four course meal of soup, salad, sandwich, and dessert which is less than $10. It is delivered to the table in a wooden box which is clever. The food is served on styrofoam, but that helps keep costs down and makes for a quick cleanup to handle the crowds. I highly recommend a visit to this charming place. And don't forget to try the spiced raspberry tea. It's the best!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FLLovestoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Visited on a Thursday afternoon about 1:30 for lunch. By this time, most of the groups and buses (if there are any that day) have departed and the "back porch" is very laid back and relaxed whether you sit inside or out. You order at the front desk on a menu that allows a 4 course lunch (in a picnic basket) or a la carte for soup, sandwich or dessert. I had the chicken salad sandwich on croissant and the chocolate dessert which was perfect for a light lunch. Luckily for us, the back deck had available seating in the shade under the beautiful trees alongside the pond. This afternoon the gator and turtle both made an appearance close by adding to the feel that you have really gotten away without going too far off the beaten path. The outdoor "wine bar" is equipped with yummy frozen selections, Peach Bellini and a slushy sangria as well as standard wine offers. The gift areas on the outside and inside of the porch offer take home versions of some of the menu items as well as many other unique gift items. Our server, Sarah, made the experience memorable as she described the offerings of the restaurant as well as the shops beyond. These servers are kept very busy delivering lunches and while they don't expect tips, we showed our appreciation for their energy and enthusiasm by leaving a tip in a mason jar at the front desk. With my sandwich and dessert and 2 flavored teas our bill came to about 9.50 and of course you can re-fill your tea as you wish. When I have the desire to getaway but don't have the time, "The Back Porch" is the perfect escape where you truly feel like you've gotten away in a setting that's truly welcoming and relaxing.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great stop between Tampa and Orlando!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is one of lifes little finds...a place for girlfriends or mom and daughters to gather. I have going here for years . the food is served in a picnic basket and is in "just right" portions a cup of homemade soup, a sandwich, and a small dessert...all tasty ...but this is not a destination of itself but a part of a grouping of 3 stores and an antique store...all things are very well priced ...a garden shop, a holiday shop that changes with the seasons, and a home decor and gift shop The antique shop is called the Barn and is open from the fall thru spring They traipse thru europe and bring home great finds...especially stained glass. It is a wonderful place to spend the afternoon together. Be sure to check the hours on the website...

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tampagirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find for a great lunch/shopping spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

My daughter and I happened on the Back Porch Restaurant and The Barn Antiques shop in Lake Alfred one Saturday afternoon. The restaurant is decorated like a tea house but has a nice informal air to it. You can choose to sit inside, outside on a screened porch, or outside (under big shade trees) on a raised porch next to a pond filled with lily pads. We sat by the pond and watched the turtles and a baby alligator while we ate. The service was good - very friendly and very fast. The menu is picninc style with a soup, salad, sandwich, and dessert running $7.95. You can opt for just a soup and sandwich for $5.95. There is a small kids menu (hot dog, mac & cheese, pb&j) and a cookie for $3.95. The food was good, well worth the price. After you eat there are a couple of shops to visit. One has garden decorations, one boutique style gift shop, and an antique shop. We visited the gift shop and the garden shop and they had really cute merchandise for reasonable prices. We didn't get to the antique shop (we played a game of chess with the giant chess set instead). My daughter is 7 and she was welcome in the shops and restaurant (sometimes shops like this aren't child-friendly"). This was a great place for a mommy/daughter afternoon! It was very busy on a Saturday afternoon. *The address on TripAdvisor is correct but the map is showing somewhere in Mt. Dora?!?! You get there by taking the Lake Alfred exit off of I-4 and look for the big red barn.*

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jcuzzort1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch also viewed

 

Been to Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing