We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Nearby Hotels
Galleria Palms Hotel(Kissimmee)(Great Value!)
$92
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Suites Maingate(Kissimmee)(Great Value!)
$97
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Celebration Suites(Kissimmee)(Great Value!)
$109
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Star Island Resort and Club(Kissimmee)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites(Kissimmee)(Great Value!)
$135
$119
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liki Tiki Village(Kissimmee)(Great Value!)
$107
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$373
$205
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$385
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,671)
Filter reviews
2,671 results
Traveler rating
396
866
564
345
500
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
866
564
345
500
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizza hutbreakfast buffetdisney parksmini golfred lobsterkids eat freegolden corralbusch gardenscoffee machineanimal kingdomshuttle bustwo double bedsfresh towelsminute drivewalgreenspoolsorlando
Filter
Updating list...
1,155 - 1,160 of 2,671 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got this using our airmails and it worked out very good value for money. We stayed for 7 nights originally then extended our stay for another 6 nights as we wanted to see some more attractions.

NOTE: Do not let the name deceive you - its not on the MAINGATE, although very close to the parks (about 3-4 miles) it is not on the doorstep as you might think.

It is close to various shops and there is a walgreens across the parking lot. This is more expensive and more limited than the publix 1 mile down the road but you are paying for the convenience.

The food staff were very nice and friendly. We got the pizza at the Pizza hut express one night, it was nice. We didn't have breakfast as there was a fridge in our room so got our own.

One of the reception staff was quite rude when we asked about wifi. We were lead to believe that it was available in every room (the in room pamplet even states it is!). It was not. We were rudely informed that it would not be available nor did it look like it ever would be. The staff member in question certainly needs to work on her customer service skills, apart from our experience with her, the other staff members were nice. We were disappointed about the wi-fi as this was the main reason we book the hotel as we required the Internet to work. The Internet was only available in the lobby (NOT IDEAL).

For what it is (and for what it cost), its good value. If you are staying in kissimess, you are likely to be doing the theme parks so will be out early most mornings and back late. For a safe, clean place to come back to, its perfectly ok.

The housekeeping were great and came everyday with fresh towels and replenished the coffee. The room itself was ok (although the beds were a little on the small side NB we are normal sized people). The bathroom had a bath and a shower and was perfectly acceptable (a little rusty in places). Most general areas are clean.

They offer a bus service to the various theme parks, it was a complementary bus (they do drop big hints at leaving a $1 or $2 tip which is more than reasonable) - get there early though as sometimes they left a little before their scheduled time. I would recommend using this service as it costs $15 to park at each themed park per day.

We used the laundrette once, you need to exchange cash for tokens. It was reasonable priced.

We didn't stay with children, but there seemed to be lots for them to do including a swimming pool and golf (I think there was also a games room). But who needs all that when Disney is down the road?

Room includes, TV (bit rubbish), Hair dryer, Fridge, Air con, Shower bath, two double (small beds), iron, wardrobe, soap/shampoo, towels, table and 2 chairs (meant we could have breakfast on a budget in our room before going out)

NOTE: Ask for a room on the lakeside or upstairs, we were downstairs facing the parking lot which meant a lot of noise from excited tourists up early/back late.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkcamelno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear pinkcamelno9: Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and take them seriously. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences encountered such as the wifi. We take pride in our customer service and it troubles us to see you received less than satisfactory customer service from an associate... Please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Operations so I may discuss your stay with you. Thank you and we certainly hope you may stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I think Maingate Lakeside Resort has become our new go-to cheap spot if we're staying off-property on our Disney trips. I looked at booking it on several different websites, and was very turned off by the additional $10 resort fee. I finally booked it blind on Hotwire.com after all. (No refunds, and they don't tell you in which hotel you are staying until after you are charged.) We did have to pay the $10 fee, but the rate was $10 less than the lowest competitor's website's price for the hotel. So, it all worked out.

It looks more like a motel than a resort. Our room was a pool view, really big (bigger than a Value Resort room on Disney property), and on the end of the building. It was very easy to get to from our car, without us parking right in front of the room like many motels. We didn't stay long, but there was so much information about restaurants on the property and a poolside bar. I feel like if we had stayed longer, we really would have enjoyed some of these amenities. I swear I saw a flier on a housekeeping cart that said karaoke.

I wish I could hug the housekeeper that made up room 189 on Sunday, January 27. I think they are personally responsible for our re-booking here in the future. They did such a nice job. We had a crib in the room, with sheets and a blanket of its own, but I had haphazardly left some of our son's blankets folded on the table next to the AC unit. When we got back from a long day at Animal Kingdom, the crib was made with our little fella's linens. Our shoes were all lined up in a row, our toiletries were arranged on the countertop and they left extra hotel shampoo and lotion.

There's no central air, you have one of those window units. It was a little bit dingy, but all in all, pretty clean. There was foreign hair all over one of the towels one day, but we didn't bother mentioning it to anyone as we were checking out that day. The hotel bar soaps are an insult to hotel bar soaps, they were teeny little slivers and they didn't lather up much. Our stay was short, so I didn't give it a whole lot of thought. There is a Walgreens on the same corner as the hotel, so worst case scenario you just walk over there and buy yourself some soap.

Speaking of that Walgreens, the hotel's location is super-convenient. There are lots of restaurants nearby, and lots of those giant souvenir shops. The coolest thing is the proximity to Disney's Animal Kingdom. You turn left out of the hotel, left on to Sherberth road, curve around a little bit and you're there. After all: location, location, location. We could hear the fireworks from Epcot at one point. It was really neat to be so close.

We are snobby about hotels (lifelong DVC member), and we really enjoyed this one. We will absolutely stay here again, and I think that in itself is the best review.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Wendy L: Thank you for your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your excellent housekeeping service... Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

VERY disappointed. We chose this location because we had stayed here a few years back and loved it. This time, we were greeted by unfriendly front desk staff. When I asked about the Wi-Fi code I was informed that it was only available in the lobby. Others asked about it through out my stay there and I heard differing responses. Some said it was broken, some said they didn't have it, but none of the staff seemed to care at all that people were disappointed. Half way through my time there the room keys stopped working and it took me over 45 minutes at the front desk to get a key for the room while my wife and sons waited at the room door. The room door looked like it had been broken into a few time so I wouldn't leave anything valuable ever unattended. The room had hair all over and seemed to never get really clean. There was a pamphlet we got at arrival that not only slapped us in the face saying it had free Wi-Fi, but it also talked about non-existent nightly family movies and activities. And no one informed you about anything the 'resort' had unless you stood at the front desk for over a half hour and asked. Sooooo disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lars-Erick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Lars-Erick C: We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your review. This is not typical of a guest experience at our resort. We currently have free wifi in the main lobby building and are in the process of getting the wifi to the guest rooms. We sincerely apologize and I would like to discuss your stay with you further. Please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Operations so I may make this right. Thank you and we do hope you may stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My 5 year old and I had a blast at this hotel. The out door swimming pool was clean, we had a room that overlooked the pool. The rooms were comfortable and the prices affordable even on Christmas day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the outdoor pool
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancywinters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Nancywinters68: Thank you for your review! We are happy to see you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to your next stay. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Parking lot somewhat confusing in the dark. No elevator seen. Safe, fridge, coffeemaker, blow dryer, iron, 19" older Zenith tv (bad reception on several channels). No microwave. Table & 2 chairs. No wi-fi in room. Beds full size (not queen). Mold? on shower ceiling. Very dusty vent in bathroom. Soap (facial?) gritty, did not lather very well. Only kids eat free.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themeparkjunkie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear themeparkjunckie5: Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We take your comments seriously and are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews