We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It had been in our heads for a long time that we were going to spend our holiday in Orlando and so we chose Maingate Lakeside Resort as it certainly looked appealing. What we needed was somewhere cheap and somewhere that can be a good base for us whilst we recover from walking around all the themeparks. We chose this hotel compared to others on two 'main' reasons: free wifi in all rooms and 'the free scheduled transport' that went to all parks. As it was, we found out that there was no wifi in our rooms and instead it was only in the lobby. A tad misleading to say the least but fine.

But even more misleading was that the transport was not regular and it did not even go to all the parks as it said it did. Maybe we should have checked this before booking but if something says 'free scheduled transport' you hope that it is at least regular. Nope. Here were the times:

Magic Kingdom:
Shuttle departs - 10:55am and 12:15pm (quite later departures really especially for Disney's main park and for people who want to make the most of the holiday, you don't want to have a lie in)
Shuttle returns: 8.00pm and 10.30pm (these times might be fine if you just want to head home quickly and get some sleep but the Magic Kingdom is known for its night time parade and fireworks which occur within these hours so you'd have to be really quick just to get your shuttle home)

Epcot:
Shuttle departs - 9.50am and 12.15pm (again later departures and it's not like these themeparks were 5 minutes away, no, it's another 20-30 minutes on top of that before even getting into the parks themselves)
Shuttle returns - 12.40pm, 8.15pm and 9.30pm (again the fireworks just finishes at 9.30 in Epcot so it is a massive struggle to get back in time to get that connection - always failed in our case)

Universal and SeaWorld:
Shuttle departs - 7.35am (we had no trouble with this as we got there early and allowed us plenty of time to get ready and be the first people inside the park just wish the other parks could be the same)
Shuttle returns - 6.15pm Universal, 6.00pm (no problems with these times just because by the end, having got up so early, you are done by this time anyway)

But as you've noticed there are some parks missing: Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, Blizzard Beach, Typhoon Lagoon. The long way would be get to Epcot then get a Disney bus to a Disney hotel and get that bus to those themeparks but as we've said, very long so we had to taxi.

In the end, we spent more time in taxis which were quite expensive in the grand scheme of things. $25 dollars each way so a return came to $50 plus tip of course and for that money, if known, we would have put it towards a Disney hotel with at least transport with Disney buses is assured and regular.

Even more so, water started coming through the light of our bathroom. Pretty unsafe. I rang up reception who said that (and this is gone 2 in the morning) whether we'd like to change rooms (at this time?!) we said no but thought we ought to tell them and they said some maintenance person would be out to sort it out. The next day no person had come out or if they had, they hadn't done anything as it did it again. At this point we just left it and hoped when we used turned the light on, we didn't get electrocuted.

The plus sides, we loved the Pizza Hut in the hotel and the breakfast buffet and could not fault the cleaning of our rooms even when we were a little messy. In summary it was not what we expected and not what was outlined to us when we first chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Tom B: Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We take your comments seriously. We do offer scheduled theme park transportation to the theme parks as you mentioned in your review. It is not a continuous back and forth shuttle, however it is complimentary and the times do change depending on each month. We appreciate your comments and can understand why you may be less than satisfied with the wifi that we currently have in our lobby... we are in the process of having the wifi installed throughout the entire resort in the next few weeks. Thank you and we do hope you may give us a second chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great stay and very helpfull and wecoming staff, been coming to maingate from England for few years and each time
Service just as good, already booked again in september and looking forward the good stay at maingate and Orllando

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Phillip1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Phillip1914: Our staff appreciates your nice comments and we thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next stay in September (a perfect month to visit - not too hot and not too crowded)! Thank you again from your extended family at the Maingate Lakeside Resort...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed here several times and really enjoy it. The price is good and the rooms are clean. The biggest factor in our staying here is the staff, they are AMAZING. If you are looking for nice fmaily style hotel close to food and shops while at Disney I highly suggest this hotel. They are outside entry rooms and the hallways could use a little TLC but do not let that keep you from visiting. There are many hotels along this strip and we have tried most but we found a favorite in the maingate Lakeside resort.

PS. There is a back entrance to Disney most people do not know about :)

Have a magical time!

LW

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Lisa W: We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and thank you for your review. We know there are many options to select from in the Orlando/Kissimmee area and we are happy you selected to stay with us! Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good hotel in good location for the price (less than $40/night), although the $10 resort fee is just a cash grab in return for nothing. If you don't plan on staying in your room much and want to be close to Disney then this is an OK option. I was traveling alone on business so it was fine but not sure I would I would bring my family here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 16, 2013

Dear oai: Thank you for reviewing your stay. We appreciate your comments and do take them seriously. Our resort fee is for the hotel's amenities, such as: theme park shuttle service, kids eat free program, in-room safe, basketball, on-site mini-golf, etc... We apologize if we fell short in any way of your expectations and are continuously making improvements to our facilities. Thank you and we do hope you may decide to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've stayed here twice now and think it is the perfect value hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious, pool area is attractive, and the breakfast buffet is fabulous for the price. Disney is just a couple of miles away, and there are plenty of dining options nearby. While the area lacks the hustle and bustle of International Drive, it is the perfect place for a weekend getaway to the theme parks and for those who are looking for an inexpensive quality hotel option.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Endermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Endermom: Thank you so much for staying with us! We realize there are many selections of hotels to select from and we are happy you stayed with us. Please do come back and visit us again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We came here for a weekend get away. We had an amazing time here. The barman David was incredible. He is friendly and very helpful. Went above and beyond for us. We would come back again just to hang with him.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOEYJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear JOEYJAM: Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review! Glad to see you had a nice time with us! Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I must admit that this, my third review visit, found the room much cleaner and the motel (it's not a resort) quieter. However, customer service here is still terrible!

First, upon check-in, you are charged $10 now, per night, for the comically-named "Resort Fee". They raised the price from $7.50, yet took away in-room Internet access! Yes...that's right...you pay $10 per night for access to the Internet ONLY in the lobby! There is a Wendy's adjacent that has much faster, free access! Also, your $10 includes numerous voicemails reminding you that you have not visited the Wyndham "Timeshare" coupon desk. However, you do get that "Disney Transportation" that nobody really uses, unless they are from abroad.

I wish I could give it a 1 1/2 rating this time (just to be fair), but it's still a place that preys on first-timers or hotel discounters. Nobody would choose the motel twice at their "rack-rate", but the value as a Travelocity "Top-Secret" or a Priceline "Name-Your Price" is worth it for a night or two. I think Travelocity is being very generous by giving it a three-star rating...and Priceline probably considers it 5-Star LOL. It certainly doesn't match up to the quality that was there when it was a Best Western, but it has improve over the last year. Oh, and the mini golf is gone, too. But you still get timeshare invitations...over, and over, and over...

Room Tip: It's hit and miss. I've stayed here many times over 20 years, and I've had nice room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Jake E: We would like to apologize for any inconveniences encountered. The hotel does charge a nightly resort fee, as listed on the internet sites, that covers the hotel amenities, such as: mini-golf, basketball, 3 pools & 2 kiddie pools, kids eat free program, theme park shuttles, hotel parking, local phone calls, in-room safe, etc... We are currently in the process of installing wifi for all of our guestrooms... we currently have wifi in the lobby area as you mentioned. The Wyndham desk in the lobby does offer promotional discounted tickets as well as standard price tickets without promotion for the guests to choose from. Thank you and we do hope you may give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
5.1 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#92 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,725 reviews
2.3 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#33 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Resort & Conference Center Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#39 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,663 reviews
7.6 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#19 of 154 in Kissimmee
614 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites East Gate Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Address: 7769 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1727
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: $35 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing