We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean nice resort”
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #8 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean nice resort”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for one week during Xmas. We booked the resort through RCI. Very nice place, clean, spacious, lots of sunshine in the room. We have a one bedroom suite, it has full kitchen, washer and dryer, a nice bathtub. When checking in, ask for the 'newly remodeled room'. The frontdesk sells disney and universal tickets, glad we bought our disney tickets at the hotel, my cousin tried to get tickets at the gate but was not able to since the park is 'full', but with the tickets bought at the hotel we could still got in the park.
The resort has lots of good stuff, swimming pool, theater, mini superstore. We cook breakfast in the hotel room every morning, feels like home, or even better, since at home we only eat bread and milk in the morning, at the hotel we actually cooked breakfast. We cooked three dinners in the hotel room too, saving $$ than eating outside.
We didn't have chance to spend too much time inside the resort since we were in the parks all week.
There is no maid service during the week. But they sent clean towels and sheets. I also asked for extra towels which they sent immediately.
The kitchen is packed with everything you need, very convenient. They have extra trash bags too. However, I don't know where to dispose of the trash, in the end we put the trash bags downstairs next to a recycle bin.
Only bag thing is roaches! There is a HUGE one in the kitchen. We called maintenance the next morning, they did sent people to spray pesticide (on Xmas day). I appreciated it. I also found a couple roaches in the hallways, they are huge! I checked our luggage carefully, so not to bring any home. ;-)
The resort is next to Animal Kingdom, very conveniently located. There is a mcdonald close by and Disney gift shops closeby.
Overall it's a very pleasant stay, we'd like to stay again next time we visit Disneyworld.

Room Tip: Ask for 'newly remodeled room'.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyZSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    454
    143
    74
    67
See reviews for
827
282
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great location! Near Disney World and 20 minutes drive to Universal studio and Sea World. We stayed in this timeshare resort for 6 nights in Dec. 2012. The suite we stayed with large bathroom, kitchen, balcony and dinning area. It was a great choice for a family of 4 like us. Perfect size.

Room Tip: 800-900 building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPBJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from a week here. I have nothing bad to say about the place. Maybe we were lucky on our room but it was wonderful. It was clean. My mother is OCD with cleaning and she could not find an issue. Nice cabinets, granite countertops, large bathrooms, tile floor. The only flaw we could find was someone set a warm iron on the carpet in the smaller bedroom and left a mark. We loved how quiet it was. Only heard the sound of toddler footsteps each morning before park opening. Pools were great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Never recieved a call regarding time share purchasing. Nice arcade for the kids and free movies in the theater each day. Had tshirt dying by the pool, ice cream, bingo and dancing. Literally 20yrds out the back gate to Disney "property." Costuming and auditions were across the street. Never saw a bug and this is Florida! We were in the 900bldg so maybe it was newer. The 800bldg appeared to be being renovated and painted. We WILL be returning next year for a nice warm break from our Jan winter.

As far and the servicing of the rooms goes. Mid week they came by with new towels, soap, toilet paper, dishwasher packets and anything else we may have needed. All we had to do was ask and what we need was brought to the room. We got the usa today each day when we purchased the "activity card" for $25. This included a week of wifi in our rooms (which worked great) discounts at the cabana bar and grill, discounts at the gift shop and at many businesses in the area. We got some of our money back using the discounts. We NEVER had an issue with our locks, but we were careful to keep our keys away from our phones.

Any staff we encounter were VERY helpful friendly and talkative. Even the guys at the entrance gate. The front desk was very helpful. Like I said we cannot really say anything bad about the place.

Room Tip: We were in the 900 area and enjoyed it. Easy in and out access with back gate. Very close to Disney...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NinnBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If what you are looking for is a spacious, adequately maintained, condo-converted property for families during a Central Florida vacation, then this possibly could be a good choice for you. However, if what you are looking for is service, customer support, room-service, housekeeping, or any type of hotel-resort experience, Silver Lakes is NOT your choice. This is advertised as a resort, in all actuality, this is a complex, developed for time share condos, which has been split into what they describe as a "hotel." The units have been "divided" into very small (300sq/ft) units which are adequately clean, but not serviced. My major complaint is that we were NOT on a budget, and were booked into what they called a "hotel room." Many attempts, both over the telephone and through emailing the property manager, led to absolutely NO RESPONSE about our desire to pay for an upgrade to a larger room. It was only after our first night's stay that I received a call from a polite representative on my my cell phone, who informed me that "upgrades are very restricted." I informed him that price was not my concern, however 300 sq ft was not our intention, and offered to pay more. It was clear that this facility was not concerned in taking our money. HUH? We, as American Express Platinum travelers were offering to play more, and yet they had no desire to accommodate us. That being said. We had paid in advance, and booked three nights. We left and found a more hospitable property for our last night. I was more than willing to give up what we paid for our last night, in order to find a property that appreciates customer service, our traveler status, and doesn't reject the financial power that a customer can provide. Again, if you are budget minded, with no expectations of service (no pool-side servers, no room service, no housekeeping, no ability of personnel to make a customers stay better) then you may be satisfied. 5Star resort? ABSOLUTELY NOT. Small minded managed time share, yes. Would NEVER recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: Best tip I could offer is to choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank todd_fix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last year we were so pleased with our 3 brrm. unit that I gave this a 5 star rating and even mentioned this to mgmt. on exiting. This year we waited 2.5 hrs. to get into our unit while observing 13 couples (who all arrived AFTER us and given their keys) get their units. The desk girl had completely forgotten us although we were seated within 20 ft. of her. She (Karina) NEVER apologized. Our unit on the top floor was directly beneath a rumbling roof mounted unit.' that never let up all week. Since serving in the armed forces for over 20 years I could live with the previous problems. What I could not live with was being bitten (in many places) by fleas in our unit-------Yes Fleas! Try,or hope, to get a unit where your neighbors are elderly and quiet since the walls are very thin in this resort.
The good side: Location on back rd./ great pool/ good maint.dept. when needed/ large rooms/ great showers and water pressure.
Last word: Because of Karina and the Fleas we will NOT be returning to this resort next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlieSwedesboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by the resort. It is mostly off to itself so it's pretty quiet. We stayed in the 1800 building and had a view of the pool. The view was great. The rooms were clean but slightly dated. Our room had a bathtub with jets which was cool. The beds are pretty comfortable. The resort has a small movie theater and game room/arcade which our daughter enjoyed (so did my husband and I). The pool is huge. There is a cabana that serves bar food and beer during the day and until about 11pm. There is a gift shop that is like a small convenience store and sells everything from toothbrushes to fresh tomatoes. The location of the resort is very convenient. There are lots of restaurants and stores nearby. There is a Target and Publix very close. We would definitely go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Chrisine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wonderful resort with nice pool areas and very clean. Location was great. You could go out the back gate for a quick ride to all the parks.

Staff was very helpful and although we are seniors we noticed some great activities for families .

It was nice having the free WIFI

Room Tip: ONe bedroom in hotel had a king size bed and nicely appt but on the small side. It had a mini fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
4.1 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
911 reviews
3.8 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,806 reviews
6.7 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#23 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Property: Silver Lake Resort
Address: 7751 Black Lake Road, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing