We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay ... With Some Minor Gripes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palms Hotel and Villas
Ranked #88 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Annapolis, MD
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Stay ... With Some Minor Gripes”
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The stay was in the villas, which are an apartment-style accommodation.

I've got a few complaints, but let me say first of all that the rooms were clean, the grounds well-kept, everything worked, front desk attendants were friendly, and the breakfast was better than expected. Now the complaints:
1. The wireless internet was very definitely available ONLY in the lobby, and that was a weak signal at best.
2. Could it kill the hotel to have yellow pages in each room? The hotel has no restaurant and there are no adjacent restaurants. I don't know what it is that they don't want guests to know by keeping phone books out of the guest rooms.
3. Keep in mind that the Guest Relations desk is not like a concierge. It only seems to be there to help guests buy Disney tickets, and is fairly useless for anything more.
4. The hotel was not even close to capacity while I was there, but the timing of housekeeping services was completely unpredictable. On one particular day when we wanted the room serviced, we got back at 1:30 and learned that no one had been there. Being tired, I took a nap and put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. Later that afternoon, housekeeping had left a note stating that they had tried to service the room twice - once in the AM and once about 3 PM - and that the "do not disturb" sign was on the door all day. That was a complete lie as the room was fully available in the morning! This incident marred what had been a good and trouble-free 5-day stay.

I would say that the breakfast is much more than juice, coffee, and day-old donuts. We actually sort of looked forward to breakfast each day (though it was the same thing each day, guess it might get old a week in).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chowowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOSinNC, General Manager at The Palms Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments. We do appreciate your recognition of our commitment to your comfort by your kind words for our pools and on the selection of our breakfast items.

We also are pleased that you mentioned our close proximity to the Disney resorts, and our large suites with full kitchens.

I am sorry that some items were not in replenished or property stocked your room. We encourage guests to contact any member of our staff, or hotel management during your stay should you need additional amenities or if we overlooked anything. The Palms Hotel & Villas has housekeeping team members on site from 7AM to 11PM daily so even late evening requests can be handled, and additional supplies are maintained at the front desk 24/7.

Again, thank you for the comments that you have shared with us and fellow guests. We value and appreciate you continued patronage. Your feedback is invaluable in meeting and exceeding your expectations, and those of our future guests.

Sincerely,
Wade Michael, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    134
    89
    48
    82
See reviews for
306
78
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights on our Disney trip in a one bedroom suite. Our room opened up to the pool/jacuzzi...noise from the pool was never an issue. The main building with a great continental breakfast was a few paces away. Service was great. Real close to Disney.

The worst part of the stay was that the ceiling to the second story was paper thin. You could hear everything that people above were doing. If you do stay, request the second floor and be considerate of those below you. If you book a non-suite room you are going to be stuck in the old building. Just get a suite, its worth it. In room wifi would have been nice, but I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtournay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOSinNC, General Manager at The Palms Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments. We do appreciate your recognition of our commitment to your comfort by your kind words for the great service your received and the great value that our Hotel and Villas do offer.

We also are pleased that you were more than pleased with our continental breakfast, and noted our close proximity to the Disney resort area.

I am sorry that you stay was not 100% to your satisfaction due to the noise from the occupants of the room above yours. We will certainly keep your comments in mind in our future renovation endeavors to see what can be done to correct this flaw. I am glad to report that we do have plans to extend our internet service to the suites in the very near future

I can assure you that we do not have an “old building.” Possibly, the building that you are referring to simply has a different style of guestrooms, rooms that resemble a hotel room as opposed to the suite style accommodation that you enjoyed. The rooms in this building are in as good as shape as the suite that you enjoyed and are subject to the regular inspections and mystery shopping to assess our quality in order for us to maintain our prestigious Official Walt Disney World Good Neighbor Hotel designation.

Again, thank you for the comments that you have shared with us and fellow guests. We value and appreciate your patronage. Your feedback is invaluable in meeting and exceeding your expectations, and those of our future guests.

Sincerely,
Wade D. Michael, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Stayed here before.Huge improvements to Palms. Great Location. Very reasonable prices. So close to Disney. New Management company. Lovely staff. Clean rooms
Great Value all round.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOSinNC, General Manager at The Palms Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your gracious comments.

The Palms Hotel and Villas indeed has come under new management in April, and we are committed to ensuring our guests the finest service, hospitality, and accommodations in the Kissimmee /Disney resort area. Your recognition for the work we have started is truly rewarding…and appreciated.

I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again to see the additional improvements that we have started and are planning for the future.

Again, thank you for the comments that you have shared with us and fellow guests. We value and appreciate your patronage.

Sincerely,
Wade D. Michael, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Kissimmee/Celebration
0.7 mi away
Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration
3.3 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#7 of 152 in Kissimmee
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#27 of 152 in Kissimmee
743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Maingate
Rodeway Inn Maingate
#53 of 152 in Kissimmee
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel and Villas

Property: The Palms Hotel and Villas
Address: 3100 Parkway Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747-4526
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an Walt Disney World Good Neighbor(R) Hotel, The Palms Hotel & Villas wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The Palms Hotel and Villas offers great accommodations, where you will have everything you could possibly need during your stay. With 125 condominium style one and two bedroom suites, our hotel is the perfect fit for everyone's sleeping needs.Relax and unwind by our large crystal clear swimming pool, whirlpool, children's pool, sun deck, basketball court, game room, beautiful gazebo areas with picnic tables and gas grills. Wireless internet is available in all rooms. Deluxe Continental Breakfast and Scheduled Shuttle Service to Walt Disney World(R) Resort. These are just a few of the many features that will make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palms Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Kissimmee
The Palms Hotel
Palms Hotel Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing