We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steadily Deteriorating building and service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed October 21, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! My husband and I have had annual passes to Disney for 3 years now and have been staying at this resort for that period of time at least 6 times a year. I can honestly say our issues here have steadily gotten worse. Our stay this past weekend was for our 23rd Anniversary and when we first go to our room (paid extra for poolside with a king bed) we could't even get the door open..it was stuck! My husband finally gave it a swift kick at the bottom and it broke loose. The room was not up to standards either..carpet was filthy, it the bathroom fan didn't work, and could not get ANY hot water in the sink. We also couldn't figure out why the AC kept turning on and off and scary enough we finally did..EVERY time we adjusted the volume on the TV the AC would turn on and off!!! Unfortunately all this was realized at 11:00 at night after a long day at Disney so we just dealt with it HOWEVER when my husband got an ice cold shower in the morning that was it!! We called the front desk immediately and they said the water was cold because it was cold outside (70 degrees is not cold, not even by Florida standards!). The water was hot for a bath but when you switched the shower on it was COLD so definately a malfunction somewhere other than the weather!! He called the front desk again and they offered to send the maintenance man which my husband said don't bother we are leaving! We told the front desk clerk of all our issues and all she did was take the $10.00 resort fee off our bill..REALLY!! Needless to say we checked out other local hotels on the way out of town and have found a nice new one we will be staying in from now on! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Diana T: We would like to express our most sincere apologies for the troubles you encountered during your recent stay with us. We assure that this is not typical of our resort. I would like to discuss your stay with you as I can understand why you would be less than satisfied. Please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Operations so I may assist you and make this right. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,551)
There are newer reviews for Maingate Lakeside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

I booked this holiday as a last minute suprise holday for my wife's birthday, then I looked at the reviews and thought we would be disappointed, but we were so pleasently suprised.
The check-in was quick and courteous, our room was spacious, clean and with everything we needed. There are three well kept pools, a lively poolside bar with great barmen and karaoke on Thursday by the pool and Fridays inside depending on the weather. Don't be put off this well positioned resort by those picky people who want the Savoy for $45 per couple, we thought it was fantastic value and wouldn't hesitate to recommend travellers to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiddy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear tiddy999: We would like to thank you and your wife for spending her birthday with us! We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our staff, pools, bars, karaoke, and your guest room! We certainly hope to see you again soon, perhaps for your birthday next time! Thank you for your review...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is awesome. For what you pay is close to everything you need to do near the parks and is close to a lot of restaurants, which is great. The room was good, it was clean, the bathroom was very clean as well. I got no bad reviews for this hotel. We had no problems at all, all the things you need for staying here are great and specially for the price.

- Clean
- Comfortable rooom
- Close to everything

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Mariela A: Thank you for your review! We are so happy to see you had a blast staying with us and enjoyed your clean & comfortable room, convenience location to all of the attractions, and excellent deals we provide. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the maingate for 14 nights during August. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. First I lost a disney pass, they got me the numbers and rang the numbers for me,which resulted in replacement being issued.Nicholas was great when we were advised to stay any extra night due the hurricane.

The hotel is central to everything, a great of resturants and shops withing walking distance. Disney parks about 4 miles aways and orlando resorts about 20 mintues away. Free car parking.

It has two good size swimming pools with plenty of beds and towels provided.

The buffet breakfast was great, with the kids eating free. Staff in restaurant were great.

The rooms were clean and kept clean everyday, but a little rundown. The hotel is perfect for your disneyland holiday at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Paula F: It looks like your family had a wonderful time with us! Thank you for your review! We are happy to see you were pleased with our amenities such as: pools, kids eat free program, convenient location to the parks and shops, and of course your clean room. We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently got back from this hotel and my wife and I still do not understand some of the comments.
This was our 3rd stay since 2005 and we have never encountered any problems, Is it a case of people wanting a lot for what they are prepared to pay.
The shuttle service although the times are not ideal, you can still get around without too many problems.
Rooms were clean and tidy , all staff were friendly and even cleaning staff always had a smile and said hello.
The pool area was well kept and there were always towels available, the only mess we saw was the fault of other guests who did not clear up after themselves ( Is it so hard to put used towels in a blue bin after use)
Bar staff were excellent and all of them would chat to you .
The food was also good this included buffet breakfasts and food ordered from Hurricane Sams and just about the best Tuna sandwich I have ever tasted.
Most of the British people we spoke too had seen some of the reviews and were concerned by them ,but after arriving they all seemed to wonder If people had been too harsh.
We would certrainly go back to this hotel and this also seemed to be the opinion of all we spoke too.

jO AND TERRY , CAMBRIDGE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Terrece B: Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding our excellent staff! We are happy to see you have stayed here several times and we certainly look forward to your next visit with us... We will have once of our excellent tuna sandwiches ready for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

this was my second time staying here and must say that everthing was up to the usual pleasant standard. Room was clean and serviced everyday , hotel beginning to show ti's age in certain areas but nothing that was worth complaining about .
If anything got under my skin it was the front desk staff , on check-in when i said that i wasn't happy about giving over my credit card as the last time i did three weeks after getting home i was contacted and told that they had found card details after a police inspection of a staff member. I was advised to change my cards , and that i would recieved a special next time i stayed there. When i said this to the front desk i was told that as it was a different hotel now that no longer applied.
Then when i checked out was told system is down and wouldn't be able to give me a checkout receipt and it would be taken of my card later.S orryh to say that this will be my last trip to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear robertian: Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We are happy to see you were pleased with your room and housekeeping service. I would like to apologize for any troubles encountered at the front desk. I would like to speak with you regarding your experience at our front desk, so I may be of assistance and address any concerns. Please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Operations. Thank you and we do hope you will stay with us again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Like many other reviewers of this resort we had grave concerns re the condition of this hotel, but I have to speak honestly and truthfully of our experience. Our experience was sided more on the positive side then the negative. Check in was great we asked for two rooms interconnecting over the pool and we were accommodated. Our rooms were very clean, no sign of bugs of any sort, both rooms were cleaned daily, fresh towels, clean sheets, carpets brushed. The beds were big and comfortable. The negative, but not necessarily having an impact on our stay is that yes the resort itself needs refurbishment, the furniture is dated and the corridors to rooms look a little gloomy but returning the the postives this hotel is placed in a great location, its general grounds felt safe and the main pool area was furnitured with enough sun beds but could do with more umberallas for really hot days. Pool side bar was great. On site facilities for eating were great. Staff care was great, firendly and helpful. We used the shuttle bus a couple of times and was a great assett, the only problem is that it picks up at 9.00 and collects at 7.00 so you are tied to those times. Room faciities were great ironing board, laundry room, coffee machine, fridge, shop serving coffee food etc.,

If you really wanted to pull this hotel down you could go out of your way to find faults for example some reviews I had read mentioned how untidy the pool area was, well from my experience in the last two weeks, the problem is more with the people who use pool area by either leaving dirty nappies at the pool side, not clearing away their own rubbish and/or leaving their used towels around the poolside after their use. This is not the hotels fault!!

You need to keep an eye on this hotel as if it manages to do the refurbishement it is trying to achieve it will be a great assett to its owners - but they must listen and take note from reviews and evidence of some that have been unhappy and focus on getting those issues resolved -good luck to them!!

Staff were great.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 293 and 294 it was great looking over the pool so when relaxing we had easy access...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuirkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear QuirkFamily: We appreciate your taking time to review our hotel! It looks like you had a nice time with us! Thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful and friendly staff, as they do read these reviews as well. We take your suggestions seriously and are excited for the progress we have made and continue to make everyday at our resort. Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
5.1 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#93 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,689 reviews
2.3 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#33 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Resort and Conference Center Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#39 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,624 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites East Gate Orange
7.6 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 154 in Kissimmee
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Address: 7769 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1727
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: $37 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing