We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Experience at Towne Place Suites, The Villages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites The Villages
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lady Lake
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unexpected Experience at Towne Place Suites, The Villages”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have stayed at several Towne Place Suites with mixed reviews. We had the opportunity to spend Thursday through Monday June 26-30 at the Towne Place Suites in The Villages Florida. It was an excellent hotel. Plenty of parking with very helpful staff, and the check-in process was very easy.
This is not a 4-5 star hotel, but for the budget conscious traveler, this is the place to stay when in the area. They also accept pets for a $100 fee which we gladly paid to avoid the kennel charges.
It is very clean with easy access in and out of the hotel.
Walking distance (400 – 500 yards) to the Spanish Springs Square where there is music playing, a selection of restaurants to pick from, mivie theatre and very friendly people.
Plenty of near-by shopping tomake use of the in-room kitchenette.
Great pool area to relax in the HOT sun!
The hotel will be very happy to help you with tee times at the many golf courses in the area.
We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpidgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experiences with us from your stay at TownePlace Suties The Villages! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy our location, amenities and staff. Your comments will be share with our team here at TownePlace Suties. We hope to see you again during your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    88
    34
    19
    14
See reviews for
69
81
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I know the location well, so it was easy to get to. Hotel is in the Villages, FL, right next to Rialto Movie theatre. (Villages has several town squares. This was the first one-Spanish S[prings or something.). You can WALK to lots of restaurants, the movies, and the town square if it is not too hot. There is a grocery store (Publix) and plenty of other "drive to" restaurants nearby. HINT: If you do not know the location, I imagine it could be a nightmare getting to the hotel. UH..first they got street lamps in the corners to be quaint. Deadly if you don't know to look for them. Then you have to navigate around a town square to get to the hotel (unless you go North one exit and go that way, much easier. Not as scenic and you wont see the shops). Anyway, I love the area, and it was easy to get to. NOW the hotel is to me, ugly, sterile. NO ambiance. There is no covered entrance. They do have a fountain. But a covered entrance makes MUCH more sense. And there are really no safe walkways or clear paths to get to the hotel from the huge parking lot. Hint. Drop off the bags. There are some extra handicapped spots south of the hotel if the first set is full. There is a bit of a walkway. Look for it..it goes behind a small "building" next to the small pool. Doesn't look safe, but the Villages is a safe area. OK...once in the hotel. there is ONE check-in to the left. And some luggage carts. The agent was ok. Friendly and helpful if you ask nice. I walked in to hear a very dissatisfied customer complaining. So I was extra nice. Got just an ok greeting. Asked about parking and the clerk smarted off with here hands.....like voila "pick a spot in the whole (inconvenient) lot". WELL DUH, smarty pants, I've been to Villages lots of time and no parking. There is a movie theatre and church services and tons of restaurants. Maybe the place has lost popularity, since they opened other town squares or maybe it is not crowded in Summer. It was an intelligent question. You could have been more reassuring. At checkout, they were much nicer. So why the four stars? The room has a nice refrigerator, freezer, there was ice down the hall, a microwave, silverware, dishes, a dishwasher, & coffee pot. They have coffee in the lobby and ice water. They have a decent continental breakfast, waffle maker, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, milk, cereals and some "breads" to toast. Apples, oranges, watered down OJ, and granola bars. Hard to get into the small area. Allow extra time. The TOWELS were the fluffiest I ever encountered in a hotel. They make the most of the small space. I got a two queen size room because I think it has more square feet. It is not large and the tv was tiny. All I wanted was a bead ..actually I did not want to be there at all. I had a free Marriott night and they FORCED me to use it by June 30th and would not extend it. So I am cancelling my Marriott Card today. In the past they told me to wait until the free room nearly expired and then they would extend. Between the time I got my Marriott card, and they issued the free night category 1-5, they UPGRADED many hotels to move them to Category six including cheaper hotels...so I could not use the certificate. I travel every month. Not the hotels fault I had to use the certificate. But it was an hour to my destination. Not convenient. Also, not sure which amenities are open to hotel guests, like night clubs. Some were for card-carrying Villages residents only, some ten years ago. Room was comfortable, clean, well stocked, with dawn dish soap, scrubbers, paper towels. dishtowel, dish rag, and dishwasher soap. Coffee, tea (not great), salt and pepper packets, and half & half. Had minimal amenities in the bath, shampoo, conditioner bar soap. HINT: you can pick up some hot chocolate in the breakfast room if you are staying longer.

Room Tip: There are two elevators. No views that I know of, but maybe higher rooms on south side might see to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the detailed review of your stay with us at TownePlace Suites The Villages. While our hotel was not near your destination, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location to the Spanish Springs Town Square. We hope you get a chance to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Towne Place Suites was a really pleasant surprise. Very new. The location just one block off Spanish Springs Town Square is perfect. Quiet but accessible to everything. Well equipped kitchenette but only 1 chair and a desk besides a couch so eating in is not realistic. Besides they serve breakfast and there are lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank maxxmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us at TownePlace Suites The Villages. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We decided to spend the two nights of our first trip to The Villages here despite the recent lukewarm reviews on TA.

Facilities are clean and rooms are quiet.

It is super convenient to the town square (literally steps away).

Staff was excellent. From the greeting at the front desk, to the staff at limited breakfast buffet, to the directions and tips again at the front desk it was a pleasure to deal with these folks.

For a Marriott budget type property you will get a decent value for your dollar.

Location and its staff made it a quick but enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We faced parking lot and room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTGolfDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re thrilled to hear that your accommodations and location! We value our staff as our most important asset and are happy to hear they provided you with the excellent service our guests should expect. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for one night when we visited the Villages and were very pleased. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and extremely convenient to the square and to nearby shops and restaurants.

The room was nicely decorated and was spacious enough for our needs. We had a microwave, coffee maker, frig. Staff at check in and check out were friendly and accommodating. THe pool was outstanding. Deck was Immaculate. Temperature in pool and hot tub were perfect. A real plus for us. The room was very clean, except for the hairdryer which seemed clogged with lint and a bit sticky. Room temperature controls were difficult to use. We couldn't get room above 69 and that is cold for us. I have to admit, it was late at night and I did not call the desk so it is possible they would have fixed that for us if we had called.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were pleased with our location. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again during your next visit to The Villages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Although the suites in this relatively new hotel are minimally larger than an average hotel room, they are nicely appointed and the hotel is very clean. Continental breakfast is available at no charge.

One of the best things about this hotel is that it is actually in Spanish Springs Town Center (behind bowling alley and across from the Church on the Square), so you can easily walk the Square.

The only issue I had was that I was unable to get a cell phone signal in my room, so I had to go outside to make a call, but that may be a Verizon issue more than the hotel.

Room Tip: There isn't much of a view from either side of the hotel; you either see the parking lot or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelczarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you taking the time to leave us a review. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were pleased with our amenities and location. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to The Villages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed in a 2 Queen Bed studio because that's all that was available for our dates. We are two adults and two children. They really shouldn't allow this type of room to be available for more than 3 people because it is QUITE cramped. The bathroom is TINY and there is absolutely no place to change unless you hide in the closet. If someone is using the toilet or shower, no one else can be in the small area by the sink because you get hit with the door if they come out. The bathroom doors are stained with brown splashes (blech). Someone left a dirty zip loc bag on the closet shelf and a jug of iced tea in the refrigerator and housekeeping left it behind. The mugs were stained with coffee rings. The air conditioning is so loud, you can't hear the television unless you blast it and the television programming is REALLY bad. There are not many choices at all and certainly nothing for children to watch. I would have to say this is the worst cable we have had at any hotel we have ever stayed at. The only reason to stay here is if you need a kitchenette, which we did. Breakfast is very limited as well. Found a spider in my bed too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Me T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly disappointed to hear about the unpleasant experience you had during your most recent stay. We always strive for excellence so your comments will be passed on to the appropriate departments so these matter can be addressed. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again so we may show you how we can exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lady Lake
2.7 mi away
The Waterfront Inn
The Waterfront Inn
#2 of 2 in The Villages
411 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
9.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Wildwood - The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites The Villages

Property: TownePlace Suites The Villages
Address: 1141 Alonzo Ave, Lady Lake, FL 32159-7724 (Formerly TownePlace Suites by Marriott The Villages, Lady Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Lady Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lady Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites The Villages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TownePlace Suites The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites The Villages Lady Lake Hotel Lady Lake
Towneplace Suites Lady Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing