We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great vacation condos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polynesian Isles Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Polynesian Isles Resort
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
washington state
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great vacation condos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in November as an anniversary trip to Orlando. We were very pleased with this condo! This was our 5th time in Orlando (technically kissimmee) and this has been our favorite place to stay thus far.. we used to stay in regular hotel rooms.. but with condos you get most of the luxuries of a hotel but so much more space. I'd say the only down side to staying in a condo is you don't get maid service each day but that's ok! we stayed two weeks so we did get maid service once during our stay.

the condo has every thing you need! Big refrigerator, stove, microwave, pots, pans, glasses, silverware, plates bowl, cookie sheets, etc. being able to make some meals during our stay saved lots of money!

The pools were nice and clean, the hot tub was nice except the depth of of it was kinda weird it was sort of hard to sit comfortably in it to relax. but that was ok because there is always the nice big jetted tub in the master bathroom of your room! which we made use of every day! the bathrooms are gorgeous in this place, granite counter tops, separate shower and tub. there is a convenient washer and dryer right outside the room that you share with one other room. but during our stay we were the only ones who used it and it's full size which means you can pack light and rewash! it was also nice to wash all our clothes there pack them clean before flying home and just be able to get home and unpack CLEAN clothes instead of having a mountain of laundry to do

It is so spacious you could sleep 6 people in this place.. we actually had soem friends come stay one night with us and the front desk was totally fine with us.. since we weren't using the other room they had their own privacy and bathroom! they were so impressed that after leaving the switched their reservations at disney resort hotel to stay here instead for an upcoming vacation they were going to be having the following month. you can't beat the value and price! everything is up kept well and clean... very close to irlo bronson which is a main street and they have every restaurant you could ever imagine on that street. we went to cracker barrel, macaroni grill, perkins, etc . there are lots of gift shops to bring back souvenirs from friends and family and it's much cheaper then buying inside the parks. It's really close to a cute little attraction called old town it's free to get in and theirs rides and shops and restaurants to eat at inside. Not to far from Disney and not to far from universal either! prior visits we've stayed over by seaworld off of I drive which is a nice area as well but I would still rather stay here just because it's so close to everything and theres more dining options right in the immediate area.. We've also stayed at orbit one vacation villas which are similar condos and we liked these just a smidgen more! I would stay at either or depending on who had he best deal at the time.

the front desk lady signed us up for "time share tour" she wasnt pesky about it but did follow up to make sure we did it ;) and we did and it was totally worth the $100! I'd do it again in a heart beat. I probably wouldn't if our time was limited but we had two weeks... so we figured why not waste a morning/afternoon and make $100! lol

things you will need to bring:
shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body wash
Laundry soap and fabric softener

trash bags, dish soap and dishwasher detergent is supplied

I'm sure I'm leaving out lots of other little details but basically this is a great find and I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it! :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank marialovesmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    230
    42
    16
    12
See reviews for
487
167
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in the Polynesian Isles Resort for five nights in June and had a great experience. A pleasant surprise was that now the office opens 24 hours a day instead of closing at 8:00 PM.

Room: We had a two-bedroom apartment in Building 10; it was clean and spacious. The furnishing was not luxurious but adequate. The master bedroom has a huge bath with soaking tub and separate shower – the best part of the apartment. The resort was very quiet at night, and from Building 10 I could not hear any traffic from the nearby highway. The full kitchen was great for families. The only drawback was that the WIFI signal from Building 10 was weak. We asked for a WIFI booster; but without a laptop there is no place to plug into the wall, so we could not use it. Another family in our party stayed two doors way; they indicated that the WIFI signal was good from their laptop. The WIFI signal at the office was great. There is an in-room safe (with a physical key) which requires $100 deposit in case you lose the key.

Resort: The resort is now part of Diamond Resorts. It has 13 buildings; 1 through 6 (aka “Phase I”) are surrounding the office and the main pool, while 7 through 13 (aka “Phase IV”) are newer buildings surrounding a second pool. Another family in our party located in Building 2 seemed to have an even bigger apartment but the furnishing may be older. There are nice walk ways between buildings and the landscape was nicely maintained, with multiple hot-tubs located along the path. The entire resort staff, from security team to office personnel, was very accommodating and pleasant and responded to guest requests in timely manner.

Area: The resort is 10-15 minute drive from Disney. There are many restaurants nearby on Rte 192. (Ruby Tuesday near the resort is very slow in service) There is a Publix supermarket a couple of miles to the east and a Super-Walmart within a mile to the north. There is even an oriental supermarket about a mile away on Rte 192. We love the convenient location, value, and the resort and will definitely consider staying here again.

Note: The apartment is cleaned weekly by default. You need to take out trash and load the dishwasher before checking out. There is no towel at the pool so bring your own. The front desk was very nice to provide us additional towel when requested.

Room Tip: Rooms in Buildings 1-6 may have better WIFI signals and may be bigger. Buildings 7-13 may have newe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have always stayed on Disney property previously when visiting Orlando, but decided to opt for more space, and the ability to leave the mouse behind at the end of the day -- and what a great decision that proved to be! Polynesian Isles is a Diamond Resorts property (i.e.- timeshare for sale), but there was essentially no pressure on this issue. I didn't realize this when I booked, but upon check-in, the shuffled me over to "check-in" with the concierge, who tells you about shows, offers your tickets, deals, etc., then tries to get you scheduled for an "open house" (timeshare for sales pitch.) I told her that my schedule in Orlando was already fully booked and that I really could not fit it in - which was completely honest. I was not asked about it again, and they did not pressure me in any way.

As for the property, we LOVED it (to the point that I might have actually been interested in the sales pitch!) It is located about 2 miles (3 stoplights, 0 freeways) from the WDW property, with easy access to Sea World and Universal as well. Walmart is right down the street, and just about every restaurant you can think of is within 2 miles. Rooms are essentially spacious apartments (ours was 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen, dining, private balcony, shared washer and dryer with 1 adjacent unit but no charge to use.) Facility is probably 20-30 years old, but refurbished, very clean, well maintained, with a lot of upgrades (granite counters, oversized tile shower with glass door, large jacuzzi tub, etc.) Kitchen is well stocked with everything necessary except the food. Pools (2 of them) are reasonably large, very clean, warm, and nice. They also have tennis, putting area, shuffleboard, and a lot of other activities available.

It was so nice to have EASY access to Disney, but the ability to retreat back to this peaceful getaway as well. We came back in the late afternoons to swim, eat, refresh, before returning to the parks at night, and this was a terrific way to tackle Disney. We have stayed at the Contemporary Resort before (monorail service in the hotel, walking distance to Magic Kingdom,) which is hard to beat for convenience, but we actually thought is was easier to come and go from this place, and took less time. We will definitely return on our next trip!

Room Tip: It is laid out like an apartment complex, so all are good rooms. Buildings 7-10 are near the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopofTXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

What have I been thinking? For years we would stay in a hotel room with two beds and one toilet. Then I come across the Polynesian Isles Resort and think -this is too good to be true. Two bedrooms/bathrooms, full kitchen and living area for the price of a hotel room. The accommodations are phenomenal! The apartment is beautiful and inviting. It looks just like the pictures. The Master suite is spacious and the master bath is lovely. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. It is in close proximity to almost EVERYTHING! Everyone we encountered was extremely welcoming and helpful. Always with a smile to give. We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tharisicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed for 7 days in June 2013. Great place, customer service reps was very nice. I've been vacationing in FL for 6 years, 1st time I stayed at a place that has a security check-in; made me feel very safe The resort was very clean, nice and comforting. I would recommend anyone to stay at this resort. Important....VERY clean beds! Close to Disney & Sea World. Easy access to freeways.

Room Tip: Top floor seems better, you can look outside and see pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I book this hotel on Hotels.com thinking it was the resort, Polynesian, on Disney property. Unfortunately when we went to check in to The Polynesian, we were told there was no reservation. Upon looking at my confirmation did I realize that I booked "The Polynesian Isles Resort". I was only looking for a hotel for one night that had a nice pool, bar and restaurant. This location did not have what I was looking for.

However, it did have, apartment-style living, full kitchen, dining room, living room, king-size bed, two bathrooms, screened-in porch, and washer/dryer. There were two pools on property as well as basketball courts, shuffle board, pool table, free-wifi, and computers in rec room. Great amenities if you are a family (they do offer two-bedrooms) and willing to cook or go out to eat at several local restaurants. They are conveniently located in between US 192 W. and 535. There was no bar/restaurant on property. Staff was very accommodating and beds very comfortable. If I was looking for a hotel like this it would have been awesome, but I wasn't. I would recommend it highly for someone that is looking for this type of accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yaya0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

When we booked this hotel we were in doubt between Fantasy World Club villas and this resort. We had a good experience a year ago in the Fantasy club villas. Its a bit more expensive than the polynesian. Because of the price difference and the better trip advisor rating of the polynesian resort we chose to book it.

From the first moment on where you enter the resort you are greeted with the friendliness of the staff. Check in was fast however they force you to listen to a sales pitch about their timeshare, which I think is a bit pushy.

After check in we got to our rooms which are basically still the same as you can see on the traveller pictures. So they can use an update as it comes across as a bit 90's. However the bathroom seemed to be updated more recent. We had the two bedroom unit. The master bathroom was very spacious and it even had a jacuzi. The living area was ok. The kitchen was fully equiped just like you would expect. The only drawback of the room was that the washer and dryer were outside of the room. They were next door which could be accessed with your room key. You have to share it with your neighboors. This is not clearly mentioned on their website or at least I didn't find it on the accomondations page.

Also if you are with eldery people or people who have difficulty walking or only females like us. You need to ask for a room on the ground floor as there are no elevators. We needed to carry all our suitcases and bags 6 stairs up and of course down again.

So if we have to choose again next time we would go for the fantasy world club villas just because the value for money is somewhat similar and you do have your own wash/dryer inside the unit and all the units are groundlevel for easy access.
But overall the Polynesian resort is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor is less noisy as the floor seeme to be sound absorbing Higher floor means more stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberleyevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Isles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Isles Resort

Property: Polynesian Isles Resort
Address: 3045 Polynesian Isles Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746-4702
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Isles Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Polynesian Isles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Polynesian Isles Kissimmee
Sunterra Resort Polynesian Isle
Sunterra Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Isles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing