We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this resort. We visit the Orlando area every year and we had stayed tat Silver Lake a couple of years ago in a two bedroom unit, but this time only needed a one bedroom. I had read other reviews regarding the one bedroom units and very wisely took some advice about requesting a certain area/unit before we arrived. I was assured that we would have a balcony and pull out couch with full kitchen and we did indeed get our request, however, several people that we spoke to on the resort were not as lucky. Bad location and small units were the main complaints. Overall we enjoy this resort. It is literally in Disney's Animal Kingdom's backyard. VERY close. The pool areas are beautiful and very clean. Good drinks and a fast food type menu is offered at the tiki bar. The entire staff that we dealt with from making the location request to our check out and goodbye was fantastic. Very friendly and prompt. Our only complaint would be that the furniture was in very poor condition from warped table tops to a broken panel in the whirlpool tub. Nothing so bad that it ruined our stay. We are already considering our next stay in the Orlando area and Silver Lake will be on top of our list.

Room Tip: Call or email ahead and request what you want. I would assume there are no guarantees, but it worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gummi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    415
    135
    70
    62
See reviews for
749
257
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The resort was great. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. The patio was great, large bed, full kitchen and jet tub. Both pools were nice and we had a couple of drinks at the tiki bar. The location was good and close to attractions. The front desk was nice and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shsherrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from a 4d/3n stay with Silver Lake SIlver Points. It is in a great location and is a quiet resort. Clean grounds, rooms and friendly staff. The pool area is very pretty as well. Rooms are remodeled, we stayed in a 2BR 2BA unit. Granite counters, washer/drier unit, fully stocked kitchen. SInce the 2nd BR only has a king bed, it is truly a maximum 6 person unit. Furniture was also nice and bed was perfect as were the linens and comforters. Only gripe if I had to give one, was the hallway carpeting needs replacement. Definitely would come here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23smith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The was one of the nicer RCI resorts I have stayed at in FL (Orlando area). The grounds are well maintained and so are the units. I had a top floor, which was well appointed and very clean. It would have been a 5 star, but unfortunately, the sound proofing between units was not the best and noise coming from them was quite clear at times. Besides that, no complaints on the size or layout of the 2 bedrooms and kitchen area. All appliances were well kept and up to date. Blender did a heck of a job on my morning smoothies!

The pools were beautiful and a pleasure to laze around during the limited free time I had to enjoy. There was music and food at the main pool. Definitely an 'older crowd', but there were families there with small children.

My only complaint with the staff (who were very nice the rest of the time) was my flight was cancelled due to the winter storm Nemo that hit the NE. I needed to extend my stay by one day. They said they would find me a unit since the one we were in was already booked. I provided them my cell number to give me a call when they had it. Well, by 9:30 the next morning, I still had not heard back so I booked a hotel room in downtown Orlando. When I went to check out, they were trying to charge me for an extra day. It was taken off my bill after telling them what happened. Not the best in the customer service dept for this one incident.

Overall, I would definitely return without any hesitation. Great location as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayorMike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, NB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent the week of Feb 3-10 at Silver Lake Resort. Had a 2 bdrm that was spacious and clean, but noticeably dated and in need of an upgrade (resort is upgrading units). We were in the 1800 building which is next to the pool, main building. Staff were friendly and did whatever they could to make our stay better. We had a broken blender, that was replaced by a brand new one, still in the box! within minutes.
The location of the resort, right off 192 is perfect for getting around. Within minutes to wide variety of restaurants, shopping etc. kitchen was fully stocked with appliances, big and small along with washer and dryer.
I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a nice getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first visit to this resort and would not hesitate to stay here again. Our unit was a 1 bedroom unit that was very nice with all the conveniences we could expect, including washer and dryer. The kitchen was well equipped to do what we wanted, which was basically breakfast and snacks. The pools were very nice although we got little use out of them as the weather was quite chilly while there. We were not overly impessed with there activities. We enjoy karaoke and their selection of music was very limited. Their free daily bingo would have been better with the exception of the young lady that tried to be entertaining but was, in our opinion, very immature!! We did enjoy the daily ice cream that was priced right! The bar by the main pool is apparently operated by an outside vendor and their selection of food was very limited and the overall prices were quite high, so out time there was very limited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We ordered a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen through RCI. We received a kitchen with a convection microwave (no instructions) and a refrigerator that was very small. If a couple with two children occupied this unit they'd have to shop for food daily. When we questioned the size of the unit's full kitchen we were told that RCI considers this unit as having a full kitchen. RCI when queried said that it does not consider the unit we described as having a full kitchen. Additionally, we purchased the Activity Card for the wifi and other amenities; one of the amenities was the USA Today delivered to your door. Not once in the first three days was this done and when pointed out on the second day to the Director of Guest Services it still was not delivered.

Room Tip: Make sure that you CALL RCI instead of trusting the internet description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
6.2 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
4.0 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
6.0 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#3 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Property: Silver Lake Resort
Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd, Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing