We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Environment , Courteous and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Ranked #100 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A nice impression of the property situated in a friendlyenvironment and residents.Staff and attendant,especially Nicholas was very accommodating and helpful.Cleaning staff helpful and trustworthy and polite.Availability of hot and cold water and basic amenities made our stay comfortable. Availability of shuttle service to the main tourist attractions of Disneyworld made things so easy for us.Finally,taxi service offered to us present on standby at the hotel did not make us worry too much about going to the airport,provided by AJ of Discovery USA Tours.
Overall,our stay was pleasant and enjoyable and worth every vacation time we spent as a couple.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1917bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear 1917bert: We are certainly happy to see you had a nice time during your stay with us. Thank you for the mentions of those whom made your stay great... it is much appreciated! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 2,591 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, United Kingdom
13
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We chose this as it was the 1st on the list low to high price, and thought it would do as we only needed somewhere to lay our head. How good a hotel, spotlessly clean, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer wonderful. Location was very good for Disney parks and shops and food on the doorstep. Will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest: We sincerely appreciate your review and thank you for staying with us! Your comments do not go unnoticed and are shared with the staff. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It had been in our heads for a long time that we were going to spend our holiday in Orlando and so we chose Maingate Lakeside Resort as it certainly looked appealing. What we needed was somewhere cheap and somewhere that can be a good base for us whilst we recover from walking around all the themeparks. We chose this hotel compared to others on two 'main' reasons: free wifi in all rooms and 'the free scheduled transport' that went to all parks. As it was, we found out that there was no wifi in our rooms and instead it was only in the lobby. A tad misleading to say the least but fine.

But even more misleading was that the transport was not regular and it did not even go to all the parks as it said it did. Maybe we should have checked this before booking but if something says 'free scheduled transport' you hope that it is at least regular. Nope. Here were the times:

Magic Kingdom:
Shuttle departs - 10:55am and 12:15pm (quite later departures really especially for Disney's main park and for people who want to make the most of the holiday, you don't want to have a lie in)
Shuttle returns: 8.00pm and 10.30pm (these times might be fine if you just want to head home quickly and get some sleep but the Magic Kingdom is known for its night time parade and fireworks which occur within these hours so you'd have to be really quick just to get your shuttle home)

Epcot:
Shuttle departs - 9.50am and 12.15pm (again later departures and it's not like these themeparks were 5 minutes away, no, it's another 20-30 minutes on top of that before even getting into the parks themselves)
Shuttle returns - 12.40pm, 8.15pm and 9.30pm (again the fireworks just finishes at 9.30 in Epcot so it is a massive struggle to get back in time to get that connection - always failed in our case)

Universal and SeaWorld:
Shuttle departs - 7.35am (we had no trouble with this as we got there early and allowed us plenty of time to get ready and be the first people inside the park just wish the other parks could be the same)
Shuttle returns - 6.15pm Universal, 6.00pm (no problems with these times just because by the end, having got up so early, you are done by this time anyway)

But as you've noticed there are some parks missing: Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, Blizzard Beach, Typhoon Lagoon. The long way would be get to Epcot then get a Disney bus to a Disney hotel and get that bus to those themeparks but as we've said, very long so we had to taxi.

In the end, we spent more time in taxis which were quite expensive in the grand scheme of things. $25 dollars each way so a return came to $50 plus tip of course and for that money, if known, we would have put it towards a Disney hotel with at least transport with Disney buses is assured and regular.

Even more so, water started coming through the light of our bathroom. Pretty unsafe. I rang up reception who said that (and this is gone 2 in the morning) whether we'd like to change rooms (at this time?!) we said no but thought we ought to tell them and they said some maintenance person would be out to sort it out. The next day no person had come out or if they had, they hadn't done anything as it did it again. At this point we just left it and hoped when we used turned the light on, we didn't get electrocuted.

The plus sides, we loved the Pizza Hut in the hotel and the breakfast buffet and could not fault the cleaning of our rooms even when we were a little messy. In summary it was not what we expected and not what was outlined to us when we first chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Tom B: Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We take your comments seriously. We do offer scheduled theme park transportation to the theme parks as you mentioned in your review. It is not a continuous back and forth shuttle, however it is complimentary and the times do change depending on each month. We appreciate your comments and can understand why you may be less than satisfied with the wifi that we currently have in our lobby... we are in the process of having the wifi installed throughout the entire resort in the next few weeks. Thank you and we do hope you may give us a second chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great stay and very helpfull and wecoming staff, been coming to maingate from England for few years and each time
Service just as good, already booked again in september and looking forward the good stay at maingate and Orllando

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Phillip1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Phillip1914: Our staff appreciates your nice comments and we thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next stay in September (a perfect month to visit - not too hot and not too crowded)! Thank you again from your extended family at the Maingate Lakeside Resort...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed here several times and really enjoy it. The price is good and the rooms are clean. The biggest factor in our staying here is the staff, they are AMAZING. If you are looking for nice fmaily style hotel close to food and shops while at Disney I highly suggest this hotel. They are outside entry rooms and the hallways could use a little TLC but do not let that keep you from visiting. There are many hotels along this strip and we have tried most but we found a favorite in the maingate Lakeside resort.

PS. There is a back entrance to Disney most people do not know about :)

Have a magical time!

LW

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Lisa W: We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and thank you for your review. We know there are many options to select from in the Orlando/Kissimmee area and we are happy you selected to stay with us! Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good hotel in good location for the price (less than $40/night), although the $10 resort fee is just a cash grab in return for nothing. If you don't plan on staying in your room much and want to be close to Disney then this is an OK option. I was traveling alone on business so it was fine but not sure I would I would bring my family here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 16, 2013

Dear oai: Thank you for reviewing your stay. We appreciate your comments and do take them seriously. Our resort fee is for the hotel's amenities, such as: theme park shuttle service, kids eat free program, in-room safe, basketball, on-site mini-golf, etc... We apologize if we fell short in any way of your expectations and are continuously making improvements to our facilities. Thank you and we do hope you may decide to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've stayed here twice now and think it is the perfect value hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious, pool area is attractive, and the breakfast buffet is fabulous for the price. Disney is just a couple of miles away, and there are plenty of dining options nearby. While the area lacks the hustle and bustle of International Drive, it is the perfect place for a weekend getaway to the theme parks and for those who are looking for an inexpensive quality hotel option.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Endermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Endermom: Thank you so much for staying with us! We realize there are many selections of hotels to select from and we are happy you stayed with us. Please do come back and visit us again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
2.3 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#33 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,186 reviews
5.1 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#91 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#30 of 154 in Kissimmee
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#22 of 154 in Kissimmee
629 reviews
1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Resort & Conference Center Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Address: 7769 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: $44 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing