We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE DO NOT ADVISE”
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE DO NOT ADVISE”
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My Car was broken into my window was shattered my GPS was stolen, along with 2 IPODS, Video Camera, Flashlight and more. You have to pass through a secured fence with NO POSTED warning signs and security patrols. But on this night there was no record of patrols from 2-6 am. I was one of 4 to have there car broken into all of them had GPS 2 had wallets. None of the GPS'S were visible just the suction cups. The cars were parked in an area that the cameras can't see. (INSIDE JOB!!!)Which are the parking areas for the first 4 buildings. We were not parked side by side but 10 cars in between all of us. The General Manager Debroah Moore, only response to it was NO COMMENT. After that she didn't return phone calls. The manager Scott Merrit felt it was our fault and told me as I grow up I'll find it funny. The only thing I find funny is that you can only reserve this place every four years. Four years, ten years I will never go back or recommend this to anyone. They gave us nothing No dinner, no free drink at the pool, nothing for lax security and poor responsibility to there GUESTS. My 4 Kids could not sleep in there room because they were terrified. Not to mention it took maintance 2 days to fix the bathroom door that fell off the minute we walked in. This place is located in a run down area and it is the worst place you can take your family. The other thing is for the week you get 2 rolls of toliet paper for 8 guests and NO Mid week cleaning. WHAT A JOKE!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Everything was horrible mostly the staff made it that much worse
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dontdoit_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    432
    139
    74
    65
See reviews for
788
266
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bowling green
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We Stayed in the 1700 building ,great location short walk to pool.Our unit was excellent, clean and very roomy.The pool is large with penty of room to lounge.All the staff was at your service.Resort is close to all the DW parks.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Resort was on the tackiest strip off 192. Lots of abandoned motels nearby were eyesores. You pull off 192 and see graffiti on some of the back of the tourist shops including the BLOODS gang graffiti.

The resort reminded of an apartment complex. They pushed the timeshare tour and we declined. I would not want to own in here. Rednecks and ghetto types were near the large pool. Seriously, a woman with missing teeth and smoking cigarettes near our 2 year old. We found a nice family pool with zero entry that we liked better.

CONS
Bed bugs (We got bit our first night until we changed the sheets)

Small TV in Living Area. (The plasma was like 13 inches and had a remote that only worked if you were right in front of it)

Dirty Balcony - Our feet turned black if you walked bearfoot.

Shower clogged and was dirty. We cleaned it before we used it.

PROS
Close to Disney
Price was Good $250-$300 week
Zero Entry Pool
Full Suite
Security

  • Liked — Price and Zero Entry Pool
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs, Dirty Shower, TV size and remote in Common
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FUN2BEME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We went to the Silver Lake Resort from the www.saveonresorts.com package - it included a timeshare presentation - for which we got free tickets to Universal and 5 other parks (not Disney).

The room was nice. Overlooked nothing, but was nice :) NO dishwasher, so all dishes had to be done by hand.

Also, and this is a BIGGIE TO ME, they told me that all the dishes had to be washed before we left, and the trash taken out or we would be charged more cleaning fees, uhh....ok. I'm staying at a timeshare resort, without maid service, I get that, but whats next, windex the mirrors? .... vaccum the floor? I mean, come on already.

The price wasnt great for what I got - We stayed for 4 nights, and then we moved to the Marrriott Grade Vista (rated top 10 family resorts by Trip Advisor) and the difference was hands down unbelievable - seriously breathtaking. I walked into that room and just stood there for like 2 minutes going - wow, is this a room or a palace?

But I digress, the point is that there are better deals to be had, with cleaner rooms and where you dont have to do your own dishes.

There isnt a lot for a 2 year old to do but the pool. The pool was nice - but no baby pool. The food and shop was expensive and closed at 11pm.

The place was just...ok. You can find a much better deal in Orlando right now. You wont hate this place, its not like its a gross Motel 6 with cockroaches, but its not the best place you can find for the money.

The people were nice enough - the timeshare presentation was even ok - (the breakfast was a joke, but again, I disgress haha) Point is - that there are definitely better places (look here on Trip Advisor to find them).

It was a good stay, but I'm SO GLAD we ended up at Marriott Grande Vista for a week - it was sweeeeet.

Hope this helped someone. :)

  • Liked — Close to Disney - but not close enough to really matter - still takes a while to get to the actual park
  • Disliked — Being scolded to wash my dishes and clean my room like a child haha!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vester44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2008

WOW! This resort is gorgeous!! My boyfriend and I (both in our mid 20's) booked this resort thru an RCI program - for CHEAP! We were expecting the rooms that the unhappy people were writing about for the price we paid - but it was amazing! ( I still cant figure out where they stayed that they were so unhappy?) We were in the 1700 bldg, one bedroom, full kitchen - the bed was so comfy, huge Jacuzzi tub and seperate shower, couch was comfy enough to sleep on, 2 flat screens in the unit. Everything we needed for the week and more! They have 3 pools, two close to eachother by the cabana which serves food and drinks til 11 pm - and GOOD cocktails at that =) Couldnt have been happier with our stay! Staff was very friendly and not ONCE were we asked about taking a tour - we were even considering asking for it anyway because we were so pleased! Gorgeous!! =)

  • Liked — The gorgeous room, friendly staff, cabana drinks & pools
  • Disliked — No DVD player in room - no biggie tho, was outside enjoying the pool!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia,canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed in newer 900 building unit 9603.It was amazing roomy ,well equipped and modern .The grounds were lovely ,pools were great and weather fantastic !
The problem was a continual droning noise coming from somewhere within the building ..it went on all day and night .Maintenance came in but couldnt seem to help .We had to leave our air conditiner fan and TV on all night in order to drown out the ANNOYING DRONE !!! We even tried ear plugs !!
Very unfortunate as otherwise we loved silver lake !!!

  • Liked — closeness to disney
  • Disliked — droning noise in unit
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, ON
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Upon arriving at SLR, we were appointed a one bedroom unit in the 1800 building, facing the parking lot. We requested a poolview room, which they were able to accommodate the following day. We were very thankful for that, since we had a 7 month old baby who takes an afternoon nap and at least we could sit out on the balcony and have something to look at. Also, we could get wireless internet access from the balcony of our poolview room, but not the other side of the building.
Our initial impression was that the rooms were a little dated, we had previously stayed at Vacation Village at Parkway in one of their newer units. Our unit at SLR had older appliances, the bathroom jacuzzi tub, shower and vanity were old and ugly compared to Vacation Village. But everything was clean and the bed was quite comfortable, so we were ok with it.
The pool area at SLR was absoultely wonderful, the pool is huge, they have a cabana that sells smoothies, liquor, beer, etc and food such as quesadillas, hamburgers and onion rings. Atmosphere was great, they played music all day, staff was friendly, they had some activities for the kids.....we were very impressed with everything other than the rooms. The other thing that turned us off about the room is that the fan in the bedroom sounded like a train clacking down the tracks and we turned it off when we were in the room because it didn't look very sturdy and safe. Also, the doorknob in the bathroom fell off and I ended up locked in there when I came up to the unit to get something,
The 1700 and 1800 buildings are the best location, they are closest to the pool. We did know someone who was in the 1000 building and saw their room, it was much nicer and newer with oak kitchen cabinets, new black appliances, plasma tv's etc.
All in all we were very satisfied with our stay at Silver Lake, the rooms could use some improvement but the pool made up for it, and we spent more time by the pool than in our rooms anyways. We would return for the price we paid.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Rooms could use some improvement
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILOVE2TRAVEL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
6.2 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
4.1 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
6.0 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Property: Silver Lake Resort
Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd, Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing