We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of the Kissimmee culinary wasteland”

Jerusalem Middle East Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 793 Restaurants in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An oasis in the middle of the Kissimmee culinary wasteland”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

You don't exactly go to Kissimmee to eat quality food. This stretch of road is such a barren culinary wasteland that you might even think about eating at Olive Garden. Well, don't worry, you can eat here at Jerusalem Middle East Restaurant instead. The food is tasty, selection is good, prices are reasonable, staff are friendly, decor and ambiance are nice. We ordered take out and it was ready promptly.

Everyone loved the food. Don't miss out on the fantastic fava bean dip. My only complaint was that the falafels were a bit overcooked, but everything else was delicious. The middle eastern store connected to the restaurant has some very nice desserts as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    73
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Maybe an off day”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

After reading the reviews, 4 of us went out of our way to find the Jerusalem Restaurant. We ordered 4 different meals: Gyro Lunch, Chicken Shawarma Lunch, Veggie Platter, and Shish Tawook Lunch. Average at best. Service was slow with meals being delivered warm not hot. Lack of seasoning on the chicken dishes and the veggie platter had way too much lemon on it. The hummus and tzatziki sauce were some of the best I've had and the rice was good. Sure would have been nice to have some pita bread with it. Waiter never returned to refill drinks and had to find him to get the check. So... just an off day?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRoOntheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
659 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Good for Middle Eastern Style Meat”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've been to Kissimmee for seminars, each for a week in January, the last two years and I've eaten at Jerusalem three or four times (for lunch and dinner). During that period I also ate at King O' Falafel, another Middle Eastern restaurant, about seven or eight times. For freshness, friendliness of staff, salads, hummus, falafel sandwiches, King O' Falafel is much better. For meat, Jerusalem is the place to go. This last trip I had a very nice plate of sauteed chicken livers, lamb shanks and lamb chops. The chicken livers were cooked nicely and there was a lot of it. The lamb shanks were nice and big, cooked well and probably my favorite food item I ate that week in Kissimmee. The lamb chops were a little over-cooked and small, but I enjoyed them. The service is slow, the place is dark and the staff is not particularly friendly. The salad and hummus was not as good or fresh and the dressings were not as good or well presented.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't wear shorts”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Large portions! Dress appropriately or have the opportunity of sitting in the corner. I didn't know dress code and walked in with shorts. I guess this is a no-no. Lesson learned. Lamb kabobs were great along with the sample platter appetizer. No alcohol served.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanSaracco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
385 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good and different felafel”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We decided to eat here because of a 10% coupon. They do not accept the coupon for lunch. We both had felafel in pita. It had a slightly different taste than what we were used to, but they tasted very good. My wife had lentil soup which she said tasted very good. I had salad with house dressing made of balsamic vinegar, oil and lemon. Nice flavor. Sodaalso came with lunch.
Nice place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cflum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerusalem Middle East Restaurant also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Jerusalem Middle East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing