We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Texas Stockyards BBQ - CLOSED

Texas Stockyards BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,261 reviews
923 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Arrived at 11 a.m. on a weekday. Four others were in the venue of somewhat Spartan cowboy decor. As lunch time approached the room filled. This writer does not know why any but the unsuspecting would enter.

To be fair, the collards were great! That was the highest point of the experience.
A pulled pork sandwich was ordered. The big bun with a dusting of corn meal promised a substantial host for the very modest portion of juicy pulled pork. The flavor was thin. The two sauces provided, a mustard with an overwhelming vinegar flavor and the hot which was mostly just hot, did not kick anything up even one notch. The bun soon became a glob of dough. The pale iceberg lettuce salad was chilled. The BLT served on Texas style toast boasted more bread than anything.
The late check-back, "how was everything?", resulted in a dispute regarding the amount of meat on the pulled pork sandwich. The server countered that usually the portion is very big. It wasn't.
Prior to leaving, a trip to the facilities was desired. Without a knock the male manager barged into the women's rest room to, as he reported "check supplies".
This place is not one which seems in any manner worthy of a return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our fav bbq joint!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We love Texas Stockyards! Some of the best tea and brisket! Breakfast is top notch! We are lucky to always have great service as well. Oh and the portions are excellent!

Helpful?
Thank kgrant80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great brisket--poor service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have eaten several times and have concluded that I will only go here when I want excellent beef brisket. The other food isn't nearly as good as the brisket. (I haven't tried their ribs though) Also, the service always seems to be fair at best and usually poor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really good find!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We met friends for dinner here this evening without knowing anything about the restaurant. And what a really good find it was!!

Pam, our server, was quite attentive, without being a pest! And the food was outstanding!! The meats are certainly smoked to perfection. I had the pork loin stuffed with boudin, my friend had the sliced brisket, her husband had the "dry and spicy ribs" and my husband had the "sweet and wet ribs." There was enough food for us to bring home, and my husband said the collard greens were the best he has ever had! The portions were generous, the food was outstanding, the service was good, the atmosphere was calm, and the prices were quite reasonable. Yep, this was quite a discovery! And we will certainly be back!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was fine, service UNSATISFACTROY”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times but today will be my last. There is only one server that works and that is Brian. The girls stand around and talk, even the hostess is not available to seat you. The prices are much higher than the near by Oakwood BBQ. I asked three different people for a coffee refill and they either ignored me or said Brian would be back and take care of me. I went to the back and there stood all the girls talking and laughing. What makes it even worse the girls would be in a hurry to run to the tables and pick up tips when customers left. After pickin up the tip the dark hair young girl(pony tail) yelled across the restaurant for Brian to help her bus the table. She had done nothing in the 30 minutes I sat there and Brian was trying handle all the table. This place will fold if Brian ever leaves. I have several friends I asked about Texas Stockyards and they all have said they liked it at first but now the service is rotten and they will not return. In my opinion Brian would be much better off looking for a server job at a restaurant where is dedication would be appreciated and not taken advantage of over and over. I dont know if the girls are owner related but they are ruining the business. What makes it worse there never seems to be any management personnel there overseeing the operation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveteerosgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Stockyards BBQ also viewed

 
Lady Lake, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing