We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed with staff”
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #9 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrardstown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed with staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My mother got us certificates from RCI to stay at a resort and we chose this one. It was really nice when we arrived and everyone was very friendly during the day. We dropped our stuff in our room because we were so excited to see attractions. That evening when we got back we noticed a strong chemical smell in our room. Thinking it was fine we all went to sleep. A few hours later, around 1:oo am, my 2 year old woke up with a severe asthma attack struggling to breath. Not sure what to do we took him outside thinking we may have to got to the ER. As soon as we went outside he was fine!
So, we headed to the lobby to ask for a different room. When we got to the lobby there were 5 other families in line with complaints about mold in their room and several other issues. We waited our turn which took about an hour with the one person they had on duty. When it was our turn this person could not help us because all rooms were booked and he was not a manager who could make decisions. He called his manager several times and was still not able to help us. He did say that he could upgrade us to another room for $400.
Luckily several other people were having issues and they gave us information to call RCI. (All 5 other families left this resort that night). RCI was wonderful and transferred us to another resort. We were very relieved that we did not have to take our two year old back into that room, but it was really horrible to have to wait in the lobby for 4 hours during this process with one staff member on duty who could not make decisions. So, at 5 in the morning now we checked into our new hotel. Our plans had to be shifted for the next day since we didn't since, but we had a great trip after that.
This place was a really pretty resort and if you are going there you may really enjoy it. Just hope that you don't run into any problems in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    448
    141
    74
    67
See reviews for
817
277
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We, a party of 4 adults, stayed for 6 nights in a very spacious and tastefully furnished 2 bedroom apartment at this very large property. On asking the other 3 people what negatives they felt needed to be mentioned in this review, not one of us could come up with anything. The towels and linen provided were of a very high standard with extremely comfortable beds and pillows. There were 2 large beds in bedroom 2 and a king size bed in the main bedroom with a huge ensuite. There was a laundry in the apartment. We did notice the water in the bath in the bathroom off bedroom 2 was slow to empty. We mentioned this at reception the next morning and within 10 minutes the maintenance fellow was knocking on the door to rectify the problem. We were impressed with the security procedures which required any vehicle entering the property to be logged and /or registered.
The staff including reception, the general store, the pool towel attendants, the cafe/ bar were all keen to please, most attentive and helpful. The 3 pools are well maintained and set up well with plenty of sun lounges. Whilst the cafe food wasn't exceptional it was certainly of an acceptable standard with prices not over the top. We didn't use the tennis courts, gym or the spa. There was a variety of activities for both adults and children. The tour booking desk staff were extremely helpful, however there were some difficulties with the company providing the shuttle service- this was not the fault of the resort. The store provided a large range of supplies meaning that you did not have to leave the property for anything. Saying this we did also eat at several local eateries, there are so many close by, and were not disappointed at any stage. The screened outdoor patio was furnished with a table and 4 chairs.Major shopping centres were close by. The huge Publix supermarket was a very short drive from the property.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor of block 700 and was in an excellent location. The buildings are 3 sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillandJohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

One bedroom suite. Washer dryer, fully stocked kitchen, decorated very nicely. Exceptionally clean. Quiet! Entrance way very clean upon entering. Plenty of parking. Pool is very very large and beautiful. Reasonably priced, beer and food at the bar by the pool. The food was excellent we had the grouper. Many activities on different days. Friday was hot dog day $1.00 for a dog and chips. Most would try to nickel and dime you not here. The staff was very friendly and helpful Makes the stay even better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at Silver Lake Resort for 4 nights , for a Cheer Competition. Almost thought we should just stay at the Resort and relax it was so comfortable. Quiet, Clean, Comfy! Bar with food at the Pool, very reasonable prices for the Food and Beer. Did not try to nickel and dime you!! Friday night amenity $!.00 hot dogs with all the toppings and a bag of chips. Pool absolutely beautiful and clean. No problems or complaints, what more can I say? Would definetly stay again and recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,387 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in April 2013 and were disappointed on a number of matters. We were expecting at least a 4 star resort [ It was shown as a 5 star] and while the accommodation was at the 4 star level everything else failed miserably. Firstly when we booked in the staff while were reasonably friendly, there was no concierge to assist us with out luggage. Luckily we had wheels on our suitcases. We were told that our room was in the 900 building and asked if we would like to have security show us the way. Doubts about the safety quickly sprang to mind. I noticed security on the gate when we entered the grounds, but surely we did not need some ‘strong arm’ to escort us? When we enquired as to how far the room was, we were told about 20 yards. Maybe maths was not the front desk assistant's best subject at school as the distance was well over 400 yards. Again thank goodness for wheels. After spending 26 hours either on or waiting for planes to get here from Australia, we were expecting better. Rating 0.
Nevertheless, a minor setback surely. It was the first of many to spoil our holiday and by the end the best thing was leaving. Following the concierge issue, we entered the room and were again back on a positive. Maybe not the 5 star which the resort so freely uses to describe their resort but it was a 4 star although the furniture was very dark and not inviting. Accommodation rating 4.
After travelling for so long we were also looking for a meal at a restaurant but all that was available was the poolside cabana. Only takeaway standards achieved here and a very limited menu. If the food menu was limited the drinks [especially wine] was worse. A supposed 5 star resort should have a decent dining area. After a sleep, our next episode was breakfast. With no dining area and the cabana opening at 10.00 am the gift shop was the only option. But it too did not open until 8.00 am and so a coffee in the unit was the only way to go. What a disaster. The coffee tasted like the mud had been scraped off the bottom of my boot and there was also something else on the boot.
We waited patiently until 8.00 for the gift shop/grocery shop to open. The breakfast menu here was laughable to say the least. Every item on the menu had cheese in some sort of manner included. We managed to keep our choice down and decided that we would just have to dine out. How silly we were. You see the resort is fairly isolated and they advise you not to walk along the road as there is no pathway. We bought supplies at the gift shop/grocery and thought we would just have to prepare our own even though it is one thing we do not like to do while on holiday. We were told that we should have hired a car and we said that if the resort is a 5 star we expect a reasonable dining area. The look of disbelief on their faces was unbelievable. Food rating 1.
Eventually we went against the advice and walked to Highway 192 where there are many food outlets in the form of either restaurants or fast food. But the only decent coffee was at McDonalds and that only rates a low 3 and you have to be desperate.
Then there is the wifi. You have to pay and it does not work all the time. So many times I was in the middle of something and lost the connection [frustrating]. Another issue with some although not for us was the late check-out time. There is none and you have to sign a form acknowledging this. Overall Rating 1.

Room Tip: This is only for those who want to do the theme parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Altough this resort is listed as a "5"star resort, I rate as a "3" star. Yes, it has all the great amenities, however it falls a little short on some small things. We stayed in a newer room in Bldg.#900, extra large king bed (very comfortable by the way), flat screen tv, large closet, nice bathroom, and a small enclosed patio. It had a microwave, small college type refrige, coffe pot. But, no cups, silverware, only a wine opener, meat shears. Also, we had to pay an additional $26.75 for internet service (2) devices. But you also got a few bennies for this price, free USA newspaper everyday, 15% discount on food at the cabana. This is really a timeshare resort. Every morning at around 8:15, your phone would ring asking if you wanted to attend a breakfast and hear a 1 hour talk on the resort. Also with the size of the entire complex they only had 2 washers and 2 dryers to do laundry. We happen areserving this resort through the AMERICAN LEGION membership. The price was just right. If we had to reserve this on our on we could not afford it. If we had to do this again I would only go through the AMERICAN LEGION and request a larger room that has a full kitchen and washer dryer. Also parking is at a premium. If you leave to travel about the area and return to your building later in the evening you will not get a parking spot at your building.

Room Tip: Ask for a bldg. that has the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARRY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived on April 13 do not try to checkin before 4 if you have a special request.My cousin and I went to visit Margarita for our parking pass and signed up for free breakfast on Monday and receive discount ticket offers and 2 bonus weeks and $$.We went to the worst RCI breakfast and since we were cousins not elgible for ticket promotions PROS.The resort is beautiful with plenty of activities for adults and children.Pool open 8am till 11pm.Pool side bar 11 till 10.Store has all items to buy for weekly stay and makes killer subs.Game and fitness room are comfortable.Grounds are secure.There is a variety of eats on 192W and the best are Millers Ale House family friendly sports bar and Chuys Mexican restaurants.Plenty of shopping outlets, Malls and Disney Marketplace.The 2 bedroom is spacious and liked how bedrooms are not ajoining.Dining living and laundry room with a jetted tub and huge shower in Master.Cons.The breakfast,No music after 9pm cause they have to play real loud and there are rooms off the pool.last but not least All parks are overpriced.I would like to suggest everyone spend a day here in the sweetest place on earth HersheyPark Pennsylvania for a third of the price.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room and make sure you get all offers you have been promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tankharrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
4.1 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
0.7 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#8 of 152 in Kissimmee
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
6.0 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Property: Silver Lake Resort
Address: 7751 Black Lake Road, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing