We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property unclean and awakened by chainsaw at 8:15am”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites The Villages
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lady Lake
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Property unclean and awakened by chainsaw at 8:15am”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We picked this hotel because of it's location near a relative that lived in the villages. We had my 90 year old Dad with us thus the reason for an access able suite. My Dad was going to sleep on the sofa bed, when I opened the plastic bag for the linens it had a musty smell like it hadn't been freshened up in months. The pillow and cover also looked yellow. We didn't bother to complain because it was so late and my Dad just wanted to go to sleep.
At 8:15 the next morning we were awakened by the sound of a chain saw being used to trim palm trees right outside our windows. It sure was a rude awakening. We did mention this on check out but all they said was that it happens. Well it may happen for them but at least do it were there are no rooms. What a ridiculous statement. They also shut the continental breakfast at 9am sharp. I guess the old folks in The Villages get up real early and take early naps, just kidding. It just seemed a little early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We’re so sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and have shared it with our management team. We hope that you will give us the chance to regain your trust in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    29
    19
    12
See reviews for
66
78
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I made reservations here to see what "The Villages" were all about, and it turned out to be the best location for our objective. The Hotel is a block from the Spanish Springs Town Square which features entertainment and dancing nightly. Many restaurants, shops, and a movie theater are on or adjacent to the square. The staff was superb! Ruth checked us in, and Mary Ellen checked us out. Ruth and Mary Ellen were friendly and helpful, both obviously loving their work! The continental breakfast was nice and served well by the lady in charge! The Hotel is pretty, bright, and clean. Our room #127 was on the ground floor near the breakfast area, just as requested. The room/suite was excellent with a full kitchen, including dishes, utensils, etc., all clean! There was a nice desk & chair, couch, coffee table, and additional easy chair to complete the suite. Our only suggestion is to provide in the space already availble a piece of furniture/bench to stow suitcases on. This is a very sweet hotel close to "the action" served by staff such as Ruth, Mary Ellen, and the wonderful "Breakfast Lady." We will return and are looking forward to our next Marriott experience!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are delighted to here that our location within the Spanish Springs Town Square was perfect for your stay. We are also happy to hear that our stay was able to exceed your expectation both at the front desk in the in the breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to The Villages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We rented two rooms - one for our kids and one for us. "Suites" is a little misleading - they had nothing with two rooms for us and we couldn't even get adjoining rooms. The king room we had seemed like an afterthought - strangely shaped, tucked in by the telephone/cable closet with the furniture sort of crammed in. We stayed two days, and on the second day I noticed that the bathroom was not well cleaned - there were dirty footprints on the floor like wet dirt had not been washed, and the toilet had mildew in it. The room we had for our kids was much cleaner and more spacious. The breakfast was a nice selection and set-up, but should be available a little longer on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators! The room near the elevator was LOUD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for leaving us your feedback on your experience. Our goal is to provide each of our guests with the ultimate vacation experience and we will share your feedback with our management team in order to make the necessary improvements. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Property is in a great location, right on the original Square in The Villages (Spanish Springs). Despite music on the Square twice during our stay, and the room's location above the pool, we were never bothered by noise. Room had interesting layout with a large closet that opened into BOTH the entrance-way and the bathroom. I guess it provides more closet space but it was a bit odd. The shower faucet had a slight leak if it wasn't firmly turned off, and there was some mold on the bottom of the shower curtain. Air conditioning worked well without constant adjustment. Internet connection was a little wonky at times. Didn't really use kitchenette, except for refrigerator (full sized!), but was clean and well-stocked with utensils, flatware, etc.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was just mediocre. No proteins (except for boiled eggs) and limited variety of bagels, muffins, and other breads. They do have a waffle-maker however since this was the highlight of the breakfast, there was always a wait to use it. On the third (final) day of our stay, breakfast was a disaster with food not ready, no coffee, etc.

Would likely stay here again for a good rate, however there are other properties I would want to look at in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uncle_Gomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the amenities in our suites, but we’re sorry that we did not exceed your expectations in our breakfast. We value the opinion of our guests and are always looking to make improvements. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

2-1 to 2-8-13 had never seen a flea in our lives. Killed 3 tiny, round, black bugs in the bathroom. Husband broke out in red, itchy pimples on both his legs towards the end of our stay. Did not know what this was. In retrospect we feel that they were in the couch as that is where he always sat and I never did. At our next stop, where we were for 8 days and was pet-free, he ended up at Urgent Care where dr. diagnosed flea bites. Also drip pans on stove were grease filled. Found a pill and dust in the bathroom vanity drawer (do not know what the pill was). Chipped paint on large electric box on the wall. Refrigerator needed cleaning. Caulk needed replacing/regrouting in areas of the bathroom wall tiles. Although we had stayed here in 2011 for one week and had no problems, we will not stay here again. Not worth the discomfort, medical bill, pharmacy bill, and 2 1/2 wks. it took for his legs to clear up. There is a Comfort Inn and Suites close by and the Waterfront Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjbb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us at in February 2013 at the TownePlace Suites in The Villages, FL. Being that we are a pet friendly hotel, we follow a very rigorous cleaning process in any of our rooms that have had a pet stay in them prior to checking the next guest in. Both our Housekeeping and Engineering staff are trained to detect any signs of possible flea activity.

We do not hesitate to investigate any possible sign there may be of flea activity. When we do suspect there may be any flea activity, we call in an independently operated pest control company, Steritech. If the room is found to have an infestation upon their inspection, we immediately take the room out of order and quarantine it so it can be inspected for any flea activity. Any infected room is treated until the issue is resolved and not rented out until the room is flea or pest free. While this can be a costly process for the hotel, we spare no expense when it comes to the comfort and safety of our guests.

After your stay with us in February 2013, we conducted a thorough inspection of the room you occupied and found no signs of any flea or other pest activity in your room.

I am very sorry that your experience with us was less than you had hoped for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I had booked 4 rooms for a small group. Check in , rooms etc .was good. No problems. Breakfast was average, but watch out for the seniors..they'll run you over..it's like they don't have much time left. And, the hotel also has a robot with the same comments on all the reviews.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PETE9567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us at TownePlace Suites in The Villages, FL. We love reading all of our guest feedback. Hopefully you will stay with us again during your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

They screwed up my reservation (made over a month in advance), and didn't give me the correct type of room, which was quite inconvenient. They offered no reason why my reservation wasn't being honored. Then they promised to give me the requested 2-queen room as soon as one was possible, which never happened, though one did become available the next day. Then, on top of everything else, they hit my credit card TWICE. I left a voicemail message yesterday for the manager (who doesn't seem to be available whenever there is a need for her) and haven't heard back yet. I'm thoroughly disgusted with this hotel, and though I do come back to this area quite often, I will stay at the Comfort Inn - much better service!

Room Tip: Stay at the Comfort Inn around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseygal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites The Villages, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your most recent stay. Your comments are appreciated and I will pass them along to the appropriate departments so that we can make improvements. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again during your next visit to The Villages so we can have the opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lady Lake
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
2.7 mi away
The Waterfront Inn
The Waterfront Inn
#2 of 2 in The Villages
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites The Villages
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
9.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Wildwood - The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites The Villages

Property: TownePlace Suites The Villages
Address: 1141 Alonzo Ave, Lady Lake, FL 32159-7724 (Formerly TownePlace Suites by Marriott The Villages, Lady Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Lady Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lady Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites The Villages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TownePlace Suites The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites The Villages Lady Lake Hotel Lady Lake
Towneplace Suites Lady Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing