We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Lake (points)???”
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #7 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and i stayed at Silver lake "Points" from 1/17-1/24, 2014 through RCI exchange. At first glance the property looks amazing.....closer look not so amazing!
We were in a two bedroom unit in the 1000 building. The building is old and had a terrible smell in the elevator and corridors! The carpet was filthy as were the walls and doors.
The unit inside was very large, but all furnishings were in need of replacement... tables and dressers were dusty and banged up. The floors were filthy and nothing was dusted.
There are nice flat screen tvs in each room, but no remote for the main living area tv.
The pools and bar area are very nice. The water is heated and it was very relaxing.
They have a nice fitness center with a sauna and lots of things for you to do throughout the day and evening.
you are to have free wifi access, but it is spotty at best and we couldnt print out our boarding passes which the activities director said was because some airlines have goofy programs that they display their passes in.....Really????
The absolute worst though had to be the RCI breakfast where you get hammered for 3 hours to buy points.....because we have a deeded property with weeks!
Awful!! They wanted to take our 4 bedroom lockoff with deed and charge us $8500 for a one bedroom here at this resort so that we could be points members. When we said absolutely no the gentlemen we were talking to brought in someone else to badger us. When they realized we were not budging, they dropped us like a hot potato. The $50 savings on a one park ticket was so not worth the time!
The resort is ok, but we have been in many others in Orlando that have been much nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank val375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our family of six (4 young children) stayed here and were very pleased. The rooms are huge, there are two bathrooms/showers. We took the kids swimming in the pools, to the game room and to the theatre room where two movies play each night. We were really pleased. We loved the "secret" shortcut to Disney right off the property. Nice and close to stores and restaurants too. Very clean, great staff.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor... lots of stairs. Just be aware if that is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raquel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Took my 2 grandchildren, youngest daughter and her friend there for a week. (had given the Disney trip for Christmas) First impression was great. Loved the security at the gates. You cannot get any closer to Disney unless you stayed at Disney. The place was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Plenty of room in our 2 bedroom unit. We enjoyed the pools, the kids enjoyed the theatre and game room. Loved it. Will always stay there on our future trips. Was able to cook breakfast and wash clothes. Perfect is all I can say.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marshalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom unit in the 100 building, plenty of room, very clean, minutes from Disney, close to shopping, restaurants, very satisfied with the unit. Didn't use the complex at all, we were on the move every day so no comment there. We would stay again, and we never recommend because people have differences in what they like, for us it was fine. Clean, excellent location, is the most important things to us, we're always on the go so the activities at the complex weren't as important and for that reason we have no comment on any of the resort amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdot665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent a week here, we absulty loved the place, very spacious, very upscale. Had everything and more!!! We will most definitely come back. We didn't get to use all the awesome events they had going on grounds due to we were visiting Disney World. Disney World was a short drive from the resort. Can't wait to come back. Thanks to all the staff that makes this place grand. Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 200 building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bma1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Let me start with our usual timeshare is Orange Lake which is a huge property that has enough amenities to entertain everyone for at least two weeks. This property is extremely small. We stayed in a hotel style room with a "partial" kitchen ie. Microwave and refrigerator and coffee maker. My biggest issue was they gave complimentary coffee and call it a partial kitchen yet after making a pot of horrendous coffee, I open the cabinet for a mug and everything is empty. They only think in the drawers was a can opener. I called and waited so long I needed to leave to head to the parks sans my morning coffee. When I spoke to the front desk they dismissed me and offered no apologies. The staff is not the usual service you would expect from hotels and such. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the whole building was out of date and seemed more like an apartment complex rather than a resort. They painted everything to renovate. The pool area for children was boring. We did the parks but my child enjoys swimming on our relaxing days but did not feel satiated by the lack of pool fun. Our view from our enclosed porch was construction. This is a decent place but I wouldn't stay again just because it's for older people not really children. The distance to the parks was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I live by Trip Advisor reviews, so I have to write this one about Silver Lakes Resort in Orlando, FL. We stayed here Dec 27- Jan 3, 2014 with an RCI Exchange (still here). Here are the pluses:
1) Great location- 2 mins from Disney, and close to shopping, restaurants, and urgent care (I'm a nurse, so that's important). Also close to everything else- Universal, Sea World, Outlet malls, ESPN wide world of sports, and so much more.
2)Really nice condos. We were in an updated unit on the Silver points side (800 bldg, unit 8302). We had a 2 Br/2Br condo with a huge master bathroom, spacious living/dining, full kitchen fully stocked, washer and dryer in unit, and screened in balcony with access from the living area as well as the master. The decor is really nice and up to date. Flat screens on the walls and DVD players in the unit. There are 3 pools, all heated, and one small one was right across from our building, so we have a nice view from our balcony. We also had a trash room on our floor. Some of the other units that were not upgraded did not have: w/d in unit, elevators, or trash on their floor. They had to go outside (thankfully we didn't).
3) The staff have been super friendly. We checked in early and they accommodated us. Then we found out we had a lockoff unit that would not work for our family, and they switched us to another unit that was just as nice.
4) The main pool and cabana area are really nice. There is a deli in the main reception center. I haven't had any food from there, but the prices seem reasonable. There are also free fairly new movies at their theater twice a day, and a tennis court and playground.

Here are the minuses (not many):
1) There is no golf course on the resort (I could care less, but my husband does).
2) There is free wifi, but it's hit or miss (my moms just went out as I'm typing this on my phone).
3) It's not a huge resort, like some of the others in this area. It's big enough to be a resort, but not massive like the marriott or Sheraton Vistana.

All in all, this place is really nice and I would definitely stay here again. There's nothing really negative to say about this resort.

Stayed: December 2013
10  Thank Tiana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.7 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#9 of 155 in Kissimmee
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#30 of 155 in Kissimmee
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
6.7 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#20 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $106 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing